Top List Curated by Listnerd
  • Public list
  • Nov 27th 2012
  • 882 views
  • 624 votes
  • 624 voters
  • 14%
Best Horse racing venue of All Time

More about Best Horse racing venue of All Time:

Best Horse racing venue of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on Listnerd.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Horse racing venue of All Time top list are added by the Listnerd.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Horse racing venue of All Time has gotten 882 views and has gathered 624 votes from 624 voters. Only owner can add items. Just members can vote.

Best Horse racing venue of All Time is a top list in the General category on Listnerd.com. Are you a fan of General or Best Horse racing venue of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about General on Listnerd.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Horse racing venue of All Time top list below.

If you're not a member of Listnerd.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At Listnerd.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Horse racing venue of All Time list.

Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:

Items just added

    1
    Hipódromo da Gávea

    Hipódromo da Gávea

    Hipódromo da Gávea is located in Gávea neighborhood, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It is used for horse racing. It has a capacity of 80,000. It was built in 1926. It has 3,000 seats.
    7.10
    10 votes
    2
    Emerald Downs

    Emerald Downs

    Emerald Downs is a thoroughbred racetrack in Auburn, Washington, located a half mile east of Highway 167. It is named after Seattle, the Emerald City. Emerald Downs first opened its doors to race fans on June 20, 1996, with the inaugural 100 day meet running through November 4. It replaced Longacres Racetrack, which closed in September 1992 after sixty seasons of racing. Following the closure of Longacres, racing was not held in Western Washington from 1993–1995. However, Thoroughbred racing continued at Yakima Meadows and Playfair race course in Spokane during this time. Emerald Downs is a Limited Partnership, with a group of investors led by Track President Ron Crockett. In 2002, the land where Emerald Downs is situated was purchased by the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe for roughly $70 Million. The Emerald Downs track is a one mile (1.6 km) oval in the shadow of Mount Rainier. The track surface itself is made of geo-textile fabric, washed rock, course sand, and one-component track material. However, there is no turf course. The tote board is located in the center of the oval track. The Emerald Downs infield is designed as a storm system that is sized to accommodate all storm runoff
    7.13
    8 votes
    3

    Garden State Park Racetrack

    Garden State Park was a harness and thoroughbred race track in Cherry Hill, Camden County, New Jersey. It is now the site of a high-end, mixed-use "town center" development of stores, restaurants, apartments, townhouses, and condominiums. Garden State Park's 600 acre (≈1 square mile) land area is roughly bounded by New Jersey State Route 70, Haddonfield Road, Chapel Avenue, and New Jersey Transit's Atlantic City Rail Line. Garden State Park opened on July 7, 1942 after delays caused by raw material rationing at the United States' entry into World War II. Due to the seizure of 30,000 tons of structural steel by war authorities, developer Eugene Mori mostly constructed Garden State Park's ornate Georgian-style grandstand of wood. Limited amounts of steel came from the demolition of New York City's elevated railways. Despite this inauspicious start, 'the Garden,' as it was known, was officially 'out of the gate.' In 1959, Philadelphia Phillies owner Bob Carpenter proposed building a new ballpark for the Phillies on 72 acres (290,000 m) adjacent to the race track. Connie Mack Stadium was 50-years old, did not have sufficient parking, and the sale of alcohol was banned at sports venues
    8.00
    7 votes
    4
    Ohi Racecourse

    Ohi Racecourse

    Ohi Racecourse (大井競馬場, Ōi Keiba-jō), also known as Tokyo City Keiba (TCK), is located in Shinagawa, Tokyo, Japan. Built in 1950 for horse racing, on weekends it also hosts one of the largest Tokyo-area flea markets. The racecourse is located near Ōi Keibajō-mae Station on the Tokyo Monorail. The Tokyo City Cup held annually at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California honors the partnership between the American racetrack and Ohi Racecourse. In recognition of their relationship, TCK holds "Santa Anita Week" each summer which features the one mile G3 "Santa Anita Trophy".
    7.57
    7 votes
    5

    Hialeah Park Race Track

    The Hialeah Park Race Track (also known as the Miami Jockey Club or Hialeah Race Track or Hialeah Park) is a historic site in Hialeah, Florida. Its site covers 40 square blocks of central-east side Hialeah from Palm Avenue east to East 4th Avenue, and from East 22nd Street on the south to East 32nd Street on the north. On March 5, 1979, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. Another listing for it was added in 1988. The Hialeah Park Race Track is served by the Miami Metrorail at the Hialeah Station on Palm Avenue and E 21st Street. The Hialeah Park Race Track is one of the oldest existing recreational facilities in southern Florida. Originally opened in 1921 by the famous aviation pioneer Glenn Curtiss and his partner James Bright, in 1925 the Miami Jockey Club launched Hialeah's race track on January 25, 1925. The facility was severely damaged by a 1926 hurricane and in 1930 was sold to the wealthy Philadelphia horseman Joseph E. Widener. With renowned Kentucky horseman Col. Edward R. Bradley as an investor, Widener hired architect Lester W. Geisler to design a complete new grandstand and Renaissance Revival clubhouse facilities along with landscaped
    8.50
    6 votes
    6

    Morioka Racecourse

    Morioka Racecourse (盛岡競馬場, Morioka Keiba-jō) is located in Morioka, Iwate, Japan. The new racecourse built in 1996 for horse racing.
    6.57
    7 votes
    7

    Elwick Racecourse

    Tattersalls Park (or Elwick Racecourse) is a Thoroughbred horse-racing venue located on Goodwood Road within Glenorchy, Tasmania, Australia. It is located in close proximity to the Brooker Highway, the Hobart Showground, the Derwent Entertainment Centre and the River Derwent. The Racecourse has a picturesque outlook across the river, as well as being dominated by views of Mount Wellington. Elwick features at least 110 race meetings and 210 trial days a year, but is most famous for hosting the Hobart Cup. Tattersalls Park is an approximately egg shaped anti-clockwise circuit with four straight starting lengths, and seven starting positions. These are located at 800m, 1000m, 1200m, 1600m, 2200m, and 2400m. The 2200m start is to the left of the pavilion, meaning the horses pass the crowd at the beginning of the race, and is the start position for the Hobart Cup. Race meets have been conducted at the site since the late 19th century, which was first leased by the TRC in 1874, and later bought by them. Elwick had already developed into a popular venue by the 1880s. Until the early 1980s there was a drive-in cinema located within the track. The declining popularity of this form of
    8.40
    5 votes
    8
    Ipswich Racecourse

    Ipswich Racecourse

    The Ipswich Racecourse is an area of Ipswich that was formerly a racecourse. The course was on Nacton Heath just East of Ipswich, although now a suburb, and was 1 mile and 7 furlongs in circumference. The course ran along the line of the modern Lindberg Road, Cobham Road, parallel to Felixstowe Road as far the modern Hatfield Road before a six furlong finish straight running parallel to Nacton Road to complete the loop. The earliest mention of annual race meetings in Ipswich was 1710 when a Town Purse was run for by "high mettled racers". A royal plate was gained in 1727 which gave the meetings good support for the next half a century, with the Ipswich Journal running an advertisement for: Popularity declined slightly until the garrison came to Ipswich in the early 19th century where the officers brought their support to the races. The course ran a mix of flat and hunt racing, although the last flat race was in 1884 following the withdrawal of the Queen's Plate. From then, it became exclusively a National Hunt course. The hurdles were unpopular with jockeys and horses alike which, although built to National Hunt rules, lacked wings, which increased the risk of the horses running
    8.40
    5 votes
    9

    Atlantic City Race Course

    The Atlantic City Race Course (ACRC), formerly the Atlantic City Race Track, is a thoroughbred horse race track located in the Mays Landing section of Hamilton Township, in Atlantic County, New Jersey, United States. The track is located off the Black Horse Pike (U.S. Route 322) next to the Hamilton Mall. Despite the name, the facility is located 14 miles (23 km) from Atlantic City. The main track is 1⅛ miles in length and 100 feet (30 m) wide, with a 7 furlong chute. The stretch portion of the main track is 947.29 feet (288.73 m). The turf course is a 100-foot (30 m) wide, one mile (1.6 km) oval. The stands offer a seating capacity of 10,000, with standing room available for 25,000. In all, ACRC covers over 250 acres (1.0 km) of land. In 2012, live racing will take place from April 27-29 and then May 1-3. In 2011, live racing took place April 28, 29, and 30, and May 1, 2, and 3. ACRC opened on July 22, 1946, as the Atlantic City Race Track, the work of a group of four individuals. The most famous of the group was John B. Kelly, Sr., who created the race course together with Fred C. Scholler, Glendon Robertson and James "Sonny" Fraser. Shareholders included show business
    8.20
    5 votes
    10

    Freehold Raceway

    Freehold Raceway is a half-mile racetrack in Freehold Borough, New Jersey. Established in 1853, it is the oldest harness racetrack in the United States and is located at the intersection of U.S. Route 9 and Business Route 33 in Freehold. Freehold Raceway is the home of the Cane Pace, a harness horse race run annually since 1955. In 1956 the race joined with the Little Brown Jug and the Messenger Stakes to become the first leg in the Triple Crown of Harness Racing for Pacers. In 1984, an electrical fire destroyed the main building. Racing was then held under tents until the new building was completed in 1985. In 1990, the Freehold Raceway Mall opened up across the street, and was, until 2007, decorated with harness racing motif. In 2005, Freehold was also the temporary home of the Yonkers Trot, part of the Triple Crown of Harness Racing for Trotters, while renovations took place at Yonkers Raceway. The Monmouth County Agriculture Society was formed in 1853 to hold an annual fair with harness racing in the Township of Freehold. It has been researched that racing was held at the same site as early as the 1830s. Freehold Raceway has two meets per year. They race from New Years Day
    9.25
    4 votes
    11
    Leopardstown Racecourse

    Leopardstown Racecourse

    Leopardstown Racecourse is an Irish horse-racing venue, located in Leopardstown, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, 8km south of the Dublin city centre. Like the majority of Irish courses, it hosts both National Hunt and Flat racing. The course, built by Captain George Quin and modelled on Sandown Park Racecourse in England, was completed in 1888 and acquired by the Horse Racing Board of Ireland in 1967. Many important races are held here and racing takes place all year round, with about 22 meetings per year. The Leopardstown Hall of Fame honours famous Irish horse racing trainers, jockeys and horses like, Vincent O'Brien, Tom Dreaper, Pat Taaffe and Pat Eddery, Arkle, Dawn Run, Levmoss and Nijinsky. Leopardstown golf course and club house is situated in the middle of the racetrack. The course also has designer shops, a fitness centre, the Leopardstown Pavilion, Fillies Café Bar, the Silken Glider Restaurant, the Paddock Food Hall, Club 92 nightclub, Madigans pub, and numerous bars and snack areas. A farmers market is also on-site every Friday. The Irish Champion stakes is the most important race at the course and one of the World Series of Racing. It is held every September and attracts the
    6.83
    6 votes
    12

    Harlem Race Track

    The Harlem Race Track (originally called the Harlem Jockey Club) was a race track located in Harlem, Illinois (currently Forest Park, Illinois) near the 12th st. and Hannah. The track was opened in 1894 by George Hankins and John Condon and operated until 1904. From 1899 to 1904 the Lake St. "L" line offered express excursion service to the track.
    6.67
    6 votes
    13
    Fairplex

    Fairplex

    Fairplex, formerly known as the Los Angeles County Fairgrounds, has been since 1922 the home of the L.A. County Fair. It is located in the city of Pomona, California. The L.A. County Fair is now held during the month of September, but the facility is used year-round to host a variety of educational, commercial, and entertainment such as trade and consumer shows, conventions, and sporting events. Fairplex is owned by the County of Los Angeles, but is leased to and is governed by an independent, self-supporting non-profit organization, the Los Angeles County Fair Association, which manages and produces the county fair and re-invests surplus revenues generated by the fair and other events in the maintenance and development of the facility. Having begun in 1922 with 43 acres (170,000 m) donated by the City of Pomona, the Fairplex grounds now cover 543 acres (2.2 km) and include nearly 325,000 square feet (30,200 m) of indoor exhibit space. Slightly less than half of the grounds are given over to paved parking areas to accommodate 30,000 vehicles. Among other features of Fairplex are various scenic parks, plazas and picnic areas, a historic train exhibit, and 12 acres (49,000 m) of
    7.60
    5 votes
    14

    Valparaiso Sporting Club

    Valparaiso Sporting Club is a thoroughbred horse race track in Viña del Mar, Valparaíso Region, Chile. Valparaiso Sporting Club was founded in 1882 by members of mostly British origin. Since 1885, it is the site of the Chilean Derby Stakes. Derby Day is considered the second biggest festival in Chile and regularly attracts attendances of up to 80.000 . In 1920, Valparaiso Sporting Club was also the site of the South American Championship (soccer) final. While it is situated in Viña del Mar, the track is named for the nearby city of Valparaiso, where most of the Clubs' founders lived. As the name suggests, the site also features playing fields for various other sports, such as Cricket, Soccer, Polo and Rugby. Races are conducted on a left-handed turf course, about 2000 meters long. Purses at VSC are lower than at the two Greater Santiago tracks, Hipodromo Chile and Club Hipico de Santiago, but considerably higher than at the provincial tracks Club Hipico de Concepcion and Club Hipico de Antofagasta. Several prestigious stakes races are run at Valparaiso.
    8.75
    4 votes
    15
    Santa Anita Park

    Santa Anita Park

    Santa Anita Park is a thoroughbred racetrack in Arcadia, California, United States. It offers some of the prominent racing events in the United States during the winter and in spring. With its backdrop of the San Gabriel Mountains, it is considered by many as the world's most beautiful race track. The track is home to numerous prestigious races including both the Santa Anita Derby and the Santa Anita Handicap. In 2010, Santa Anita's ownership was moved to MI Developments Inc. (MID). Trevor Denman is the track announcer. Santa Anita Park was opened on December 25, 1934 and is the oldest racetrack in Southern California. It was designed in the art deco style by architect Gordon B. Kaufman. Originally part of "Rancho Santa Anita", owned originally by former San Gabriel Mission Mayor-Domo, Claudio Lopez, named after a family member "Anita Cota". The ranch was later acquired by rancher, Hugo Reid, a Scotsman. Later, it would be owned by gold prospector Lucky Baldwin. He initially founded a racetrack adjacent to the present site in what is today, Arcadia, outside of the city of Los Angeles in 1904. It closed in 1909 and burned in 1912. In 1933, California legalized parimutuel wagering
    5.57
    7 votes
    16
    Chukyo Racecourse

    Chukyo Racecourse

    Chukyo Racecourse (中京競馬場, Chūkyō-keibajō) is located in Toyoake, Aichi, Japan. It is used for horse racing. It was built in 1994. It has a capacity of 58,400. It has 8,795 seats. Chukyo Racecourse has a grass courses, a dirt course. The turf's measures 1600m (7/8 mile + 629 feet). Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), the "B Course" setting (rail out 3 meters), or the "C Course" setting (rail out 7 meters). 1000m, 1200m, 1700m, 1800m, 2000m, 2500m and 2800m races run on the oval. The dirt course measures 1418 meters (7/8 mile + 278 feet). 1000m, 1600m, 1700m, 2300m races run on the oval. The closest train station is Chūkyō-keibajō-mae Station, which is named after this racecourse.
    8.25
    4 votes
    17

    Gloucester Park

    Gloucester Park is a harness racing course in Perth, Western Australia. In the suburb of East Perth, the oval course is adjacent to the WACA Ground. The track is lit, and Friday night pacing events are popular. As of 2006 the Western Australian Trotting Association have used Gloucester Park for more than 70 years, starting with the first Inter Dominion Championship held in February 1936. Gloucester Park has also been used for Telstra Rally Australia. Between 1977 and 1979 Gloucester Park was used as a venue for World Series Cricket matches.
    8.25
    4 votes
    18

    Selangor Turf Club

    The Selangor Turf Club is the major horse racing course in Klang Valley, Selangor, Malaysia. The main race course is located at Sungai Besi, 17 km from Kuala Lumpur city centre. The Selangor Turf Club is one of the three horse racing clubs in Malaysia. Located in the major city of Kuala Lumpur, the Selangor Turf Club hosts about 30 race days a year at the Sungei Besi Racecourse. A racing season begins from January till December. The main feature would be the Triple Crown Series, which carries a grand purse of RM2.7 million. Popularly known as “Where Sprinters Meet Stayers”, the Triple Crown Series is made up of three races featuring different distances like the Tunku Gold Cup race, which is set over a distance of 1,200 metres. The Selangor Gold Cup and the Piala Emas Sultan Selangor races are run over distances of 1,600 metres and 2,000 metres. The first leg starts in February while the second and third legs are held in March and June respectively. At the conclusion of the series, the one horse that captures all the three legs will be entitled to a RM500,000 special bonus and since its inception in 2003, no other horse has manage to capture the honour. Within the confines of the
    8.25
    4 votes
    19

    Southwell Racecourse

    Southwell Racecourse (pronounced /ˈsaʊθwɛl/) is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located near Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England. It is one of only five racecourses in the UK to have an all-weather track and is the only one with a fibresand surface. Fibresand is a mixture of sand and wispy fibres. The racing is also of significance. The now unique fibresand racing surface is quite deep and so makes the track a good stamina test. Ability to stay the distance and fitness are therefore big advantages at Southwell. The track also often features many of the most hardworking jockeys throughout the winter, as well as plenty of high profile stars from time to time. National Hunt racing also occurs here. In 2007, the Great Yorkshire (now Skybet) Chase was held at Southwell, whilst Doncaster closed for redevelopment. Southwell racecourse will always be associated with female jockey Hayley Turner, who grew up locally and had her first job in racing with a trainer based adjacent to the track.
    8.25
    4 votes
    20
    Gravesend Race Track

    Gravesend Race Track

    Gravesend Race Track at Gravesend on Coney Island, New York was a Thoroughbred horse racing facility built by the Brooklyn Jockey Club as a result of the backing of the wealthy racing stable owners, the Dwyer Brothers. Philip J. Dwyer was the controlling shareholder of the Brooklyn Jockey Club, and served as its president. Opened on August 26, 1886, its first executive board consisted of: The facility covered an area which extended from McDonald Avenue (then Gravesend Avenue) to Ocean Parkway, and from Kings Highway to Avenue U. This land had previously been occupied by the Prospect Park Fair Grounds, a slightly smaller and far more modest race course which had been used for harness racing. The facility was enclosed by a twelve foot wooden fence and boasted an ornate two-story "double decker" grand stand of yellow Georgia pine with a bar and restaurant built into its brick base. A spur was created that allowed trains running along the Prospect Park & Coney Island railroad line line to stop within the facility and discharge passengers at a small station that lead directly to the grand stand via a covered walkway. At the southern end of the facility stood the offices of the Brooklyn
    7.00
    5 votes
    21
    Flemington Racecourse

    Flemington Racecourse

    Flemington Racecourse is a major horse racing venue located in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. It is most notable for hosting the Melbourne Cup, which is Australia's richest horse race. The racecourse is situated on low alluvial flats, next to the Maribyrnong River. The area was first used for horse racing in March 1840. The Flemington Racecourse site comprises 1.27 square kilometres of Crown land. The course was originally leased to the Victoria Turf Club in 1848, which merged with the Victoria Jockey Club in 1864 to form the Victoria Racing Club. The first Melbourne Cup was run in 1861. In 1871 the Victoria Racing Club Act was passed, giving the VRC legal control over Flemington Racecourse. The racecourse is shaped not unlike a pear, and boasts a six-furlong (1,200 m) straight known as 'the Straight Six.' The track has a circumference of 2,312 metres and a final straight of 450 metres for race distances over 1,200 metres. Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction. The course has a crowd capacity of over 120,000 and contains three grandstands. The biggest ever attendance was on VRC Derby Day in 2006 when 129,089 people saw Efficient win the VRC Derby. The racecourse has
    9.33
    3 votes
    22

    Hurstpark

    Hurstpark was a race course in South West London. The original setting for many famous races was also frequented by royalty. The frying pan shape was used for both jump and flat racing. It was sold for housing in the 1950s. Mr Alan Green of Epsom rode his first winner there on Bardsley in 1951, beating Mr Lester Piggott. He went on to be a reasonable jumps jockey through the 1950s and, retiring from the saddle, led up the Gold Cup winner Saffron Tartan in 1961.
    9.33
    3 votes
    23
    Nad Al Sheba Racecourse

    Nad Al Sheba Racecourse

    Nad Al Sheba Racecourse is a former Thoroughbred horse racing facility in Dubai, United Arab Emirates opened in 1986. It has a 2,200 metre left-handed dirt race track and a left-handed turf course of the same distance. It operates from November through March and features the Dubai International Racing Carnival and its Dubai World Cup Night. Nad Al Sheba Golf Club ceased operations on May 31, 2007 due to the rebuilding of the racing complex. It is now called Meydan Racecourse. In 2010, all races held in Nad Al Sheba Racecourse move to Meydan Racecourse Other Conditions races at Nad Al Sheba Racecourse included: Group 2: Group 3: Listed
    9.33
    3 votes
    24

    Penang Turf Club

    Penang Turf Club is a major horse racing course in Penang, Malaysia which was established in 1864. In addition to racing, the club also provides equestrian facilities and a golf course.
    8.00
    4 votes
    25
    Seoul Race Park

    Seoul Race Park

    Seoul Race Park is a Korean thoroughbred racetrack in Gwacheon, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea. It is host to many of Korea's most valuable thoroughbred horse races including the Korean Derby and Grand Prix. Seoul Race Park is located next to Seoul Racecourse Park Station on Line 4 of the Seoul Metropolitan Subway. It is operated by the Korea Racing Authority (KRA). The current site at Gwacheon is the third home of Seoul Race Park. The first was at a track in Sinseol-dong, Dongdaemun-gu, which was in operation from the early 1920s until just after the Korean War. Following the closure of the Sinseol-dong track, a new racetrack was constructed at Ttukseom, on the north bank of the Han River In February 1983, after South Korea was awarded the 1988 Summer Olympics, the KRA was given the task of organising the equestrian events. The Ttukseom Racetrack was inadequate; the KRA acquired a new site south of Seoul in Gwacheon Gyeonggi-do, where the equestrian (except the individual-jumping final) and the riding portion of the modern pentathlon events were held. After the Olympics, the KRA turned the site into a racetrack. The first race at the new Seoul Race Park was held on September 1, 1989.
    8.00
    4 votes
    26

    Caulfield Racecourse

    Caulfield Racecourse is one of Melbourne, Australia's best-known horse-racing tracks. Commonly known as "The Heath" by local racegoers, it is located eight kilometres from the Melbourne CBD, on the boundary of Caulfield and Caulfield East in Melbourne's south eastern suburbs. It is home to the Melbourne Racing Club. The track has a triangular shaped layout, comprising three straights, 30 metres wide, with a total circumference of 2080 metres and a finishing straight of 367 metres. All turns have a 4% to 6% banking. Racing takes place in an anti-clockwise direction. The totally glassed in Rupert Clarke stand provides an uninterrupted view of the racecourse. Caulfield has about 20 racedays each season and hosts some of the Australia's most famous and historic races including the Caulfield Cup, Caulfield Guineas, Blue Diamond Stakes, C F Orr Stakes, Oakleigh Plate, Underwood Stakes and Futurity Stakes. The racecourse is on Melbourne tram route 3 and the journey takes about 35 minutes from the city centre. Caulfield railway station is less than a hundred metres from the racecourse and is located on the Frankston, Cranbourne and Pakenham lines. Trains depart every 10 minutes from
    6.80
    5 votes
    27

    Oaklawn Park

    Oaklawn Park is an American thoroughbred racetrack in Hot Springs, Arkansas. It is the home to The Racing Festival of the South. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top ten, Oaklawn was ranked #9. Oaklawn Park officially opened on February 24, 1905. More than 3,000 people attended as a holiday had been declared in Hot Springs. During these early years the track only ran six races a day, similar to British cards. Political problems in the state forced the closure of Oaklawn in 1907. During this time of closure, the track was sold to Louis Cella as the original business partners had both died. The track reopened in 1916 under the auspices of Business Men's League of Hot Springs. In 1918, Louis Cella died and the ownership of the track was transferred to his brother, Charles. Following this transfer the track was open and closed periodically because of vagaries in the state's political climate. In the 1929 Arkansas legislative session, a bill to allow horse racing and parimutuel betting tied in the state House of Representatives. The only Republican member of the state House at the
    6.80
    5 votes
    28

    Flamboro Downs

    Flamboro Downs is Canada's fastest half-mile harness horse racing track, based in Hamilton (Flamborough), Ontario since April, 1975. It is also home to Flamboro Slots, which has a total of 750 slot machines. The racetrack was founded in 1971 by Charles Juravinski and acquired in 2003 by Magna Entertainment.
    7.75
    4 votes
    29

    Plumpton Racecourse

    Plumpton Racecourse is a National Hunt (jumping) horse-racing course at the village of Plumpton, East Sussex near Lewes and Brighton. One of the smaller National Hunt race courses in Britain, it is rather hilly, a tightish left-handed circuit of just over a mile. The hurdle course is now situated on the outside of the chase course: both share the same uphill finish. The course is adjacent to Plumpton railway station, served by occasional trains from London Victoria to Lewes, which makes it a convenient day trip from London. Extra trains are sometimes run on race days. The first meeting was held on 11 February 1884 and the first race was won by Cowslip, which also went on to win another race later that day. Plumpton takes its place in racing history books, as it was the track where Tony McCoy rode his 3000th winner on the Nicky Henderson trained Restless d'Artaix on February 9, 2009.
    7.75
    4 votes
    30

    Wellington Racing Club

    The Wellington Racing Club (WRC) is a racing horse racing club based in Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand. Founded as the Wellington Jockey Club in 1854, the first race meetings held by the club were at Hutt Park in 1854 and at Burnham Water on the Miramar Peninsula. The Club first ran its signature competition, the Wellington Cup, in 1867. The name of the club was changed to the Wellington Racing Club in 1879, to denote its status as Wellington's premier racing club. The next year the totalisator was used at Hutt Park for the first time. The Hutt Hack Racing Club also held races at Hutt Park. Arguments over the shortcomings of Hutt Park as the racecourse for the capital city came to a head in 1903 when the New Zealand Railways Department refused to improve the transport to the course. It was served by the Hutt Park Railway, which had been opened in 1885, but a new line following a similar alignment to the present day Hutt Valley Line and the Gracefield Branch would have provided better access. In 1903 the Club conceived the idea of building a new course at Trentham. The new Trentham Racecourse held its first meeting on 20 January 1906. It was appropriate that at the first meeting
    7.75
    4 votes
    31

    Wolverhampton Racecourse

    Wolverhampton Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Wolverhampton, West Midlands, England. The track was the first to be floodlit in Britain and often holds meetings in the evening. The course has a Polytrack surface, and is one mile (1,609 m) in circumference, with left-hand turns — giving it greater commonality with most racetracks found in the United States than with other venues in the UK. There has been a racecourse in Wolverhampton since 1887, although it has moved location and is now based at Dunstall Park, where it moved at the end of the 1920s. In December 1993 the course was re-vamped with floodlights and a new all-weather Fibresand track that ran alongside the turf track. A hotel, new grandstand, restaurant and executive boxes were also built at this time. In 1999 the course was bought from private ownership by Arena Leisure. In 2004 the Fibresand and turf tracks were replaced with one Polytrack surface, as well as refurbishment of the hotel and conference facilities. Since that time the course has only held flat all weather races. The course has been granted planning permission by Wolverhampton City Council, to expand the hotel from 54 to 170
    7.75
    4 votes
    32
    Doomben Racecourse

    Doomben Racecourse

    Doomben Racecourse is a horse racing venue in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. It is located in the suburb of Ascot, 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane central business district. The turf track is 26 metres wide, with a circumference of 1715 metres and a home straight of 350 metres. Races are run in a clockwise direction. The racecourse was inaugurated in 1933 and subsequently was shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War. In 1946, when the course reopened, the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country. In 1982, a major upgrade to Doomben gave it new world class facilities. The racecourse is serviced by Doomben railway station, the terminus of the Doomben railway line. Eagle Farm Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb. The following is a list of Group races which are run at Doomben Racecourse.
    6.60
    5 votes
    33

    Ayr Racecourse

    Ayr Racecourse at Whitletts Road, Ayr, Scotland, was opened on 1907. The track is a left-handed, oval track, thirteen furlongs in circumference, with a straight run-in of half a mile. There are courses for flat and for National Hunt racing. The course stages the highest-quality racing and most prestigious races run in Scotland in both codes of the sport. Ayr Racecourse replaced an earlier course that was at Racecourse Road. The present racecourse also hosts a car boot sale and market every Sunday except when it conflicts with race fixtures. Flat races: National Hunt races:
    7.50
    4 votes
    34

    Chepstow Racecourse

    Chepstow Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing course located just outside the town of Chepstow in Monmouthshire, Wales, near the southern end of the Wye Valley and close to the border with England. The track is a roughly oval circuit of just under 2 miles (3,200 m). It is a left-handed undulating course, used for both flat and jump racing. The finishing straight is about 5 furlongs (3,300 ft; 1,000 m) in length, with five fences on the chase course to be jumped. There is also a straight mile course. There are 28 fixtures in the 2012 calendar year. It is one of three racecourses in Wales, the others being at Bangor-on-Dee and at Ffos Las. It is also used as a venue for numerous other indoor and outdoor events, such as weddings and conferences. Several places in South Wales had race meetings in the late nineteenth century and there had been racing at St Arvans, very close to the present course, between 1892 and 1914. In 1925 a group of ten South Wales gentry and businessmen, that included Courtenay Morgan, 1st Viscount Tredegar who was also Lord-Lieutenant of Monmouthshire, and Lord Queenborough; formed a company to purchase Piercefield House, and lay out a new racecourse in its
    7.50
    4 votes
    35
    Dufferin Racetrack

    Dufferin Racetrack

    Dufferin Park Racetrack was a Canadian racetrack for thoroughbred horse races located on Dufferin Street in the city of Toronto, Ontario. It was demolished in 1955 and its stakes races moved to Woodbine Racetrack as part of a consolidation of racetracks in the Toronto area. After a provincial racing charter was granted in 1894 to the York Riding and Driving Association to operate horse racing and sell liquor, a half-mile track was laid out on 25 acres (10 ha) of land on the west side of Dufferin Street owned by Charles Leslie Denison. After Denison died, Abe Orpen purchased the land for $400 and opened Dufferin Racetrack in 1907. Horse race gambling was controversial at the time and the charter was revoked in 1909, although this was due to a legal technicality as the charter had not been used for several years prior to 1907. Orpen appealed to Canadian Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier directly and was granted a federal charter. Orpen, along with other businessmen incorporated the Metropolitan Racing Association of Canada, under a federal racing charter, which allowed betting on the site beyond provincial controls. The Association was originally capitalized for $4,060, divided into 40
    7.50
    4 votes
    36
    Moonee Valley Racecourse

    Moonee Valley Racecourse

    Moonee Valley Racecourse is a horse-racing track in Melbourne, Australia which hosts races for Thoroughbreds. Located six kilometres from the Melbourne CBD, it is the home of the Moonee Valley Racing Club. It is situated Moonee Ponds which is a suburb of the City of Moonee Valley. The track is roughly rectangular, with a circumference of 1,805 m and a finishing straight of 173 metres which is the shortest in Australia. The track is constructed of the StrathAyr Turf System, having a lower layer of sand and an upper rootzone layer reinforced with mesh elements. Racing takes place in an anti-clockwise direction, as it does on all Victorian tracks. A 965m harness racing track located inside the turf track was the main metropolitan track for harness racing in Victoria for a number of years. The Moonee Valley grandstands have 12 function rooms, which on non-racedays, can cater for up to 1,200 people. Moonee Valley Racecourse was established in 1883 by William Samuel Cox, who purchased a farm belonging to John F. Feehan for the purpose of establishing a racetrack. Being entirely freehold land owned by a private club, this separates Moonee Valley from other Melbourne racecourse such as
    7.50
    4 votes
    37

    Northfield Park

    Northfield Park is a harness racing racetrack in Northfield, Ohio, U.S.A., a community near Cleveland. Northfield Park conducts more than 200 race nights each year. Originally constructed in 1934 by Al Capone, Northfield Park racetrack, then known as Sportsman Park with a focus on midget car racing. After 20 years as a successful car racing facility, interest began to wane and in 1956, Sportsman Park was demolished to make way for what would eventually become one of the nation's premier harness racing tracks under the leadership of Carl Milstein, a well known real estate developer and businessman. Carl Milstein purchased the track in 1972 with New York Yankees owner George Steinbrenner. The tracks' top race, The Battle of Lake Erie, has featured some of the greatest pacers in history including Jaguar Spur, Gallo Blue Chip, Falcon Seelster and Riyadh. in 2007, the race was won by World Champion Maltese Artist, driven by Brett Miller in a world record time of 1:49.4 for the mile. Maltese Artist is expected to defend his title in the 23rd edition of the race, scheduled for Saturday, April 19, 2008. The track's nickname is "The Home of the Flying Turns" and its motto "Every nineteen
    7.50
    4 votes
    38
    Victoria Park, Adelaide

    Victoria Park, Adelaide

    Victoria Park, also known as Park 16, is a park located in the Southeastern Parklands of the South Australian capital of Adelaide. It is bordered by Fullarton Road, Greenhill Road, East Terrace and Wakefield Road. It hosts a variety of major events throughout the year. The park's most prominent feature was the Victoria Park Racecourse, formerly the home course of the South Australian Jockey Club; the main track was 2,360 metres long, with the longest home-straight of any horse racing track in Australia. The park remains one of the venues for the Adelaide International Horse Trials. Part of the Adelaide Street Circuit was built in the northern portion of the park. Temporary grandstands and other facilities are erected whenever motor racing events are hosted there. The circuit hosts the Adelaide 500 and formerly staged the Australian Grand Prix, from 1985 to 1995, and a one-off Le Mans series event, the "Race of a Thousand Years" on 31 December 2000. Following the rejection of a proposal to upgrade horse and motor racing facilities in early 2008, the SAJC vacated the premises, moving their home course to Morphettville Racecourse. The 1950s-era SAJC grandstand was demolished, as was a
    7.50
    4 votes
    39

    Beulah Park Racetrack

    Beulah Park is Ohio's first thoroughbred racetrack and premier event center, offering live thoroughbred racing from October through to early May. The track also offers Quarter Horse racing on select days throughout the season, with the most notable races occurring in mid-October with three AQHA graded stakes. Located seven miles outside of Columbus, Beulah Park is open seven days a week for simulcast wagering. It is also known for the Beulah Park Twins (Katie and Jenna), who were the simulcast hosts from 1997 to 2009. Beulah Park opened in Grove City, Ohio, a suburb of Columbus, in 1923. It was the first thoroughbred racetrack in Ohio. It is currently one of only three tracks in Ohio to offer live thoroughbred racing, the others being Thistledown in North Randall and River Downs in Cincinnati. In 1983, Beulah Park was the first Ohio track to offer simulcast wagering on the Kentucky Derby. Beulah Park was owned in part or whole from 1923 to May 1983, sixty years, by the Robert Dienst Family. Robert J. Dienst owned and operated the track until his death on August 19, 1959. Robert J. Dienst was most famous for the 1956 and 1957 American Champion Sprint Horse, Decathlon. Robert J. was
    8.67
    3 votes
    40
    Kelso Racecourse

    Kelso Racecourse

    Kelso Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Kelso, Scotland. The official website describes the course as Britain's Friendliest Racecourse. In 2007, it was voted the Best Small Course in Scotland and the North of England. The first recorded race meeting in Kelso took place at Caverton Edge in 1734. Races were also later held at Blakelaw. The foundation stone of the stand at the current racetrack at Berrymoss was laid on the 12 July 1822. Kelso was a flat racing track until 1888, when the United Border Hunt moved to the course. Since then, Kelso has run exclusively under National Hunt rules. Kelso consists of two sharp, left-handed tracks - a chase track of 1 mile 600 yards and a hurdle course of 1 mile 330 yards. The course also has a punishing uphill run-in of 2 furlongs. The classical style grandstand building was erected in 1822, though it was designed in 1778 by York-based architect John Carr (1723–1807). The building, incorporating a private viewing area for the races' patron the Duke of Roxburghe, remains largely unchanged since its construction. In 2011 it was protected by Historic Scotland as a category A listed building, as "the finest example of its
    8.67
    3 votes
    41
    Monticello Raceway

    Monticello Raceway

    Monticello Gaming and Raceway is a harness racing track, and home to a relatively new racino, in Monticello, Sullivan County, New York. It is off Exit 104 of Route 17 (future Interstate 86), on New York State Route 17B. The racetrack is nicknamed "The Mighty M" and races standardbred horse races during the afternoons year round. The current racetrack is an 1/2 mile oval. The track opened on June 27, 1958, in order to serve as a stimulant to attract more people to Monticello's resort area. Monticello Raceway is owned by Empire Resorts. Attempts since 2000 to add a full fledged Indian gaming casino via the St. Regis Mohawk tribe at the track has met with peril. Atlantic City, New Jersey casino operators including Donald Trump fought the proposal. Trump would be fined for not disclosing their lobbying efforts. In January 2008, Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the United States Department of the Interior vetoed any Mohawk plans for a casino saying the Mohawk reservation on the Canadian border was too far from the track. The casino at the raceway operates under a state license permitting slot machines at designated race tracks. In February 2008, Empire Resorts announced that the complex
    8.67
    3 votes
    42
    Randwick Racecourse

    Randwick Racecourse

    Royal Randwick Racecourse is a racecourse for horseracing in the Eastern Suburbs in Sydney, New South Wales. Randwick Racecourse, is operated by the Australian Turf Club and known to many Sydney racegoers as headquarters. The racecourse is located approximately six kilometres from the Sydney Central Business District in the suburb of Randwick. The following is a list of Group races which are contested at Randwick Racecourse. Besides horseracing, Randwick Racecourse has been used as a venue for many other events including concerts and religious masses. In 1970, Pope Paul VI celebrated mass at Randwick as part of his pastoral visit to Australia. The Racecourse was also the site of a mass held by Pope John Paul II in 1995 for the Beatification ceremony of Australia's first potential saint Mary MacKillop. It was also the site of the vigil and final mass of World Youth Day 2008 in July 2008. Racing was stopped for several weeks, due to the alterations needed to hold over 400,000 people. This move had been opposed by the Randwick Trainers Association, which holds lease interests over some areas intended to be used for the event. The dispute was resolved, by the federal government and the
    8.67
    3 votes
    43

    Santa Rosa Park

    Santa Rosa Park is a thoroughbred race track at Arima, Trinidad and Tobago. It is currently the country's only race track and hosts all of Trinidad's major races, including The Royal Oak Derby, Guineas, President's Cup and Midsummer Classic.
    8.67
    3 votes
    44
    Stampede Grandstand

    Stampede Grandstand

    The Stampede Grandstand is a 17,000-seat, plus 8,000 more with standing room, stadium in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. It annually hosts the rodeo, the chuckwagon races and the evening Grandstand Show portions of the Calgary Stampede. Additionally, from March through June annually, the Grandstand hosts live thoroughbred racing on its half-mile dirt track. Off-track betting is run year-round in the same clubhouse facilities.
    10.00
    2 votes
    45

    Beijing Jockey Club

    Beijing Jockey Club (BJC) locates in the TongZhou District of Beijing, covering an area of 1.6 square kilometres. It was one of the biggest international standard horse-racing clubs in Asia. In 2001, with the approval of the state government, the club embarked on thorougbred racing as a major business. The club has bred over 2,000 thoroughbred horses. However, the TongZhou (Tongshun) racecourse was shut down on 23 October 2005. In the following month, over 600 horses were destroyed. The reason for the closure and the cull appears to have been loss of revenue, following the decision of the Chinese government not to allow gambling on horseracing. The club had previously operated a Tote system in 2003, apparently supported by the local government, but this had to be suspended in the 2004/5 season, following the government decision. The club now appears to be shut down. There are three racetracks with international standard in the club:
    7.25
    4 votes
    46

    Belmont Park, Western Australia

    Belmont Park Racecourse is one of the two major horse racing venues within the Perth, Western Australia metropolitan area, the other being Ascot Racecourse. The track has a circumference of 1,699 metres with a 333 metre straight. Belmont is Perth's winter racecourse, with fully enclosed facilities for spectators. The following is a list of Group races which are run at Belmont Park Racecourse.
    8.33
    3 votes
    47
    Prairie Meadows

    Prairie Meadows

    Prairie Meadows is a Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse racetrack and racino in Altoona, Iowa. In 1984, Prairie Meadows received a license from the Iowa Racing and Gaming commission to operate a horse racing facility after parimutuel betting was legalized by the state the previous year. In 1987, groundbreaking ceremonies were held for Prairie Meadows. Prairie Meadows conducted its first day of racing on March 1, 1989. However, the track lost money during its first few years of operation and filed for bankruptcy in November 1991. Live racing was suspended for the 1992 season before revenues from off-track betting allowed racing to resume the following year. On May 17, 1994, Polk County voters approved a referendum allowing the installation of slot machines at Prairie Meadows. On April 1, 1995, the slot machine casino opened at Prairie Meadows, and by the end of 1996, Prairie Meadows was able to pay off the bonds that were issued by the Polk County Board of Supervisors. On December 14, 2004, Prairie Meadows added casino game tables after receiving state approval to do so. As a result of the high demand for these tables, the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission approved Prairie Meadows'
    8.33
    3 votes
    48
    Suhrawardy Udyan

    Suhrawardy Udyan

    Suhrawardy Udyan (Bengali: সোহরাওয়ার্দী উদ্যান) formerly known as Ramna Racecourse ground is a national memorial located in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Once known as ‘‘Bagh-e-Badshahi’’ during the Mughal rule, it is named after Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy. Originally it served as the military club of the British soldiers stationed in Dhaka. It was then called the Ramna Racecourse and later Ramna Gymkhana. After the end of colonial rule, the place – sometimes referred to as Dhaka Racecourse – was used for legal horse racing on Sundays. It is the resting place of two great national leaders Sher-e-Bangla A.K. Fazlul Huq (1873-1962) and Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy (1892-1963) and also of Khwaja Nazimuddin (1894-1964). Ramna Racecourse was renamed after Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy. The place is also etched in history as it was here that Sheikh Mujibur Rahman made his historic "This time the struggle is for our freedom" speech that inspired Bengalis to prepare for the freedom struggle. The original Flag of Bangladesh was also hoisted here for the second time since it was first unfurled at the University of Dhaka and the first time it was flown at such a large public gathering in Bangladesh. It was
    8.33
    3 votes
    49

    Towcester Race Course

    Towcester Racecourse is a horse racing course at Towcester (pronounced "Toaster") in Northamptonshire, England. Recently rebuilt, it hosts National Hunt Rules race meetings (over jumps) in the Winter months. It is situated on the Easton Neston estate. The first meeting took place in 1928. The Towcester Racecourse Company was formed under the direction of Lord Hesketh, and it was on his then estate of Easton Neston, that the course was sited, and the first grandstand built. Towcester is highly popular among the racing fraternity, because of the sharp bends in the course, and the final gallop to the finishing post is uphill, which tests the horses and results in some unexpected finishes. In 2004 the Easton Neston estate, including the race course was put up for sale. Hesketh later decided to retain ownership of the course and sold only a portion of the estate to a Russian-born businessman. Entry was free from 2002 until 2006, during which time the course saw attendance grow significantly. In mid-2006, it was announced that from 26 December 2006 Towcester will be charging for entry to their two most popular annual meetings; Boxing Day and Easter Sunday. All other meetings remain
    8.33
    3 votes
    50

    Woodbine Racetrack

    Woodbine Racetrack is a Canadian racetrack for Thoroughbred horse races located at 555 Rexdale Blvd. in the city of Toronto, Ontario. It is the only horseracing track in North America which stages, or is capable of staging, thoroughbred and standardbred horseracing programs on the same day. However its sister track, Mohawk Raceway located in Campbellville, Ontario host most of the major standardbred races in the summer. It is owned by Woodbine Entertainment Group, formerly known as the Ontario Jockey Club. The track was opened in 1956. It has been extensively remodelled since 1993, and since 1994 has three racecourses. The current Woodbine carries the name originally used by a racetrack which operated in east Toronto, at Queen Street East and Kingston Road, from 1874 through 1993. (While the Old Woodbine Race Course was at the south end of Woodbine Avenue, the current Woodbine is nowhere near it.) On June 12, 1956 the name was transferred to the new racetrack which would be known as New Woodbine Racetrack until 1963 when the "New" was dropped from the name. The old track was converted to a combined thoroughbred and standardbred track known thereafter as Old Woodbine or, for most of
    8.33
    3 votes
    51
    Deauville-Clairefontaine Racecourse

    Deauville-Clairefontaine Racecourse

    Deauville-Clairefontaine Racecourse is a horse race track located in Tourgéville near Deauville in the Calvados département in the Basse-Normandie région of France. The 40-acre (16 ha) facility hosts harness racing, thoroughbred flat racing, steeplechase and hurdle races. The countryside around Deauville is the main horse breeding region in France and home to numerous stud farms.
    9.50
    2 votes
    52

    Hurst Park Racecourse

    Hurst Park Racecourse was a racecourse at Moulsey Hurst, West Molesey, Surrey. It was first laid out in 1890 and sold for residential housing in 1962. The Triumph Hurdle was run here from 1939 until the course closed. The last race to be held here was the Byfleet Stakes, the 4.30 on Wednesday 10 October 1962 and was won by the 11/8 favourite Anaasa.. Mansfield Town F.C. bought one of the grandstands for it to become the West Stand at Field Mill. In October 1941 "A" Company of the 70th Bn. The Middlesex Regiment D.C.O moved into Hurst Park Racecourse for several months before moving to Hounslow Barrack with the rest of the Battalion.
    9.50
    2 votes
    53
    Jamaica Race Course

    Jamaica Race Course

    Jamaica Race Course was an American thoroughbred horse racing facility operated by the Metropolitan Jockey Club in Jamaica, New York. The 1 mile (1.6 km) track opened on April 27, 1903, a day which featured the inaugural running of the Excelsior Handicap. Eugene D. Wood, one of the founders and largest stockholder, served as its first president. On his death in April 1924, Dr. Edward P. Kilroe was appointed president to replace him. The Wood Memorial Stakes is named in Eugene Wood's honor. Legendary Hall of Fame horse trainer Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons was the first to train at Jamaica Race Course and Native Dancer made a winning debut here on April 19, 1952. The facility's attendance record of 64,679 was set on Memorial Day, 1945. It was home to ongoing races such as the Prioress Stakes, Frizette Stakes, Paumonok Handicap, Excelsior Handicap, Wood Memorial Stakes, Remsen Handicap, Bed O' Roses Handicap, and the Jamaica Handicap. In 1955, the Greater New York Association took over management of Jamaica Race Course along with Aqueduct Racetrack, Belmont Park, and Saratoga Race Course and decided to undertake renovations to Aqueduct in South Ozone Park, the other track in the Greater
    9.50
    2 votes
    54

    Lebanon Raceway

    Lebanon Raceway is a harness racing track located in Lebanon, Ohio, at the Warren County Fairgrounds. The track conducts live racing on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, and holds meets beginning in autumn and running through the winter, as well as in the spring. The track offers simulcasting from harness, Thoroughbred and quarter horse tracks throughout North America seven days a week. The facility is also home to the Warren County Fair, usually conducted the third week in July each year. On 5 December 2009, a fire destroyed a barn at the racetrack, killing 43 horses and two people. Authorities say both of the people killed were men, identified as harness racing trainers at the track. It is unclear what caused the fire, but only the efforts of firefighters prevented the blaze from spreading to other buildings on the site. According to the Ohio State Fire Marshal, there was no sign of criminal intent, but the cause was undetermined. Age and design of the barn is also considered a factor in the rapid spread of the fire.
    9.50
    2 votes
    55
    Mohawk Raceway

    Mohawk Raceway

    Mohawk Racetrack is a harness racing track in Campbellville, Ontario. It is owned by the Woodbine Entertainment Group, formerly the Ontario Jockey Club, and is about 30 km west of the company's other racetrack, Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto. Mohawk also has a large slot machine parlour, operated by OLG; some of the revenue from this operation is used to increase the horseracing purses. The track itself is ⅞ mile in circumference (originally ⅝ mile), and is made of crushed limestone. It can accommodate ten starters behind the gate. The homestretch is 1,095 feet long, and the far turn has a larger radius than the clubhouse turn to encourage acceleration into the homestretch. There is no hubrail. Most of the major harness racing stakes events have been moved from Woodbine to Mohawk as of 2007. These races include-
    9.50
    2 votes
    56
    Penn National Race Course

    Penn National Race Course

    Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course is a thoroughbred horse racing track and casino in Grantville, Pennsylvania, 17 miles (27 km) east of Harrisburg. It is owned and operated by Penn National Gaming. The track opened on August 30, 1972. It consists of a 1 mile (1.6 km) dirt course and a 7 - furlong turf course. It is unusual among United States thoroughbred tracks in offering year round racing 52 weeks a year. 201 dates are scheduled for 2012. It features the $200,000 Pennsylvania Governor's Cup Handicap for horses three-years-old and up run 5 furlongs on the turf. In 2009 Cardashi, ridden by jockey David Cora, won in a 29-1 upset. This track is home to Eclipse Special Award winner Rapid Redux and his trainer David J. Wells. Hollywood Casino opened at Penn National on February 12, 2008. On July 13, 2010, table games began operation. As of July 2010, Hollywood Casino has over 2,480 slot machines and 54 tables. Table games include:14 Poker tables, Black Jack, Roulette, Craps, Pai-Gow Poker, Three and Four Card Poker, Mini-Baccarat, and Let-It-Ride. Penn National Gaming operates other casinos under the Hollywood Casino brand.
    9.50
    2 votes
    57

    Scarborough Downs

    Scarborough Downs is a horse-racing track located in Scarborough, Maine, United States. It is Maine's largest race track. It is home to a restaurant as well as a grandstand for race viewing. Scarborough Downs was constructed in 1950 as a racetrack for Thoroughbred horse races. It was the only one of its kind in the state. However, harness racing was introduced in the 1960s and in September 1972 the track no longer hosted Thoroughbred racing. In the 2000s, the track began to offer simulcast races from premier thoroughbred tracks along with those of harness racing. On October 1, 1980, a pre-dawn fire at Scarborough Downs, ignited as the result of an overloaded electrical box in a tack room, destroyed a 240-foot barn, killing eleven horses.
    9.50
    2 votes
    58

    Doncaster Racecourse

    Doncaster Racecourse (also known as the Town Moor course) is a racecourse in Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England. It hosts two of Great Britain's 31 Group 1 flat races, the St Leger Stakes and the Racing Post Trophy. Doncaster is one of the oldest (and in terms of physical capacity – largest) established centres for horse racing in Britain, with records of regular race meetings going back to the 16th Century. In 1600 the corporation tried to put an end to the races because of the number of ruffians they attracted, but by 1614 it acknowledged failure and instead marked out a racecourse. Doncaster is home to two of the World's oldest horse races: – The Doncaster Cup The earliest important race in Doncaster's history was the Doncaster Gold Cup, first run over Cantley Common in 1766. The Doncaster Cup is the oldest continuing regulated horse race in the world. Together with the 2 miles (3,200 m) Goodwood Cup and 2+⁄2 miles (4,000 m) Ascot Gold Cup, the Doncaster Cup is part of Britain's Stayers' Triple Crown for horses capable of running longer distances. The St Leger Stakes Ten years later the Racecourse moved to its present location and in 1776 Colonel Anthony St. Leger founded a
    7.00
    4 votes
    59

    Hoosier Park

    Hoosier Park is a thoroughbred and standardbred racetrack located in Anderson, Indiana, United States. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top Ten, Hoosier Park was ranked #4. In 1990, Virgil E. Cook, a prominent local businessman and longtime resident of Anderson, Indiana donated 110 acres (0.45 km) of commercial real estate to the city for the sole purpose of developing a pari-mutuel racing facility. In 1992, Churchill Downs Incorporated announced plans to purchase Indiana's only pari-mutuel license from businessman Louis Carlo and open a racetrack on the site of the land donated by Cook. It was the first racetrack outside Kentucky owned by Churchill Downs since 1939. In February 1994 a contract was signed for the construction of Hoosier Park. The construction of the facility cost approximately $13 million dollars. On September 1, 1994 the track finally opened. A crowd of 7,633 came to the grand opening of the standardbred season. The track announces plans to open four off-track betting facilities in Indiana. On October 7, 1995 the first Indiana Derby was run. Churchill Downs
    7.00
    4 votes
    60
    Täby Racecourse

    Täby Racecourse

    Taby Racecourse, (Swedish: Täby Galopp), is a Thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Täby, approximately 15 kilometres north of Stockholm. Taby Racecourse is the premier track in the three Scandinavian countries where racing is run, Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Opened in 1960 and based on the major racecourses in America, its facilities have constantly been up-graded and are now as good as most courses in Europe and unrivalled in Scandinavia. Racing takes place throughout the year, the variety available varying from dirt racing under lights during the winter and spring to the top flat and jump races in Scandinavia run during the summer and fall. The course usually stages about 50 days racing a year with the dirt track being used exclusively until May. Racing under floodlights was first staged in 1965 and the formula is now working with considerable success in England at Wolverhampton and other courses in Europe. The left-handed track was also designed on a similar basis as courses in North America with a dirt track which is about 8 furlongs (one mile) in length on the outside of the turf course. There is also the added attraction of a figure-eight hurdle and steeplechase track
    7.00
    4 votes
    61
    Wincanton Racecourse

    Wincanton Racecourse

    Wincanton Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Wincanton, Somerset, England. The steeplechase fences are large, making it a good test of a chaser. Three fences in quick succession in the second half of the home-straight make for exciting racing and often change the complexion of a finish dramatically; resulting in a great many close finishes. The track stages several big races, including the Kingwell Hurdle in February, and the CGA Chase on the same day; these races can be significant trials for the Champion Hurdle and Cheltenham Gold Cup respectively. Several of the races at the course are shown on Channel 4. The track is located near to the yard of the trainer, Paul Nicholls and as such many of his promising young horses run here. During the year to 2008, the course had the second highest casualty rate in the country, with 9 deaths.
    7.00
    4 votes
    62

    Calder Race Course

    Calder Race Course is Thoroughbred horse racing track in Miami Gardens, Florida in the United States. In the mid-1960s, real estate developer Stephen A. Calder envisioned summertime racing in Florida; in 1965, on the advice of Mr. Calder, the Florida Legislature approved a bill allowing for it. Prior to this time, a fall meet was held at Tropical Park Race Track in Miami and a spring meet at Gulfstream Park in Broward County. In 1970, Stephen Calder received a permit for summertime racing but the meet was run at Tropical Park because construction was not complete at Calder. On May 6, 1971 Calder Race Course held its first day of racing. When William L. McKnight became the new owner of Tropical Park, he stated his intentions of closing the track and switching the dates to the Calder track, of which he was one of the principal investors. Racing ceased at Tropical Park in 1972. The 1980s brought about renovations and expansions and two purchases. The first purchase was by Bertram R. Firestone and the second was by Kawasaki Leasings, Inc. In 1992 the "Festival of the Sun" was introduced. By 1997, simulcasting was introduced (so bets could be placed on Calder races from other tracks and
    8.00
    3 votes
    63
    Fukushima Racecourse

    Fukushima Racecourse

    Fukushima Race Course (福島競馬場, Fukushima keibajō) is a horse racing course located in Fukushima, Fukushima. It was built in 1918. Fukushima Race Course has both a turf and a dirt course. The turf course measures 1600m. Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), the "B Course" setting (rail out 2 meters), or the "C Course" setting (rail out 4 meters). The dirt course measures 1444.6 meters.
    8.00
    3 votes
    64

    Hamilton Park Racecourse

    Hamilton Park Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue in Hamilton, Scotland to the south of Glasgow. It is a flat racing venue, with a season which runs from May to October. Racing has been staged in Hamilton since 1782 and it is now part of Scotland’s great sporting heritage. More than two centuries worth of punters have visited the course wanting to place a bet or simply just enjoy a grand day out at the races. Several landmark events in racing have occurred on Hamilton Park’s grounds. On 18 July 1947 it became the first course in Britain to stage an evening fixture while on 8 May 1971 the racecourse became the first to hold a morning meeting. These innovations would become commonplace for racecourses around the country. The present racecourse opened in 1926 and since 1973 it has been owned by the Hamilton Park Trust which ploughs back all profits into developing the course. Hamilton Park is noted for its reputation of mixing good quality racing with glamour and entertainment. Top jockeys like Frankie Dettori appearing at the racecourse and live music performances from the likes of Sophie Ellis-Bextor, Jason Donovan, Pixie Lott, Alesha Dixon and Dannii Minogue have helped
    8.00
    3 votes
    65

    Hippodrome de Montreal

    Blue Bonnets Raceway (later named Hippodrome de Montréal) was a horse racing track and casino in Montreal, Canada. After 137 years of operation, it closed in October 2009. In 1872 the Blue Bonnets racetrack for thoroughbred horse racing opened in Ville Saint-Pierre. In 1905 John F. Ryan founded the Jockey Club of Montreal and on June 4th, 1907 and opened a new Blue Bonnets Raceway on Decarie Boulevard. In 1943 harness racing began and in 1954 thoroughbred flat racing was discontinued until resumed 1961. In 1958, Jean-Louis Levesque built a new multi-million dollar clubhouse. In 1973 thoroughbred racing ended permanently. In 1991 the municipal government corporation, Le Société d’habitation et de développement de Montréal ((SHDM)), owned the track and in 1995 renamed it Hippodrome de Montreal. Operated by the provincial government agency SONACC (Societe nationale du cheval de course) it had harness racing, inter-track wagering from the United States, off-track betting, two restaurants and hundreds of video lottery terminals and slot machines. On June 27, 2008 Attractions Hippiques, entered bankruptcy protection, suspending all operations except its VLT gambling machines and
    8.00
    3 votes
    66
    Mahalaxmi Racecourse

    Mahalaxmi Racecourse

    The Mahalaxmi Racecourse is a horse racing track in Mahalaxmi neighbourhood, of Mumbai. The track is oval shaped with 2400 m straight chute, spread over approx. 225 acres (0.91 km) of open land in the heart of Mumbai city. It was created out of a marshy land known as Mahalakshmi Flats. Built in 1883 and modelled on the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, it is spread over on 225 acres of land facing the sea. It was originally donated by Sir Cusrow N Wadia and today it is on lease from the Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai (MCGM) to Royal Western India Turf Club which runs the racecourse. The Grandstand, off the course, is a designated heritage structure. The horse racing season starts in mid-November and ends in the last week of April. On the first Sunday in February, the Derby is conducted annually and is attended by many of the city's glitterati. Since the year 1986 till date McDowell's Indian Derby has been sponsored by liquor baron Vijay Mallya's UB Group under the name of flagship company McDowells Co. Ltd. as The McDowell's Indian Derby. The common Mumbaikar has access to the racecourse in the mornings and evenings during specified timings for exercising, walking or
    8.00
    3 votes
    67

    Stratford-on-Avon Racecourse

    Stratford-on-Avon Racecourse, also known as simply Stratford Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Stratford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, England. Stratford Racecourse hosts a number of meets. Unlike races at Ascot Racecourse or Epsom Racecourse, the attire is considerably more casual. Although each year includes a Ladies Day competition, prizes include vouchers, gifts. For the last two years, Ladies Day entries have been chosen by the midlands-born designer Laura Jane Design. Although a leading racecourse, the actual course is fairly small, holding race meets from March until November each year. The racecourse has three enclosures: the Club Enclosure, Tattersall Enclosure and the Centre Course.
    8.00
    3 votes
    68

    Tioga Downs

    Tioga Downs is a county-fair-themed standardbred racetrack (5/8 mile) and racino located on a 138-acre (0.56 km) site in Nichols, New York. Tioga Downs originally was a quarterhorse track known as "Tioga Park" in 1976, closing down after its third season. James Nuckel, then owner, stated that, "the track had been losing thousands of dollars a day and was still in the red after three years of operation" (New York Times, 1978). Thereafter, a few private races and the occasional flea market were held at the location. In 2000, Jeffrey Gural, a real-estate executive, horse owner, and racing enthusiast, began lobbying for state approval of Video Lottery Terminals (VLTs) at racetracks. In 2005, they were approved. Shortly after Mr. Gural, with partnership from Nevada Gold and Casinos, bought the old Tioga Park for $32 Million (New York Times, 2006; Press and Sun Bulletin, 2006). A ground-breaking ceremony was held July 22, 2005. On June 9, 2006, Tioga Downs opened, offering in addition to harness racing, simulcast betting, and over 750 VLTs. Tioga Downs has two bars, a Subway(TM) restaurant, banquet room, coffee/bakery shop, and buffet. It also has a stage area, which hosts concerts.
    8.00
    3 votes
    69

    Will Rogers Downs

    The Will Rogers Downs is a gaming facility and race track located in Rogers County, east of Claremore, Oklahoma (and just east of Justice), that is owned and operated by the Cherokee Nation. The facility features a 2,700-seat grandstand along a one-mile long track. More than 250 electronic gaming machines comprise the facility's casino section, while the largest RV Park in Oklahoma is located on its grounds.
    8.00
    3 votes
    70
    Cheltenham Racecourse

    Cheltenham Racecourse

    Cheltenham Racecourse is a racecourse for horse racing events, located at Prestbury Park, in the suburban village of Prestbury on the outskirts of the English town of Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. Cheltenham is called the "home of National Hunt racing", largely because it hosts the four-day Cheltenham Festival, held in March of each year and featuring the Cheltenham Gold Cup. The racecourse has a scenic location in a natural amphitheatre just below the escarpment of the Cotswold Hills, at Cleeve Hill, with a capacity of 67,500 spectators. The racecourse also has its own steam railway station, although this no longer connects to the national rail network but is rather the southern terminus of the preserved Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway. The main racecourse has two separate courses alongside each other, the Old Course and the New Course. The New Course has a tricky downhill fence and a longer run-in for steeplechases than the Old Course. Hurdle races over two miles on the New Course also have a slight peculiarity in that most of the hurdles are jumped early on in the race with only two hurdles being jumped in the last seven furlongs. There is also a cross-country course which
    6.75
    4 votes
    71

    Fair Meadows Race Track

    Fair Meadows Race Track is a large race track and betting center located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The track features horse races Thursday through Sunday from early June to late July at its facility in Expo Square.
    6.75
    4 votes
    72
    Hastings Racecourse

    Hastings Racecourse

    Hastings Racecourse is a horse racing facility at Hastings Park four miles from downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Originally called East Park, it opened for business in 1889, making it Vancouver’s longest continuously used professional sports facility. The racing operation is currently a wholly owned subsidiary of Great Canadian Gaming Corporation who acquired the lease of the city-owned track in 2004. On the first Monday in August, a public holiday, the track hosts BC Cup Day that features a series of six races for top Thoroughbreds in various classes. In September, the two most important races for three-year-olds in British Columbia, the British Columbia Breeders' Cup Oaks and the British Columbia Breeders' Cup Derby, are run at Hastings Racecourse. Major races include: Grade 3: Ungraded stakes: On May 18, 2011 it was reported that the course could close at the end of its 2012 lease due to low profits from wagering revenue and slots and difficulty reaching an agreeable new lease with the city, though negotiations are ongoing. A decision by Great Canadian must be made by October 31. In 2012 the track made international headlines when little-known Mexican-born jockey
    6.75
    4 votes
    73
    Lone Star Park

    Lone Star Park

    Lone Star Park is a horse racing track located in Grand Prairie, Texas. Lone Star Park opened in 1997. The track offers separate meets for Thoroughbred racing and Quarter Horse racing. In October 2002, Magna Entertainment Corp. (MEC), based in Aurora, Ontario, leased the facility and acquired the operations. In 2004, it was the site of the Breeders' Cup. The seating capacity was temporarily increased for the Breeders' Cup to 50,000 people. Lone Star Park covers 315 acres (1.27 km), and includes a pavilion for simulcasting. The track has a one-mile (1.6 km) dirt oval and a seven-furlong turf track, and has accommodations for 1,600 horses across 32 barns. The grandstand has a seating capacity of roughly 8,000 people. The following graded stakes are run at Lone Star Park: Grade 3: Restricted stakes: Ungraded stakes:
    6.75
    4 votes
    74
    Morris Park Racecourse

    Morris Park Racecourse

    Morris Park Racecourse was an American thoroughbred horse racing facility from 1889 until 1904. It was located in a part of Westchester County, New York that was annexed into the Bronx in 1895 and later became known as Morris Park. The racecourse was the site of the Belmont Stakes from 1890 through 1904 as well as the Preakness Stakes in 1890. Morris Park Racecourse was conceived and built by majority shareholder John Albert Morris as a result of the planned closure of the nearby Jerome Park Racetrack, where racing ended in 1894 to make way for the Jerome Park Reservoir. Principal owner John Morris had extensive business interests in Louisiana and the prominent New York businessman and horseracing enthusiast Leonard W. Jerome served as the racecourse's president. African-American Racing Hall of Fame jockey Isaac Murphy rode on opening day at the new facility—August 20, 1889—and Morris Park was described as "the finest race track in the world." Accessible by horse and buggy, the New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad added a short spur from its main line near the Van Nest station that brought racing fans directly to the new race track from the greater New York City area. On June
    6.75
    4 votes
    75

    Punchestown Racecourse

    Punchestown Racecourse is located in the parish of Eadestown, between the R410 and R411 regional roads near Naas, County Kildare, in Ireland. It is known as the home of Irish Jumps Racing and plays host to the annual Irish National Hunt Festival. As well as horse racing, Punchestown hosts several music events, including the annual Oxegen, while AC/DC, Bon Jovi and Eminem are among the artists to have played concerts on the racecourse. Dick O'Sullivan has been interim manager since 2003. The Punchestown Festival is the major horse racing festival of the Irish National Hunt Season and is usually held annually in April. It is held the final week of April and the Festival is over five days, between Tuesday and Saturday inclusive. It is seen by many as the Irish version of the Cheltenham Festival and is run in a very similar format. The major races at the Festival are the Champion Chase, Ryanair Novice Chase, Champion Hurdle, ladbrokes.com World Series Hurdle, Evening Herald Champion Novice Hurdle, Cathal Ryan Memorial Champion Novice Hurdle, Growise Champion Novice Chase, AES Champion Four Year Old Hurdle, BetChronicle Champion INH Flat Race and the Punchestown Gold Cup. Punchestown is
    6.75
    4 votes
    76

    Warwick Farm Racecourse

    Warwick Farm Racecourse is a racecourse at Warwick Farm a south-west suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It is used as a racecourse for Thoroughbred horse racing. The following is a list of Thoroughbred group races which are run at Warwick Farm Racecourse. It is within close walking distance of Warwick Farm railway station. A free bus service between the racecourse and the station is available on racedays. The racecourse was once served by a direct rail link off the Main Southern Line north of Warwick Farm station. Racecourse Special trains from the City and North Sydney were able to arrive at the racecourse entrance. This branch line was owned by the Australian Jockey Club and operated by CityRail and its predecessors. When the AJC decided not to fund maintenance of the line, it was closed in August 1990. In the early 1880s William Alexander Long bought J.H. Stroud's Warwick Park grant north of Liverpool. By 1884 he had also developed his property across the river, Chipping Norton, building stables and tracks. Long lived at Chipping Norton until 1901 when the banks foreclosed on him. His most successful horse Grand Flanneur won the Melbourne Cup in 1880. He sold the
    6.75
    4 votes
    77
    9.00
    2 votes
    78
    Cologne-Weidenpesch Racecourse

    Cologne-Weidenpesch Racecourse

    The Cologne-Weidenpesch Racecourse (Galopprennbahn Köln-Weidenpesch) is a horse racing track at Weidenpescher Park in Nippes, Cologne. As the only race course in Germany, hosting more than one European pattern Group 1 race, Weidenpesch is one of the most prominent tracks in the country. Cologne-Weidenpesch is also one of Germany's oldest horse-racing tracks, having been established as a race course in 1897. The larger of the two grandstands was designed as a cast iron and timber framing structure in 1898 and substantially renovated in 2004. Until recently, the sportsgrounds were also home to Cologne's oldest football club, the VfL Köln 99. The Weidenpesch Racecourse hosts several annual conditions races: The Gerling-Preis, originally established as "Preis von Birlinghoven" in 1921, and from 1934 onwards, named and sponsored by Robert Gerling, is the oldest sponsored race prize in the country. Other major races include the Preis von Europa and the Mehl-Mülhens-Rennen. The Cologne racing association (Kölner Rennverein) organizes horse races throughout the entire year.
    9.00
    2 votes
    79

    Del Mar Racetrack

    Del Mar Racetrack is an American Thoroughbred horse racing track at the Del Mar Fairgrounds in the seaside city of Del Mar, California, 20 miles north of San Diego. Operated by the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club, it is known for the slogan: "Where The Turf Meets The Surf." It was built by a partnership including Bing Crosby, the actor Pat O'Brien, Jimmy Durante, Charles S. Howard and Oliver Hardy. When Del Mar opened in 1937, Bing Crosby was at the gate to personally greet the fans. On August 12, 1938, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club hosted a $25,000 winner-take-all match race between Charles S. Howard's Seabiscuit and the Binglin Stable's colt, Ligaroti. In an era when horse racing ranked second in popularity with Americans to Major League Baseball, the match race was much written and talked about and was the first nationwide broadcast of a Thoroughbred race by NBC radio. In the race, Seabiscuit was ridden by jockey George Woolf and Ligaroti by Noel Richardson. In front of a record crowd that helped make the fledgling Del Mar race track a success, Seabiscuit won an exciting battle by a nose. By 1940, Del Mar became a summer playground for many Hollywood stars. Between 1942 and 1944 the
    9.00
    2 votes
    80

    Fort Erie Race Track

    Fort Erie Race Track is a horse racing facility in Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada built by the Fort Erie Jockey Club and inaugurated on June 16, 1897. Fort Erie Race Track was at one time owned by the Cella family, who owned Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, Arkansas. They sold it in 1952 to renowned Canadian horseman E. P. Taylor. The owner of Windfields Farm, Taylor played a key role in the development of the track. He was responsible for the creation of the Canadian Triple Crown with the second leg of the series, the Prince of Wales Stakes, being the track's most important annual event. In June 2012 it was announced that the Fort Erie would close at the end of the year following the decision of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation that slot machines would be removed from the track.
    9.00
    2 votes
    81
    Hanshin Racecourse

    Hanshin Racecourse

    Hanshin Racecourse (阪神競馬場, Hanshin-keibajō) is located in Takarazuka, Hyogo, Japan. It is used for horse racing. The land was originally owned by Kawanishi Aircraft Company, which manufactured combat planes during World War II. After the WWII, GHQ ordered the company to stop manufacturing combat planes, which ended in closing the factory. In 1949, Keihanshin Keiba K.K. built the Hanshin Racecourse. The racecourse was transferred to Japan Racing Association in 1955. A major reconstruction was completed in 1991, and another in 2006. It has a capacity of 139,877. It has 12,603 seats. Hanshin Racecourse has two turf courses, a dirt course, and a jump course. The turf's outer oval (外回り, sotomawari) measures 2089m (1¼ miles + 254 feet), and the inner oval (内回り, uchimawari) measures 1689m (1 mile + 261 feet). Two chutes allow races to be run at 1800m/1400m and 2600m/2200m, respectively. Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), or the "B Course" setting (rail out 4 meters). The dirt course measures 1518 meters (7/8 mile + 360 feet), with a 1400m chute. The 2089m-long outer oval turf course was part of a major construction in 2006, and was a 400m-long extension. This
    9.00
    2 votes
    82

    Market Rasen Racecourse

    Market Rasen Racecourse is a National Hunt racecourse in the town of Market Rasen, in Lincolnshire, England. The course is a right-handed oval with a circumference of around one-and-a-quarter miles. Although National Hunt racing is traditionally a winter sport, Market Rasen stages a year-round programme of racing. Its most high-profile fixture is the Summer Plate meeting, normally staged on the third Saturday in July. This features the two-and-a-quarter miles Summer Hurdle and the eponymous Summer Plate, a two-and-three-quarter miles chase, both of which are among the most valuable National Hunt races staged in Britain during the summer months. During the winter in addition to National Hunt racing a left-handed point to point course is laid out on the inside of the National Hunt course.
    9.00
    2 votes
    83
    Philadelphia Park Racetrack

    Philadelphia Park Racetrack

    Parx Casino and Racing, formerly Philadelphia Park Racetrack and Casino, is the largest casino gaming complex in Pennsylvania. Owned and operated by Greenwood Gaming and Entertainment, Inc., Parx features 24 hour gaming; 3,500 slot machines; 140 live table games; a poker room with 60 poker tables; live racing and simulcast action; several dining options and bars. Originally called Keystone Racetrack, it opened in November 1974 in Bensalem, Pennsylvania, it replaced Liberty Bell Park Racetrack as the area's thoroughbred track. When the track was purchased in 1984 by ITB, the racetrack received a new name, Philadelphia Park, a new turf course, and an innovative new way to wager called Phonebet. In December 1990, the racetrack again changed hands when Greenwood Racing, Inc., a corporation founded in 1989 by British bookmaking veterans Bob Green and Bill Hogwood, purchased the oval from ITB. Full card simulcasting was added, as well as six off-track locations called Turf Clubs, allowing race fans to watch and wager seven days a week. Late in 1998, Greenwood joined with fellow Pennsylvania corporation, Penn National Gaming, Inc., in expanding into New Jersey with the purchase of
    9.00
    2 votes
    84
    Pimlico Race Course

    Pimlico Race Course

    Pimlico Race Course is a thoroughbred horse racetrack in Baltimore, Maryland, most famous for hosting the Preakness Stakes. Its name is derived from the 1660s when English settlers named the area where the facility currently stands in honor of Olde Ben Pimlico's Tavern in London. The racetrack is nicknamed "Old Hilltop" after a small rise in the infield that became a favorite gathering place for thoroughbred trainers and race enthusiasts. It is currently owned by Maryland Jockey Club. Pimlico officially opened in the fall of 1870, with the colt Preakness winning the first running of the Dinner Party Stakes. Three years later the horse would have the 1873 Preakness Stakes named in his honor. The track is also noted as the home for the match race in which Seabiscuit beat War Admiral in the second Pimlico Special, on November 1, 1938, before a crowd of 43,000. The Preakness Stakes and the Pimlico Special are run at a distance of 1 3/16 miles. The Pimlico track record for that distance is held by Farma Way, who set it while winning the Pimlico Special in 1991. In the century and more since its opening, Pimlico Race Track has weathered much outside history including the Great Depression
    9.00
    2 votes
    85
    Sheepshead Bay Race Track

    Sheepshead Bay Race Track

    Sheepshead Bay Race Track was an American Thoroughbred horse racing facility built on the site of the Coney Island Jockey Club at Sheepshead Bay, New York. Old maps and railroad track diagrams for the Manhattan Beach Branch of the LIRR showing the spur that served both the club and the racetrack indicates the entrance to the club was located on the east side of Ocean Avenue between Avenues X and Y. The racetrack was built by a group of prominent businessmen from the New York City area who formed the Coney Island Jockey Club in 1879. Led by Leonard Jerome and the track's President, William Kissam Vanderbilt, the Club held seasonal race cards at nearby Prospect Park fairgrounds until construction of the new race course was completed in 1880. In its first year of operations, the new Sheepshead Bay track hosted a 1½ mile match race between two of the top horses racing at the time in the United States. The Dwyer Brothers' Luke Blackburn was ridden by Jim McLaughlin, and Pierre Lorillard's Uncas was ridden by jockey Costello. Luke Blackburn won by twenty lengths. Sheepshead Bay had both a dirt and a turf course. Principle backers: The new Sheepshead Bay Race Track's premier event was the
    9.00
    2 votes
    86

    Delta Downs

    Delta Downs Racetrack, Casino and Hotel is an American thoroughbred and quarter horse racetrack in Calcasieu Parish, near Vinton, Louisiana in the southwest portion of the state. The facility is owned by Boyd Gaming. The track opened in September, 1973 under the direction of Lee Berwick. Berwick was primarily looking for a recognized facility to run Quarter Horses, having earlier held races on his farm in St. Joseph, Louisiana. Delta Downs in Vinton would hold both Quarter Horse and Thoroughbred race meetings, some years in a mixed format. In the 1990s, the track was bought by developer Shawn Scott for $10 million. Shortly thereafter, it was sold for over $100 million to Boyd Gaming after a law was passed allowing for slot machines at Delta Downs. After the purchase, Boyd Gaming made over $120 million in capital improvements. The casino, hotel and track were badly damaged by Hurricane Rita in 2005; the casino and hotel were partially opened two months later. The track was closed for about six months after the hurricane. Fueled by revenue from the slots casino, the quality of racing at Delta Downs has improved. The winter Thoroughbred meeting has produced several stakes-quality
    7.67
    3 votes
    87
    Golden Gate Fields

    Golden Gate Fields

    Golden Gate Fields is an American horse racing track straddling both Albany, California and Berkeley, California along the shoreline of San Francisco Bay adjacent to the Eastshore Freeway in the San Francisco Bay Area. With the closing of the Bay Meadows racetrack on May 11, 2008, it became the only major racetrack in Northern California. It is currently owned by The Stronach Group. The track is set on 140 acres (0.57 km) of land in the cities of Albany and Berkeley. Golden Gate Fields' facilities currently include a one-mile (1,609 m) synthetic track and a turf course measuring 9/10 of a mile, or 7 furlongs plus 132 feet (1,448 m), stalls for 1,420 horses, a main grandstand with seating for approximately 8,000 customers, a clubhouse with seating for approximately 5,200 customers, a Turf Club with seating for approximately 1,500 customers and parking for over 8,500 cars. The synthetic track is called Tapeta, and was installed in the summer of 2007. The racetrack is situated on a tract of land bordered on the west by Fleming Point, a rocky promontory which lies on the eastern shoreline of San Francisco Bay. On the north, it is bordered by the Albany Bulb, Albany Beach and Albany
    7.67
    3 votes
    88

    Tampa Bay Downs

    Tampa Bay Downs is an American Thoroughbred horse racing facility located in Westchase in Hillsborough County in the U.S. state of Florida, just outside Tampa. It opened in 1926 under the name Tampa Downs. The first of many names, the racetrack was well known as Sunshine Park and Florida Downs. The track races from December until May. The 2011-2012 Thoroughbred racing season runs from Dec. 3, 2011-May 6, 2012. The main track is a one mile (1.6 km) dirt oval. The turf course is seven furlongs and includes a quarter mile inner chute. Tampa Bay Downs, which has long been famous as the only Thoroughbred race track on the West Coast of Florida, provides Bay area sports fans with live racing action from December through May. Tampa Bay Downs first opened its doors in 1926 under the name of Tampa Downs and has since amassed a long and colorful history. The founding operation was headed by Ohio investor Harvey Mayers and Kentucky Colonel Matt J. Winn. In 1943, the United States Army took over the track for use as a training facility. In 1946 the track was renamed Sunshine Park and entered the modern era with the installation of an electric starting gate, photo finish and electric tote
    7.67
    3 votes
    89
    Canterbury Park

    Canterbury Park

    Canterbury Park is a horse racing track located in Shakopee, Minnesota, USA. It runs a meet that consists of 62 racing days from early May to Labor Day, generally holding scheduled races Thursday through Sunday, with racing added on several holidays throughout the meet. The track itself features a one mile oval dirt track and a seven furlong turf course. Outside seating is available along with several indoor seating options. The track runs multiple food stands and bars throughout the building and simulcast betting is also offered. Canterbury Park has hosted the Claiming Crown of horse racing for all but three years since its inception in 1999. The park also includes a card club. A two-week series of poker tournaments is held each fall at Canterbury Park. The inaugural Mystic Lake Derby, offering the largest purse at the track since 1991, was run on July 28, 2012. The race was won by the 3-year-old Hammers Terror in a time of 1:37.18 over the one mile turf event. Canterbury Downs was founded by Walter Brooks Fields, Jr., and other investors. According to David Miller of the Daily Racing Form, "Fields, along with his nephew Brooks Hauser, formed Minnesota Racetrack Inc. after a
    10.00
    1 votes
    90

    Narragansett Race Track

    Narragansett Park was an American race track for Thoroughbred horse racing in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. On May 18, 1934 a special Rhode Island election was held, where by a 4-1 margin, parimutuel wagering was made legal. Walter E. O'Hara formed the Narragansett Racing Association and was named president and manager. James Dooley (judge) was named Racing Secretary, while being acknowledged as the controlling interest. Previously, the Association had purchased the What Cheer Airport after the State of Rhode Island had picked a Warwick, Rhode Island location for the new official state airport. The former landing strip was on a tract of land just south of historic Slater Park and on an elevated plain west of the Ten Mile River. At the time, the river had been dammed downstream to form a reservoir for the East Providence, Rhode Island water supply. On June 2, 1,800 laborers were put to work on the site which was served by the New Haven Railroad, and straddled the Pawtucket/East Providence line. Building supplies came in via railroad on a regular basis. By the end of July, after around the clock work, Narragansett Park was prepared to open for business. 22 barns with stalls that could
    10.00
    1 votes
    91
    Newton Abbot Racecourse

    Newton Abbot Racecourse

    Newton Abbot Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located on the north bank of the River Teign in the parishes of Kingsteignton and Teigngrace just north of Newton Abbot, Devon, England. The course is a tight flat left-handed oval of about 1 mile 1 furlong. There are seven fences to a circuit and a very short run in. The course was first established in 1866 when the 91-acre (370,000 m) site was purchased. The main grandstand was built in 1969 and opened by the Queen Mother, while the corporate facilities were opened in 1990. The racecourse has a variety of corporate meeting, conference rooms, suites and private boxes as well as cafeterias, bars and two restaurants: 'The Winning Post' and 'The Paddock'. Many of the rooms have views across the racecourse, whilst there is parking in and around the venue for 5,000 cars. The racecourse holds monthly car boot sales and regular antiques fairs. Ladies Day is held in June and there are a series of evening races. In the 1970s and 80's there was greyhound racing at the racecourse in the evenings, following the closure of the track in Kingskerswell. No totalisator was operated, but there were a few track-side bookmakers.
    10.00
    1 votes
    92

    The Red Mile

    The Red Mile is a horse racing track located in Lexington, Kentucky, United States. The track hosts harness racing, a type of horse racing in which the horses must pull two-wheeled carts called sulkies while racing. It is one of harness racing's most famous tracks and is located in the heart of the Bluegrass region, an area of Kentucky famous for horse breeding and racing. The race track itself is one mile long and made of red clay. From this, it is obvious to see how the name originated. In addition to the track, The Red Mile features a two-story clubhouse, a round barn, and a park. The clubhouse is often used for weddings, parties, and other gatherings. The Tattersalls area can accommodate large groups and is often used for horse sales. The track was founded on September 28th, 1875 and was sponsored by the Kentucky Trotting Horse Breeders Association. Attendance to the opening races was minimal because the track had not been advertised. Once newspapers published articles about the new track, attendance picked up. The track is the second-oldest harness racing track in the world and the oldest horse racing track in Lexington.
    10.00
    1 votes
    93
    Wetherby Racecourse

    Wetherby Racecourse

    Wetherby Racecourse is a National Hunt racecourse situated near the market town of Wetherby in West Yorkshire, England, located 12 miles (19 km) from Leeds city centre. The Racecourse is located on the B1224 York Road, directly adjacent to the A1(M). It is situated opposite Wetherby (HM Prison). There are new access roads between North and East Wetherby and the A1(M). The racecourse can also be accessed from Walton Road at the rear of the stands. Horse racing in Wetherby was first took place on Scaur Bank (now officially known as King George V playing fields although still most commonly referred to as 'Scaur Bank' or 'The Ings'). In 1891 racing moved to a new site situated off York Road. From the 1920s to the 1950s the racecourse was served by Wetherby Racecourse railway station. In the 1930s the first terraces were erected, a new two tier stand was erected adjacent to this in the 1970s and then in 1999 the new Millennium Stand was opened, providing the racecourse with executive banqueting and conference facilities. Up until 1963, Racecourse Specials ran to Wetherby railway station from Bradford Interchange on racedays. As the station on York Road had closed many years before, for
    10.00
    1 votes
    94

    Club Hípico de Concepción

    Club Hipico de Concepcion, also called the Mediocamino, is a Thoroughbred race track in Hualpen near Concepcion in the Bio-Bio Region of Chile. It features a right-handed nine-furlong dirt track. Currently, no major races are run at the Mediocamino. Four-time American Champion jockey Jose Santos, a native of Concepcion, started his career at the track.
    6.50
    4 votes
    95

    Leicester Racecourse

    Leicester Racecourse is a horse-racing course in Oadby, Leicestershire, England. The course is oval shaped and nearly 2 miles in extent. It was opened ante 1773. The course hosts both forms of British horse racing event: National Hunt, in which the horses race over fences or over hurdles, and Flat racing, in which the horses run an unobstructed distance. Prior to the 2009/10 National Hunt season, the open ditch, which was jumped as the fourth last fence, was moved to the home straight. The home straight now consists of four fences, with the open ditch now taken as the third last fence.
    8.50
    2 votes
    96

    Curragh Racecourse

    The Curragh Racecourse, usually abbreviated to The Curragh, is Ireland's most important Thoroughbred race track. It is situated on the Curragh plain near Newbridge, County Kildare, Ireland. The name "Curragh" comes from the Irish (Gaeilge) word Cuirreach, meaning "racecourse". The first recorded race on the plain took place in 1727, but it was used for races before then. The first Derby was held in 1866, and in 1868 the Curragh was officially declared a horse racing and training facility by act of parliament. The course is right-handed, about two miles long and horseshoe-shaped. Races up to six furlongs are run on a straight course. Additionally there are several training facilities on the site. The Curragh offers the highest purses and highest quality level of Flat racing in Ireland. In 2007, 10 of Ireland's 12 Group One races will be held at the track. All 5 Irish classics are run at The Curragh. Curragh Racecourse railway station opened in 1875, but finally closed on 7 March 1977.
    7.33
    3 votes
    97
    Hippodrome de Vincennes

    Hippodrome de Vincennes

    The Hippodrome de Vincennes is located in Paris, France. It is used for horse racing. It has a capacity of 60,000. It was created in 1863 and rebuilt in 1879, after being destroyed in the 1870 War. It has been used for concerts as well, hosting:
    7.33
    3 votes
    98

    Polo Park Racetrack

    The Polo Park Racetrack was a Canadian horse racing facility in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Considered one of the finest racetracks in Western Canada, it was built by Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame inductee R. James Speers. The six furlong track opened in 1925 under the charter of the Winnipeg Jockey Club and the charter of St. Vital Agricultural Society in Winnipeg, Manitoba. At the same time, James Speers founded the Prairie Thoroughbred Breeders' Association to promote a breeding industry in Western Canada. In 1930 he created the Canadian Derby, a premier race for Canadian-bred three-year old Thoroughbreds hosted by Polo Park Racetrack until its closure in 1956. In the winter the racetrack constructed two large toboggan slides, which operated in each direction. James Speers acquired land to build what would become Assiniboia Downs and granted an option on the Polo Park lands to real estate developers who wished to build a shopping centre on the site. Speers died in July 1955 and Polo Park Racetrack closed at the end of the 1956 racing season; the new mall opened in 1959. Winnipeg did not have a racing meet in 1957, but Assiniboia Downs opened in June 1958 and racing continued.
    7.33
    3 votes
    99
    Rideau Carleton Raceway

    Rideau Carleton Raceway

    Rideau Carleton Raceway is a Canadian horse racing and gambling complex located at Ottawa, Ontario. The facility began operation in 1962 and specialises in standardbred harness racing. In 2000, the venue introduced slot machines, under the authority of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation which were expected to draw annual revenue of $130 million. The site includes a restaurant and hosts musical performances. The Ottawa Swans of the Ontario Australian Football League play their home games out in the middle of the track (2008 to current).
    7.33
    3 votes
    100

    Geelong Racecourse

    The Geelong Racecourse is a major regional horse racing venue in Geelong, Victoria, Australia. The current racecourse dates to 1908. The annual Geelong Cup is held at the course every October, as well as a number of other race meets through the year. The first race meet in Geelong was on May 1 1841, at Corio. Three races were held on the day. The next meet was held at "Airey's Flat" on the banks the Moorabool River near Fyansford. In 1849 a start was made on a proper racecourse, with 727 acres (2.94 km) of land beside the Barwon River at Marshalltown chosen. Situated close to Lake Connewarre, the land was subject to frequent flooding. The Geelong Racing Club was formed in 1866, holding their first meet on January 18 and 19 1866. February 23 1872 saw the first Geelong Cup held at the Marshalltown course, where a new grandstand was opened. A railway branch line was provided to the course in 1878. In 1907 it was decided to relocate the Geelong Racecourse and Geelong Showgrounds to their current site on Breakwater Road, East Geelong. The first race meet was held there on March 1908, with the first Geelong Racing Club meet being held there on December 12 1908. The Geelong Racecourse
    6.25
    4 votes
    101
    Harrah's Chester

    Harrah's Chester

    Harrah's Philadelphia Casino & Racetrack is a racino on the Chester, Pennsylvania waterfront. The track's first harness racing season opened on September 10, 2006. Wagering is available on live horse races from April 23 to November 23 on Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday, and some Fridays; or via simulcast from other racetracks all year round. The .625 miles (1.006 km) racetrack has a limestone-based surface. The midpoint of 1-mile (1.6 km) races comes on a bridge that hangs over the Delaware River and provides a view of freight ships passing by. Because horses can be brought in on the river, Harrah's is a ship-in facility, meaning that no horses are stabled on-track. Its paddock can hold 131 horses on race day. The casino consists of 2,900 slot machines, 100,000 square feet (9,300 m) of gaming space, and a 14,000-square-foot (1,300 m) event center. It began offering live table games on July 18, 2010. On September 27, 2006, the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board gave Harrah's Chester its slots license. The racino opened on January 22, 2007, one day earlier than anticipated. Catania Engineering Associates performed the site design for this project. In May 2012, Harrah's Chester changed its
    6.25
    4 votes
    102

    Garrison Savannah

    The Garrison Savannah in the country of Barbados, is a horse racing venue located within the Garrison Historic Area, just outside of the capital-city Bridgetown. A clockwise grass course, the Garrison Savannah is known internationally for the annual Barbados Gold Cup for Thoroughbreds which takes place on the six furlong track around the perimeter of the green. The racetrack also is host to the annual Barbados Triple Crown series.
    7.00
    3 votes
    103

    Harold Park Paceway

    Harold Park Paceway was a harness racing track in Glebe, New South Wales. It was a half-mile track (804.5 metres) but was just 739m in circumference until some changes in recent years. Races were run over distances of 1,760m, 2,160m, 2,565m and the occasional 2,965m event during the 120 years that it was in use. Founded in 1902, the course was first known as Forest Lodge, and for the first meeting there were five events with total prize money of ninety-nine sovereigns. Just prior to the turn of the 20th century, and before meetings commenced at Forest Lodge, the present Harold Park course, trotting and pacing was confined primarily to match races between enthusiasts without any serious attempt at organisation. Following some preliminary discussions, thirty-three of the sport's keenest supporters met on 4 June 1902 at the saddlery shop of J. McGrath, a well-known harness maker of the day. Those present at the meeting raised the sum of 19 pounds 17 shillings and 6 pence to launch the proposed Club. The general contribution was 2/6 per person, while the maximum donation was 10 guineas by Mr. J.A. Buckland, owner of the famous horse "Fritz." The Club was incorporated on 10 October
    7.00
    3 votes
    104
    Washington Park Race Track

    Washington Park Race Track

    Washington Park Race Track was a popular horse racing venue in the Chicago metropolitan area from 1884 until 1977. It had two locations during its existence. It was first situated in what is the current location of the Washington Park Subdivision of the Woodlawn community area of Chicago in Cook County, Illinois, United States. This is located immediately south of both the current Washington Park community area and Washington Park. The track was later relocated to Homewood, Illinois, which is also in Cook County. The original track and its accompanying Jockey Club were social draws in the late 19th century, but modern developments and changes in the law led to the decline of both. In its prime, the track was an especially important social gathering place on opening day and the day of the American Derby, which ranked as one of horse racing's highest purses. The Jockey club, designed by Solon Spencer Beman, hosted a social gathering led by General Philip Sheridan who was an early leader of the track and club. The track was closed and reopened according to the contemporary state and local laws on gambling and eventually waned in popularity and social importance. Over the years,
    7.00
    3 votes
    105

    Newmarket Racecourse

    The town of Newmarket, in Suffolk, England, is the headquarters of British horseracing, home to the largest cluster of training yards in the country and many key horse racing organisations. Newmarket Racecourse has two courses - the Rowley Mile Course and the July Course. Both are wide, galloping tracks used for Flat racing only. Between them they host 8 of British racing's 32 annual Group 1 races. The Rowley Mile Course has 1 mile 2 furlong (2 km) straight with minor undulations towards 'The Bushes', two furlongs (400 m) out. The penultimate furlong (200 m) is downhill and the last is uphill, forming 'The Dip'. Races beyond the distance of 1 m 2f start on the 'Cesarewitch' or 'Beacon' course which turns right-handed into the straight. The July Course has a 1 mile (1600 m) straight, known as 'The Bunbury Mile'. After 2 furlongs (400 m), there is a long downhill stretch before the uphill furlong (200 m) to the finish. This course also uses the 'Cesarewitch/Beacon' course for longer distances, again turning right into the straight. The Rowley Mile is used for racing in the Spring and Autumn, while the July Course is used in Summer. The Rowley Mile has a grass strip used by light
    6.00
    4 votes
    106

    Exeter Racecourse

    Exeter Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located near the city of Exeter, Devon, England. Locally it is known as Haldon racecourse because of its location on top of the Haldon Hills. Until the early 1990s it was officially known as Devon and Exeter. On 1 November 2005 the famous racehorse Best Mate died here of a suspected heart attack whilst competing in the William Hill Haldon Gold Cup.
    8.00
    2 votes
    107
    Nakayama Racecourse

    Nakayama Racecourse

    Nakayama Racecourse (中山競馬場, Nakayama-keibajō) is located in Funabashi, Chiba, Japan. It is used for horse racing. It has a capacity of 165,676. It was built in 1990. It has 15,944 seats. Nakayama Race Course has two grass courses, a dirt course, and a jump course. The turf's outer oval (外回り, sotomawari) measures 1840m (1 1/8 miles + 97 feet) with a 1600m and a 2200m chute, and the inner oval (内回り, uchimawari) measures 1667m (1 mile + 189 feet) with a 1400m chute. Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), the "B Course" setting (rail out 3 meters), or the "C Course" setting (rail out 7 meters). 1000m, 1400m, 1800m, 2000m, 2500m and 3600m races run on the inner oval, while 1200m, 1600m, 2200m, 2600m and 4000m races run on the outer oval. 3200m races run on the outer oval first, then the inner oval. The dirt course measures 1493 meters (7/8 mile + 278 feet), with a 1200m chute. Source: JAIR, Nakayama Racecourse, http://www.japanracing.jp/course/j02.html, retrieved 2007-02-26
    8.00
    2 votes
    108
    Newcastle Racecourse

    Newcastle Racecourse

    Newcastle Racecourse is a horse racing course located at Gosforth Park near Newcastle upon Tyne, England, owned by Northern Racing. It stages both flat and National Hunt racing, with its biggest meeting being the Northumberland Plate held annually in June. Horseracing began in the north east over 350 years ago, beginning in Killingworth in the early 17th century. The Town Moor hosted the first recorded Northumberland Plate in 1833 and did so until 1881 when the race transferred to High Gosforth Park. 1882 saw the first running of the Plate at Gosforth Park with a new flat and chase course, new stand and stabling for 100 horses. In April, 2002 the Scottish businessman David Williamson joined Newcastle Racecourse as managing director and during a six year period he transformed their fortunes and helped boost turnover from £2.5m to £6.5m. The Northumberland Plate weekend now brings in £30m to the regional economy and he also introduced Ladies' Day which now attracts over 15,000 racegoers. In April, 2008 he was headhunted by Newcastle United and appointed Executive Director (Operations). Williamson was replaced by Mark Spincer. There are currently plans to invest £25-million in new
    8.00
    2 votes
    109
    Pune Race Course

    Pune Race Course

    Pune Race Course is a racecourse located in Pune Cantonment, western India. Built in 1830, it covers 118.5 acres (48.0 ha). The land is controlled by the Indian Army. Additional stabling for the horses is at Empress Gardens, 1 kilometre (0.62 mi) from the course. The racing season runs from July to October and includes the Pune Derby, the RWITC Invitational, the Independence Cup and the Southern Command Cup. It is managed by Royal Western India Turf Club.
    8.00
    2 votes
    110
    Ruidoso Downs Race Track

    Ruidoso Downs Race Track

    Ruidoso Downs is a horse racing track in Ruidoso Downs, New Mexico. The track hosts both thoroughbred and quarter horse racing, notably the All American Futurity, the richest race in quarter horse racing.
    8.00
    2 votes
    111

    Thistledown

    Thistledown is a thoroughbred race track in North Randall, Ohio at the outskirts of the city of Cleveland. It is owned by Caesars Entertainment Corporation. The track came under the regulation of the Ohio Racing Commission in 1931 when it was formed. The track is the home of the Ohio Derby, the only graded stakes race in Ohio. The track races under the Ohio 7/7 Program which means that live racing is held at two locations in the state at the same time. During the summer Thistledown races seven races on a card and River Downs races the other seven. In September, Beulah Park takes over for River Downs. Ohio racing is dark January to March. The track has declined in recent years due to summertime competition and the lack of slot machines that neighboring tracks have. In 2007, Thistledown's parent company, Magna Entertainment, announced that the racetrack was for sale. As a result of staggering losses in which Magna Entertainment reported net losses of $87.4 million in 2006, $105.3 million in 2005 and $95.6 million in 2004, and has an accumulated deficit of $393.8 million as of March 31, 2007, Magna Entertainment stated: "Accordingly, the company's ability to continue as a going
    8.00
    2 votes
    112
    York Racecourse

    York Racecourse

    York Racecourse is a horse racing track in the southwest of the city of York in North Yorkshire, England with a spectator capacity of 60,000. Located next to the former Terry's of York factory The Chocolate Works, the most famous race to be held at York on an annual basis is the Ebor Handicap, which is run during the Ebor Festival meeting in August. The course also stages three of the UK's 31 Group One races, the International Stakes, the Nunthorpe Stakes and the Yorkshire Oaks. In 2005, York Racecourse was host to the Ascot Royal Meeting, including the Ascot Gold Cup, due to its usual home at Ascot Racecourse being closed for a £185 million redevelopment. The track is situated on the Knavesmire, in the southwest of the City of York and on race days has its own radio station 'York Raceday Radio' (1602 kHz, medium wave) which can be picked up to 10 miles from the course. The track won the Racecourse of the Year title in 2003 and came out on top in The Times newspaper survey of all Britain’s racecourses.
    8.00
    2 votes
    113
    Åby Racetrack

    Åby Racetrack

    Åby Racetrack (Swedish: Åbytravet) is a horse racing track located in Mölndal, 10 km south of Gothenburg, Sweden. Åby was opened in 1936 as a track for harness racing as well as thoroughbred racing. Since October 1976, the track has been dedicated to harness racing solely. Åby is the second biggest track for harness racing in Sweden. The length of the track is 1,000 meters.
    9.00
    1 votes
    114
    Bay Meadows

    Bay Meadows

    Bay Meadows was a horse racing track in San Mateo, California, in the San Francisco Bay Area in the United States. Built on the site of an old airfield, Bay Meadows Racecourse was the longest continually operating thoroughbred racetrack in California, having been founded on November 13, 1934 until its closure in August 2008. The innovative William P. Kyne introduced pari-mutuel wagering, the popular Daily Double, the first all-enclosed starting gate, the totalizator board and the photo-finish camera at Bay Meadows. Prior to the track's closure, the Bay Meadows Handicap had been the longest continually run stakes event in California, having been started in 1934. Seabiscuit won this race twice: 1937 and 1938. The track was allowed to remain open during World War II because of its agreement to give 92% of its profits towards the war effort. The track generated more than $4 million for War Relief projects during the war years. Its ability to run during the war accounts for its status as the longest continually operating US racetrack. In 1945, the first racehorse to be transported by plane, El Lobo, was set down in the parking lot. In 1948, the eventual Hall of Fame jockey, Bill
    9.00
    1 votes
    115
    Chantilly Racecourse

    Chantilly Racecourse

    Chantilly Racecourse (In French: "Hippodrome de Chantilly") is a Thoroughbred turf racecourse for flat racing in Chantilly, Oise, France, about 50 kilometres (31 mi) north of the centre of the city of Paris. Chantilly Racecourse is located in the country's main horse training area on 65 hectares next to the Chantilly Forest. A right-handed course, it was built with interlocking tracks. The main course is 2,400 metres long, with another at 2,150 metres, plus a round course adaptable from 1,400 to 2,400 metres. The first race card at Chantilly was held on May 15, 1834 and its existing grandstand was built in 1879 by the famed architect Honore Daumet, who also did the renovations to the nearby Chateau de Chantilly. The racecourse was constructed abutting the existing Great Stables (French:Grandes Écuries), built in 1719 by estate owner, Louis Henri, Duc de Bourbon, Prince of Condé. Designed by the architect Jean Aubert, the mammoth 186-meter-long stable is considered the most beautiful in the world. In 1886, the Duc d'Aumale donated the racecourse to the Institut de France. In 1982, the Living Museum of the Horse was created as part of the stables which was opened to the public. In
    9.00
    1 votes
    116

    Northlands Park

    Northlands Park is the "Alberta A circuit" horse racing track at Northlands in Edmonton, Alberta. The horse racing season generally consists of a spring harness (Standardbred) meet from February/March, a Thoroughbred meet from May/June to September/October and a fall harness meet to mid-December. Northlands Park (formerly Northlands Spectrum) is the building name for the grandstand. There are three dining areas on the second floor. Colours is the main dining room overlooking the race track and has a seating capacity of 700. Uplinks Theatre is the simulcast restaurant area and features 6 projection televisions and up to 26 different simulcast race broadcasts from North American tracks and Sha Tin in Hong Kong. Playbook Lounge is open limited hours and is available for private functions, sports broadcast events (27 televisions) and private parties. There are two other concessions on the second floor - Rock's and The Deli - that are open during live horse racing. The Slots at Northlands Park is the main-floor slot machine gaming room and features Las Vegas-style slot machines and VLTs and has two dining areas - the Slot Lounge and the Slot Grill. The Paddock Theatre hosts the post
    9.00
    1 votes
    117

    Beirut Hippodrome

    Beirut, the capital of Lebanon, is home to two hippodromes, a historic one from the Roman era and a modern one that was built in the late nineteenth century. The Roman Hippodrome, which occupies 3500 m² near the Maghen Abraham Synagogue in Wadi Abu Jamil, the historic, Jewish quarter of Beirut, was discovered in 1988. The Roman Hippodrome of Beirut was the second to be discovered in Lebanon after the Tyre Hippodrome, making Lebanon home to two of the five known Roman hippodromes in the Levant, the other three being in Caesarea in Israel, Jerash in Jordan, and Bosra in Syria. The Roman Hippodrome of Beirut is considered to have been the grandest of the five, having amphitheaters that are several meters high and a race track, which is more than 90 meters long. In 2009, Culture Minister Tamam Salam, had the site listed officially in the general inventory of historic buildings, ruling that it should be preserved in situ and turned into a tourist landmark. According to an article appearing in the French daily, L’Orient le Jour, Gaby Layoun, the Culture Minister at the time, approved in March of 2012 plans for a luxury residential complex to be built over the ruins of Beirut’s Roman
    5.00
    5 votes
    118

    Bath Racecourse

    Bath Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Bath, Somerset, owned by Northern Racing. The racecourse is a left-handed oval track of 1 mile 4 furlongs and 25 yards, with a run-in of nearly half-a-mile. At 780 feet (238 m) above sea level Bath is Britain’s highest flat racecourse, although National Hunt courses Hexham and Exeter are higher. During World War II it was used as a landing field by the Royal Air Force and named RAF North Stoke.
    6.67
    3 votes
    119

    Churchill Downs

    Churchill Downs, located on Central Avenue in south Louisville, Kentucky, United States, is a Thoroughbred racetrack most famous for hosting the Kentucky Derby annually. It officially opened in 1875, and held the first Kentucky Derby and the first Kentucky Oaks in the same year. Churchill Downs has also hosted the renowned Breeders' Cup on eight occasions, most recently in 2011. Churchill Downs Incorporated owns and operates the racetrack. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Churchill Downs was ranked number 5 on this list. The track is named for John and Henry Churchill, who leased 80 acres (320,000 m²) of land to their nephew, Colonel Meriwether Lewis Clark, Jr. (grandson of explorer William Clark). Clark was president of the Louisville Jockey Club and Driving Park Association, which formed in 1874. His father-in-law, Richard Ten Broeck, was an accomplished horse breeder and trainer, and introduced Clark to horse racing, attending the English Derby at Epsom Downs outside London. Churchill Downs filled a void in Louisville left by the closing of Oakland and Woodlawn, two earlier race
    6.67
    3 votes
    120

    Delaware Park

    Delaware Park (also known as DelPark) is an American horse racing track, casino, and golf course in Stanton, Delaware. It is located just outside the city of Wilmington, and about thirty miles from Philadelphia. William duPont, Jr. a designer of twenty-three racing courses, designed and built Delaware Park Racetrack in partnership with Donald P. Ross. Phillip T. Harris of Media, PA., was hired as the architectural engineer. The facility opened on June 26, 1937 and today is the only thoroughbred horse racing track in the state of Delaware. Races are run from April to November. Race purses have increased in recent years owing to increasing casino revenues. With the United States national average horse racing purse of $20,762 in 2005, the average 2005 purse for DelPark of $30,650 has helped to attract more talented contenders and more first-time competitors to the venue for the 2005 and 2006 racing seasons. The 2005 average purse for DelPark placed Delaware fifth among states of the United States; the first rank for average purse was held by New York at $41,229 per race. In recent years, near-Triple Crown winner Afleet Alex and Kentucky Derby winner Barbaro, both won their career
    6.67
    3 votes
    121

    Meadowlands Racetrack

    The Meadowlands Racetrack is a horse racing track at the Meadowlands Sports Complex in East Rutherford, New Jersey, United States. The track hosts both thoroughbred racing and harness racing. It is known popularly in the region as "The Big M." Opened in the mid 1970s, Meadowlands Racetrack held its first-ever harness race on September 1, 1976 while thoroughbred racing commenced on September 6, 1977. With the exception of the opening season of 1976, autumn has been dedicated to the thoroughbreds, while the rest of the year features standardbreds, or harness horses. The advertising campaign that accompanied the start of thoroughbred racing at the Meadowlands in 1977 was highly sophisticated and well-received, and was chiefly noted for its use of the song "Racing With The Moon," originally popularized in 1941 by bandleader Vaughn Monroe (alluding to the fact that the racing was to be conducted at night - a circumstance that still pertains, although afternoon programs during long holiday weekends are occasionally put on). More recent advertising campaigns have included a direct and catchy approach to attending live racing -- "It's All About Being Here - The Meadowlands!" With its
    6.67
    3 votes
    122

    Down Royal

    Down Royal is a horse racing venue near Lisburn in Northern Ireland. The most valuable race run there is the JNwine.com Champion Chase, run at the Northern Ireland Festival of racing in November. The most valuable flat race to be run there annually is the Ulster Derby. Although actually in the United Kingdom, racing at Down Royal comes under the authority of Horse Racing Ireland as horse-racing in the British Isles is divided on a Great Britain / All-Ireland basis.
    5.75
    4 votes
    123

    Sandown Racecourse

    Sandown Racecourse is one of the four horse racing venues located in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Built for the Victoria Amateur Turf Club, it is the only metropolitan racecourse built in the 20th century and was opened before a crowd of 52,000, in June 1965. Sandown Racecourse is situated 25 kilometres from the Melbourne CBD on the Princes Highway in the suburb of Springvale in the City of Greater Dandenong. The original course was a turfed oval shape, 1892 metres in circumference and 30 metres wide, with sweeping cambered turns and an uphill home straight of 407 metres. With the increase in the number of overseas horses being attracted to the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival a Quarantine Centre was established at Sandown Racecourse and used for the first time in 1997. The Sandown Racecourse also features a motor racing circuit on the outside of the racecourse, referred to as Sandown Raceway. In October 2001, the Melbourne Racing Club commenced the redevelopment of Sandown Racecourse. This consisted of an additional 30 metre wide home turn and widening of the main straight from 30 to 45 metres, and widening of the turn out of the straight from 30 to 45 metres. This created two
    5.75
    4 votes
    124
    Saratoga Race Course

    Saratoga Race Course

    Saratoga Race Course is a Thoroughbred horse racing track in Saratoga Springs, New York, United States. It opened on August 3, 1863, and is the oldest organized sporting venue of any kind in the United States. It is typically open for racing from late July through early September. John Hunter, who became the first chairman of The Jockey Club, and William R. Travers built Saratoga Race Course. The original track was built across Union Avenue from the present Saratoga Race Course at the current location of the Oklahoma Track (training track originally named Horse Haven), which opened the following year. Since 1864 the track has been the site of the Travers Stakes, the oldest major thoroughbred horse race in the United States, which is the main draw of the annual summer race meeting. The Saratoga meet originally consisted of only four days, but over time was lengthened, and for many years, the meet lasted for four weeks. In the 1990s it was lengthened to five weeks. Today it is a six-week meeting ending on Labor Day. In 2009, The New York Racing Association (NYRA) extended the 2010 racing meet by 4 days to a total of 40 days of racing during each meet from then forward. From 1943 to
    5.75
    4 votes
    125
    Ascot Racecourse

    Ascot Racecourse

    Ascot Racecourse ( /ˈæskət/) is a famous English racecourse, located in the small town of Ascot, Berkshire, used for thoroughbred horse racing. It is one of the leading racecourses in the United Kingdom, hosting 9 of the UK's 32 annual Group 1 races. The course is closely associated with the British Royal Family, being approximately six miles from Windsor Castle. It is owned by Ascot Racecourse Ltd. Ascot today stages twenty-six days of Flat racing over the course of the year, comprising eighteen Flat meetings held between the months of May and October inclusive. It also stages important jump racing throughout the winter months. The Royal Meeting, held in June, remains a major draw, the highlight being the Gold Cup. The most prestigious race is the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes run over the course in July. Ascot Racecourse was founded in 1711 by Queen Anne. The first race, "Her Majesty's Plate", with a purse of 100 guineas, was held on 11 August 1711. Seven horses competed, each carrying a weight of 12 stones (76 kg). This first race comprised three separate four-mile (6437 m) heats. In 1813 Parliament passed an act to ensure that the grounds would remain a public
    7.50
    2 votes
    126

    Aspendale Racecourse

    Aspendale Racecourse or Aspendale Park Racecourse was a horse racing and motor racing track located at Aspendale, Victoria, Australia. Aspendale Racecourse opened on 14 April 1891. It was established by James Robert Crooke, horse trainer, who named the course after Aspen, one of his best horses who won the Newmarket Handicap twice, in 1880 and 1881. Garden landscaping was designed by William Guilfoyle, who was the director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne. The track was situated east of the current Aspendale railway station and is believed to have been one mile (1.6 km) in length. Robert Crooke was also a motoring enthusiast. In 1904, the Royal Automobile Club of Victoria held its first automobile demonstration at Aspendale Park. In 1906 a motor raceway was constructed, Australia’s "first commercial track", although only one meeting was ever held and the circuit fell into disuse. A banked track was constructed in 1923, but it had fallen into disuse again by 1930. The circuit was briefly revived again after the Depression but it had stopped again prior to World War II. The last recorded horse race at Aspendale Park was on 29 July 1931. Motor racing continued until the late
    7.50
    2 votes
    127

    Carlisle Racecourse

    Carlisle Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located at Blackwell village, near Carlisle, Cumbria, England. The course has been on its present site since 1904, when it moved there from another location near Carlisle. The course is 1m 4f in circumference, right handed, and hosts flat racing in the summer and National Hunt racing over the winter months. The last half mile is up a steep incline. The going can get very heavy in the winter. History was made on July 2, 1929 when the newly formed Totalisator Board operated their pool betting system for the first time on a British racecourse at Carlisle.
    7.50
    2 votes
    128

    El Nuevo Comandante

    El Nuevo Comandante ("The New Commander"), renamed Hipodromo Camarero after a change of ownership in 2006, is a horse racing building located in Canóvanas, Puerto Rico, to the east of San Juan and Carolina. It is about a fifteen minute drive from Carolina's Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, and 25 minutes east from the Isla Verde hotel area. El Nuevo Comandante was built in 1976,and opened on October 31, 1976, to substitute the original "El Comandante" building, which had been located in Carolina, from January 1957 to mid October 1976. It has become arguably the most important horse racing complex in the island, holding horse races every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. El Nuevo Comandante features a betting window, in which players can try their luck at different games, such as "El Pool Pote" and others. The top award a player can win at El Nuevo Comandante is one million dollars, but this award has been claimed only once in history. In addition to the betting windows at El Nuevo Comandante, the sports complex has a link of betting agencies throughout Puerto Rico. These are called "agencias hipicas", and people can go there to place bets as well. Races at "El
    7.50
    2 votes
    129

    Hakodate Racecourse

    Hakodate Racecourse (函館競馬場, Hakodate-keibajō) is a horse racing track in Hakodate, Japan, built in 1896. During the period between 2008 and 2009, Hakodate Racecourse was closed for renovation and refurbishment of the grandstand. Work was completed in June 2010. As part of this refurbishment, Mitsubishi Electric installed a Diamond Vision Screen. Races that were supposed to be held at Hakodate during that period were moved to Sapporo Racecourse. Hakodate Racecourse has both a grass course, and a dirt course. 1000m, 1200m, 1700m, 1800m, 2000m, and 2600m races are run on the Main turf Course. 1000m, 1700m, and 2400m races run on the dirt oval.
    7.50
    2 votes
    130

    Hipodromo de Las Americas

    Hipódromo de las Américas is a thoroughbred and quarter-horse race track in Mexico City, Mexico that had its inaugural meeting on March 6, 1943. It is located approximately four and one-half miles from the downtown district, on Lomas de Sotelo, Mexico City. It is operated by Grupo CIE. Facilities include the original club-house and grandstand, with seating for 20,000 persons, as well a stable area which can accommodate 1700 horses. It is the home of the Mexican Derby, and many prominent jockeys have ridden there over the years.
    7.50
    2 votes
    131

    Hipódromo de San Isidro

    The Hipódromo de San Isidro is a horse racing track located in San Isidro, Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is owned by the Jockey Club. It was inaugurated on 8 December 1935 and is one of the largest in the Americas. The Hipódromo is located 22 km from Buenos Aires City. It has an area of 1.48 km². The grass track is 2,783 m long and 45 m wide, allowing for thousand-metre races without turns (or 1,400 m using a diagonal). There is an inner sand track, inaugurated in 1994, which measures 2,590 m in length by 31 m in width. The covered surface amounts to 32,000 m² and allows for an attendance of about 100,000 (the highest recorded figure was 102,600 attendants, in 1952). Each December the Hipódromo hosts the Gran Premio Carlos Pellegrini, the most important horse race in Argentina.
    7.50
    2 votes
    132

    Kawartha Speedway

    Kawartha Speedway is a 3/8 mile paved oval located in Fraserville, Ontario, approximately 10 km southwest of Peterborough. The paved track is within the harness racing track, temporary grandstands are brought onto the harness racing tracks surface. In 2006, Kawartha Speedway held the final CASCAR Super Series race before it became the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series in 2007. Since 2004, Kawartha was the host of the CASCAR Super Series finale. Kawartha Speedway held the finale of the inaugural NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Season which was won by Scott Steckly. The following year, Jason Hathaway picked up his first ever win, and in 2009 D.J. Kennington won. In an attempt to raise diminishing car counts all over Southern Ontario, Kawartha Speedway announced a 6 race late model series, split between Kawartha and Capital City Speedway in Stittsville, Ontario. Three events were held at Kawartha and three at the Capital City Speedway. All events were 100 laps with the exception of a July race at Kawartha which was 200 laps, called the ACT Summer Sizzler.
    7.50
    2 votes
    133
    Kokura Racecourse

    Kokura Racecourse

    Kokura Racecourse (小倉競馬場, Kokura-keibajō) is located in Kokura Minami-ku Kitakyushu, Japan. It is used for horse racing. It was built in 1994. It has a capacity of 20,000. It has 1,192 seats. Kokura Racecourse has grass courses and a dirt course. The turf measures 1615m (1 mile + 19 feet). 1000m, 1200m, 1700m, 1800m, 2000m, and 2600m races run on the oval. The dirt course measures 1445 meters (7/8 mile + 310 feet). 1000m, 1700m, and 2400m races run on the oval.
    7.50
    2 votes
    134

    Kolkata Race Course

    Kolkata Race Course in Kolkata, India is one of the largest horse race venues in India. The race course was built in 1820 and was maintained by the Royal Calcutta Turf Club. The races are held from the month of July to September, and again from November to March. The races are usually held on Saturdays, and also on other public holidays.
    7.50
    2 votes
    135

    Mountaineer Race Track & Gaming Resort

    Mountaineer Casino, Racetrack and Resort is a thoroughbred racetrack and casino resort southwest of Chester, West Virginia (Wellsville, Ohio, across the Ohio River is actually closer), owned and operated by MTR Gaming Group. Originally to be known as Waterford Downs, the track's parent company was incorporated in 1937. The effort was led by Al Boyle, president of the Charles Town Races, who named it after his family's ancestral home of Waterford, Ireland. The company's initial public offering was approved in February 1939, with the track expected to open the following September. By August 1940, construction had not begun, but 250 acres of land had been bought or optioned. In 1942, Boyle planned to begin construction of the track, but expected the grandstand to be delayed at least until 1943 by a steel shortage due to World War II. Construction was finally underway by July 1948, with opening scheduled for September 1949. The name was changed to Waterford Park in 1950. Opening day was finally held on May 19, 1951. The track was renamed as Mountaineer Racetrack in 1990. The track was authorized to have slot machines and installed them in 1994. With the revenue that a casino of 3,200
    7.50
    2 votes
    136
    Oriental Park Racetrack

    Oriental Park Racetrack

    Oriental Park Racetrack in Marianao, Havana, Cuba was a thoroughbred horse racing facility operated during the winter months by the Havana-American Jockey Club of Cuba. Founded in 1915, Oriental Park was the only race track in Cuba in the days before Fidel Castro came to power in 1959. In its heyday, American owners brought their horses to race at Oriental Park Racetrack during the winter months, and future Hall of Fame jockeys Laverne Fator rode there in 1918, as did Alfred Robertson in the mid 1920s and the Cuban-born Avelino Gomez. With American racetracks closed, jockey Joe Culmone, contract rider for Brookmeade Stable, won three races at Oriental Park on December 31, 1950, tying Bill Shoemaker for most wins that year by an American jockey. Shoemaker won on the same day at Agua Caliente Racetrack in Tijuana, Mexico. Many American celebrities on vacation or who were performing at the nearby Tropicana Club visited fashionable Oriental Park Racetrack, as did Europeans such as tennis star Suzanne Lenglen. Prominent hotelier John McEntee Bowman, owner of Westchester Country Club in Rye, New York and president of Bowman-Biltmore Hotels Corp., which counted the Seville-Biltmore Hotel
    7.50
    2 votes
    137

    Pontefract Racecourse

    Pontefract Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England. One 'claim to fame' for the racecourse is that it is one of the longest continuous flat racing circuits in the country, at a little short of 2m 1f. This was exceeded when York completed its circuit for the holding of the Royal Ascot festival in 2005, and whilst York remains a 'circuit', there are no races held around the new link; it is therefore open to debate whether Pontefract has retained its status in this regard.
    7.50
    2 votes
    138
    Suffolk Downs

    Suffolk Downs

    Suffolk Downs, a thoroughbred race track in East Boston, Massachusetts, United States opened in 1935. Famous horses that have raced at this track include Seabiscuit, Whirlaway, Funny Cide and Cigar. The MassCap is held there, as well at the annual Hot Dog Safari. The track is a one-mile dirt oval with a seven-furlong inner turf track. The track was founded in 1935 after pari-mutuel wagering was legalized in Massachusetts. The first MassCap was held that year. The track raced through World War II. On 18 August 1966, The Beatles played a concert before approximately 24,000 music fans in the infield of Suffolk Downs. Between 1990 and 1991 there was no racing at Suffolk. In 1992, this was resolved when a deal was brokered between Suffolk Downs and Rockingham Park. In 1995 the Massachusetts Handicap returned from a six-year hiatus with a victory by Cigar. The track is conveniently accessed by public transportation via the Suffolk Downs MBTA subway station on the Blue Line. In 2007, the track had an influx of new ownership, vowing to improve the success and future of Suffolk Downs. In 2008, Suffolk Downs became the first race track in the country to implement a zero-tolerance policy
    7.50
    2 votes
    139

    Hexham Racecourse

    Hexham Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing track located in Hexham, Northumberland, England. Situated 800 feet above sea level at High Yarridge, just south of the town, the course is a left-handed circuit of about one and a half miles with a short uphill climb on the approach to the finishing straight and a run-in of 250 yards. Hexham is a National Hunt course with ten fences for the steeplechasers to negotiate. Its principal race is the Heart of All England Hunter Chase. Hexham is the most northerly National Hunt course in England and its remote position means that no races are held in February.
    5.50
    4 votes
    140

    Dover Downs

    Dover Downs Gaming & Entertainment (NYSE: DDE) owns Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, a hotel and casino that has a racing facility that holds harness horse racing on a .625 miles (1.006 km) track and NASCAR events on a 1 mile (1.6 km) concrete surface. The Sprint Cup track is now known as Dover International Speedway, and the Dover Downs name is used for horse racing events. The owner of the facility, Dover Downs, is headquartered within the facility housing both tracks. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino features dining, accommodations and conference space. Primary features of Dover Downs Hotel & Casino include a hotel, dining options, over 2,700 slot machines, 40 table games, and the Rollins Center, an 18,000-square-foot (1,700 m) multipurpose ballroom which features entertainment as well as hosting business conferences, conventions and banquets. Opened in autumn 2007, the expanded hotel added 268 additional rooms, including 52 suites, and 11 spa suites for a total of 500 hotel rooms. This makes Dover Downs Hotel & Casino the largest hotel in Delaware. Open in winter 2008, the hotel features Toppers Spa/Salon, a 6,000-square-foot (560 m) luxurious spa for relaxing.
    6.33
    3 votes
    141
    Epsom Downs Racecourse

    Epsom Downs Racecourse

    Epsom Downs is a Grade 1 racecourse near Epsom, Surrey, England. The "downs" referred to in the name are part of the North Downs. The course is best known for hosting the Epsom Derby, the United Kingdom's premier thoroughbred horse race for three-year-old colts and fillies, over a mile and a half (2400m). It also hosts the Epsom Oaks for three-year-old fillies and the Coronation Cup for all ages over the same distance. The first recorded race was held on the Downs in 1661, and racing continued until the summer of 1779 when Edward Smith-Stanley, 12th Earl of Derby, organised a race for himself and his friends to race their three-year-old fillies. He named it the Oaks after his estate. The race became so successful that the following year a new race was added for colts and fillies. In 1784 the course was extended to its current distance of a mile and a half and Tattenham Corner was introduced. Henry Dorling, step-father to cookery writer Mrs Beeton, was the first Clerk to the Course, appointed in 1840. In 1913 the suffragette Emily Davison threw herself in front of King George V's horse Anmer, bringing him down. Davison was badly injured and died four days later. In 1952 the
    6.33
    3 votes
    142
    Laurel Park

    Laurel Park

    Laurel Park is an American thoroughbred racetrack located just outside Laurel, Maryland which opened in 1911. The track is 1 1/8 miles in circumference. Its name was changed to "Laurel Race Course" for several decades until returning to the "Laurel Park" designation in 1994. Laurel Park Racecourse opened October 2, 1911 under the direction of the Laurel Four County Fair. In 1914, New York businessmen and prominent horsemen, Philip J. Dwyer and James Butler purchased the track and appointed Matt Winn as the general manager. In 1947, the Maryland Jockey Club, which owned Timonium and Pimlico, purchased Laurel Park from the Butler estate with the idea of shifting the Pimlico meeting to Laurel. After the Maryland General Assembly rejected the idea of replacing Pimlico with Laurel Park, the track was sold to Morris Schapiro who had his youngest son, John D. Schapiro as the track's new president. Laurel was sold to the Schapiros in 1950. From 1950 to 1984, Laurel Park underwent a period of great change. The track was renamed Laurel Race Course and the Washington, D.C. International was introduced at 1½ miles on the turf. In 1953 Laurel opened a new clubhouse and turf club, and in 1957
    6.33
    3 votes
    143

    Ludlow Racecourse

    Ludlow Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located near Ludlow, Shropshire, England. The B4365 crosses the racecourse at three points of the tracks and traffic is stopped when the course is in use. The venue is located between the small villages of Bromfield and Stanton Lacy, just off the A49. The area within the racing tracks is entirely occupied by the Ludlow Golf Club, one of the oldest golf clubs and courses in Shropshire, having been founded in 1889. The course was extensively remodelled by James Braid in 1922. The 18-hole course is 6,277 yards long and is a par 70.
    6.33
    3 votes
    144

    Royal Melbourne Showgrounds

    The Melbourne Showgrounds is located in the inner north-western suburb of Ascot Vale, Victoria, Australia, next door to Flemington Racecourse. Is the home of the annual Royal Melbourne Show, as well as major exhibitions, trade shows, and music concerts. It is commonly used for large music festivals – as of 2010, it plays host to Soundwave, Creamfields, Stereosonic, Raggamuffin Music Festival and was the former home of the Big Day Out (which is now held at the adjacent Flemington Racecourse). Part of it is often leased out during the year. It has also been used to film numerous TV commercials. It also was used on the last show on The Police's Synchronicity Tour, their last world tour, before they re-united briefly to play three concerts for the Amnesty International A Conspiracy of Hope Tour and reuniting in the studio. The 30 acres site at Ascot Vale was given to the National Agricultural Society of Victoria (predecessor of the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria) in 1882. The first Show held the next year and over the next few decades a number of pavilions were erected on the site. During both World War I and World War II the showgrounds were requisitioned for military
    6.33
    3 votes
    145

    Finger Lakes Gaming and Race Track

    Finger Lakes Gaming and Race Track is a thoroughbred horse-racing track and racino located in Farmington in western New York State, approximately 25 miles southeast of Rochester. The facility is about one mile south of New York State Thruway exit 44. Finger Lakes Race Track opened on May 23, 1962 as a thoroughbred horse race track. The race track has gone through several ownership changes and a cycle of successful and near-bankrupt seasons. Famous jockeys that have ridden at Finger Lakes include Angel Cordero, Pat Day, Julie Krone, and Bill Shoemaker. Ross Morton, a well-known race caller, was Finger Lakes' announcer from opening day until his death in February 2008. And Tin Cup Chalice, the first winner of the Big Apple Triple Crown of Racing, made his home at Finger Lakes. Unfortunately, Tin Cup Chalice was killed on April 17, 2009 in a freak accident while training at the track. A colt named Zany bolted and collided with him and both horses died. The track as a seasonal business, holding races from spring to fall, was financially hurt with the advent of Off Track Betting in the 1980s. Finger Lakes rebounded in the 1990s when simulcast racing began. Under this system, patrons
    8.00
    1 votes
    146

    Great Leighs Racecourse

    Great Leighs Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Great Leighs near Chelmsford, Essex, England. When it opened in April 2008 it was the first completely new racecourse in the UK since Taunton opened in 1927. It went into administration the following January, and it is not known if racing will resume. Great Leighs was developed and owned by entrepreneur John Holmes and his son, Jonathan. It aimed to exploit potentially the largest unserved market in British horseracing. Overall there is slightly more than one racecourse per million people in Great Britain, but there is no racecourse in Essex (population >1.6 million) or in east London (formerly part of Essex and with a population >1.5 million) or in the neighbouring county of Hertfordshire (population >1 million). However the course is only 50 miles from Newmarket, the largest racehorse training centre in Britain. The course is laid out as an eight-and-a-half furlong left-handed Polytrack oval, with a two-furlong home straight. The 10,000-capacity grandstand was used at the 2006 Ryder Cup. Great Leighs was originally scheduled to open in October 2006, but the opening was deferred several times. On 20 March 2008
    8.00
    1 votes
    147
    Greenwood Raceway

    Greenwood Raceway

    Greenwood Raceway is a defunct horse racing facility in Toronto. Inaugurated in 1874 as Woodbine Race Course at the foot of Woodbine Avenue and Lake Ontario, it was owned and operated by two gentlemen named Pardee and Howell. Within a few years financial problems resulted in the property reverting to Joseph Duggan, the original land owner and retired innkeeper. In the early 1880s Duggan founded the Ontario Jockey Club (OJC). The facility hosted seasonal harness racing for Standardbred horses and flat racing events for Thoroughbreds. Harness racing dates were transferred from Thorncliffe Park Raceway to Old Woodbine to fill the gap between the spring and fall thoroughbred meets, and the track was known as Greenwood Raceway during the harness meet. The track was at the junction of Kingston Road and Queen Street East, with only a narrow strip of land between it and Lake Ontario. Thoroughbred racing continued at Old Woodbine on a shortened six furlong (1,207 m) track. Harness races were at first conducted on the thoroughbred track, but serious problems with mud (including the starting gate being immobilized) led to the construction of a five-furlong (1006 m) stone dust harness track
    8.00
    1 votes
    148
    Hippodrome de Saint-Cloud

    Hippodrome de Saint-Cloud

    Hippodrome de Saint-Cloud is a grass race course for Thoroughbred flat horse racing opened in 1901 at 1 rue du Camp Canadien in Saint-Cloud near Paris, France. The facilities were built by politician and Thoroughbred owner/breeder Edmond Blanc (1856–1920) in whose honor the Prix Edmond Blanc was established in 1921. The venue was used for some of the polo events for the 1924 Summer Olympics. The Hippodrome de Saint-Cloud is host to a number of important races including the Group One Grand Prix de Saint-Cloud held at the end of June/first week of July each year, and the Critérium de Saint-Cloud run each October. In 1992, the government declared Hippodrome de Saint-Cloud an official Monument historique.
    8.00
    1 votes
    149
    Hippodrome Deauville-La Touques

    Hippodrome Deauville-La Touques

    Hippodrome Deauville-La Touques is a race track for thoroughbred horse racing located in Deauville in the Calvados département, in the Basse-Normandie région of France. Originally called Hippodrome de la Touques, it was named for the Touques River that separates the city of Deauville from Trouville-sur-Mer. It was constructed in 1862 by Charles Auguste Louis Joseph, duc de Morny, the half brother of Louis Napoleon Bonaparte. The countryside around Deauville is the main horse breeding region in France and home to numerous stud farms. Group 1: Group 2: Group 3: Listed:
    8.00
    1 votes
    150
    Jerome Park Racetrack

    Jerome Park Racetrack

    Jerome Park Racetrack was an American thoroughbred horse racing facility. It opened in 1866 in the northwest part of Fordham, Westchester County (now in the Bronx), New York. Built on the old Bathgate estate, and operated by the American Jockey Club, its owner/members were led by financier Leonard W. Jerome and August Belmont, Sr. A luxurious clubhouse was built near a rise that looked over the race course on what was known as "The Bluff". In those days, many would come to the racing park by horse, coach and carriage, or by railroad at Fordham Station, located at the bottom of Fordham Hill and Rose Hill in Old Fordham Village. The first Belmont Stakes, the oldest of the three U.S. Triple Crown races which was named in honor of August Belmont, Sr., was held at Jerome Park Racetrack and continued to be run there until 1890 when it was moved to nearby Morris Park Racecourse. Jerome Park Racetrack was also the home to the Champagne Stakes from its inaugural running in 1867 through 1889 and the Ladies Handicap, created in 1868 and which today is run at Aqueduct Racetrack in Queens and is the oldest stakes race in the United States exclusively for fillies and mares. In the spring of
    8.00
    1 votes
    151
    Lincoln Racecourse

    Lincoln Racecourse

    Lincoln Racecourse is a former horse racing venue to the west of the city of Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England. It was the original location of the Lincoln Handicap. The course closed in 1965 and the race relocated to Doncaster Racecourse. The course was located west of the City of Lincoln. The A57 main road passed between the course and the grandstand. During race meetings, this was closed off and traffic diverted, enabling BBC cameras to follow the leaders of the race at close distance all the way from start to the winning post.
    8.00
    1 votes
    152

    Sam Houston Race Park

    Sam Houston Race Park is a horse racing track located in unincorporated northwest Houston, Texas, United States. The park hosts both Thoroughbred horse racing and American Quarter Horse each year along with Country Music, Rock music, and Classic rock concerts. The park opened on April 24, 1994 and is the first Class 1 Horse Racing venue constructed in Texas. It cost approximately $90 million to construct and is used as a concert venue when races aren't being held. The race park is considered fastest growing race track in America based on attendance over the past year. Sam Houston Race Park's largest attendance was recorded on July 4, 2008 with an attendance of 32,177. The race track hosts two live race meets annually. Thoroughbred horse racing runs from late January till early March. American Quarter Horse races are held from the beginning of March through the middle of May. The rest of the year the park is open for simulcast racing around the United States. Among many others, these are the races Sam Houston Race Park holds each year along with their purses: Along with the 1-mile track & 7-furlong turf course for the horses, Sam Houston Race Park offers 8 bars, 2 restaurants,
    8.00
    1 votes
    153
    Scioto Downs

    Scioto Downs

    Scioto Downs is a horse racing track located in south Columbus, Franklin County, Ohio, in the United States. The track was annexed from Hamilton Township, Franklin County, Ohio in 2012 and operated by MTR Gaming Group. A 117,000-square-foot (10,900 m) casino with 1,700 video lottery terminals was opened on June 1, 2012, making Scioto Downs the first racino to open in Ohio. In addition to horse racing, Scioto Downs also hosted the annual Ohio High School Athletic Association state cross country running championships, which are generally held in late October or early November, from 1985 to 2010. The championships require a fast, moderately flat course - runners run outside the inner stadium to fields and back out, in addition to running several stretches on the inside of the track in the stadium. The meet included Division I, II, and III races for both girls and boys, featuring 950 competitors from 96 teams, and attracted around 10,000 spectators. The introduction of slot machines at Scioto Downs (a move shared by other Ohio racetracks) led to calls to move the championships to another venue, or to suspend gambling on the day of the meet. In August 2011 the OHSAA, which is opposed to
    8.00
    1 votes
    154

    Sedgefield Racecourse

    Sedgefield Racecourse is an English horse racing course located south of the city of Durham, close to the village of Sedgefield, owned by Northern Racing plc. It is a left-handed course, used for jump racing only. The finishing straight is about three furlongs in length, with a steep descent followed by a climb to the winning post after the last fence. There are 18 fixtures in the 2012 season. It is also used as a venue for numerous other indoor and outdoor events, such as weddings and conferences. Racing has been taking place at Sedgefield since at least 1732, but little is known of these early meetings. In 1804 Ralph Lambton, an ancestor of the Earls of Durham, formed a club based at the Hardwicke Arms and Sedgefield became the headquarters of the Ralph Lambton Hunt. The Sedgefield course was part of the Sands Hall Estate, home of the Ord family. Racing may not have been staged every year and it was not until 1846 that officially recognised meetings were held. Until World War I the Sedgefield Hunt staged an annual two day fixture in March. When racing resumed the number of meetings soon increased to three. A new Racecourse Company was founded in 1927, and has seen the fixtures
    8.00
    1 votes
    155

    Ely Racecourse

    Ely Racecourse was a horse racing venue in Cardiff, Wales. Opened in 1855, it held up to 40,000 spectators. In 1895, it hosted the Welsh National. The venue closed on April 27, 1939 . "History of Cardiff Racecourse" by Brian Lee (Cwm Nedd Press)
    7.00
    2 votes
    156

    Hereford Racecourse

    Hereford Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Hereford, Herefordshire, owned by Northern Racing. The course is almost square in shape with a circuit of about a mile-and-a-half. Opened in 1771 the course was greatly modernised in the 1960s, with also in 1966 a photo-finish camera being installed. Having failed to obtain a new lease from the Herefordshire County Council, the racecourse is facing closure at the end of the 2012 season.
    7.00
    2 votes
    157

    Hipódromo Chile

    Hipódromo Chile is a thoroughbred horse race track in the municipality of Independencia, in the Santiago Metropolitan Region of Chile. It is one of two race tracks in Greater Santiago. The track was founded in 1904 by a group of 19 owners, breeders and supporters. It is one of Chile's three main tracks, the others being Club Hipico de Santiago and Valparaiso Sporting Club. Hipodromo Chile features a roughly triangular left-handed dirt track of slightly more than 1 mile (exactly 1.645m). Of the three main race tracks in Chile, it is the only one with a dirt track. Live racing is conducted every Saturday and most Thursdays. As usual for Chile's major tracks, 18 to 20 races on a single raceday are common.
    7.00
    2 votes
    158
    Hyderabad Race Club

    Hyderabad Race Club

    The Hyderabad Race Club is a Thoroughbred Racing Association and the race track is at Malakpet, Hyderabad, India. This race course is considered one of the top race courses in India and to it is the most proliferous race course. Horse racing in Hyderabad was started by the Nizam's in 1868 at Moula-Ali. In those days the races were called Deccan races and later Hyderabad races. In 1886 racing shifted to Malakpet by H.H Nawab Mir Mahboob Ali Khan, Nizam VI as he wanted the race course to be near his palace. Hyderbad Race Club started its operations in 1961 in Secunderabad and shifted to Malakpet in 1968 when the racing was revived under Hyderabad Race Club. Main article: Deccan Derby An annual event, Deccan Derby is held here which attracts the best 3 year olds in the country and is always run on October 2. The other prestigious races are the President of India Gold Cup and the Nizam's Gold Cup which are run during the Monsoon Races. Racing will be conducted from July to October called as Monsoon races and from November to February called Winter races.
    7.00
    2 votes
    159
    Kensington Hippodrome

    Kensington Hippodrome

    The Kensington Hippodrome was a racecourse built in Notting Hill, London, in 1837, by entrepreneur John Whyte. Whyte leased 140 acres (0.57 km) of land from James Weller Ladbroke, owner of the Ladbroke Estate, and proceeded to enclose "the slopes of Notting Hill and the meadows west of Westbourne Grove" with a 7-foot (2.1 m) high wooden paling. Unfortunately, the race course was not a financial success and it closed in 1842, the land being developed soon afterwards, as Ladbroke began building crescents of houses on Whyte's former race course. Whyte's race course was an ambitious venture, his intention being to build a rival to the well established race courses of Epsom and Ascot. On its opening, The Times described it as a "disgusting...petty botheration" and cried "shame upon the people of Kensington" for permitting it. Sporting magazine was however more charitable, its correspondent describing the venture as "the most perfect race-course I have ever seen", and as "an emporium even more extensive and attractive than Ascot or Epsom." The stables and paddocks were situated alongside Pottery Lane. The Notting Hill grassy knoll (now surmounted by St John's church) was railed in as a
    7.00
    2 votes
    160
    Sapporo Racecourse

    Sapporo Racecourse

    Sapporo Racecourse (札幌競馬場, Sapporo-keibajō) is located in Chūō-ku, Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan. It was built in 1907 for horse racing use. It has 12,000 seats, with a capacity of 30,000. Sapporo Racecourse hosts one GII (Grade 2) race, the Sapporo Kinen. 1000m, 1200m, 1500m, 1800m, 2000m, and 2600m races are run on the Main turf Course. 1000 m, 1200 m, 1500 m, 1800 m, 2000 m and 2600 m races are run on the dirt oval.
    7.00
    2 votes
    161

    Warwick Racecourse

    Warwick Racecourse is a horse racing course in Warwick, England. It is a leading flat racing and steeple chasing course, and has a programme of 25 meetings throughout the year, many of which are televised. The first stand was built in 1808, it has recently undergone a major refurbishment of its facilities. In the middle of the racecourse is a nine hole golf course and a golf driving range. The area is a popular place for local people to walk their dogs. There is ample parking next to the course and it is only a five minute walk away from the town centre.
    7.00
    2 votes
    162
    Charles Town Races & Slots

    Charles Town Races & Slots

    Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races is a gambling facility owned by Penn National Gaming and located just outside the eastern city limits of Charles Town, West Virginia. It features a six furlong thoroughbred horse racing facility that is home of the West Virginia Breeders' Classic.It is one of the busiest thoroughbred tracks in the country with over 240 racing dates scheduled for 2012.It generally runs a 5 days a week schedule (four days per week in July & August and some major holidays). It also contains over 3,000 slot machines, which help to generate 1,400 jobs for the surrounding community. As of July 2010, they have table games. The Charles Town Race Track was opened on December 2, 1933 by the Shenandoah Valley Jockey Club. It has changed owners over the years and in 1997 was purchased by Penn National. In 2008, the track inaugurated The Sprint Festival, four open stakes worth a total of $500,000. These are the 4½ furlong $200,000 Charles Town Invitational Dash for colts and geldings three-years-old and up, the $100,000 Lady Charles Town for 3-year-old fillies at 4½ furlongs, the $100,000 West Virginia Sprint Derby for 3-year-olds at 4½ furlongs, and the $100,000 Red
    6.00
    3 votes
    163

    Saratoga Casino and Raceway

    Saratoga Casino and Raceway (formerly Saratoga Gaming and Raceway) is a ½-mile standardbred race track and racino located in Saratoga Springs, New York. Saratoga Casino and Raceway is not to be confused with the historic Saratoga Race Course, whose race track and backstretch stables are across the street from the stables of the raceway. Saratoga Casino and Raceway has three entrances: A primary entrance on Jefferson Street, where the Saratoga Harness Hall of Fame is located, a secondary entrance on Crescent Avenue, and a third entrance on Nelson Avenue, just north of its intersection with Crescent Avenue. The Casino and Raceway is located on the southeastern tip of Saratoga Springs. First opened in 1941 as a harness racing track, the facility was expanded in 2004 to include video lottery gaming terminals, or VLT as they are officially called. The track is a ½-mile oval, where horses do two laps to complete the commonly-used 1-mile (1.6 km) distance used in U.S. standardbred races. Because of the landscaping present in the infield and the country feel, the track has been dubbed "The most beautiful ½-mile track in the country. For some time, an expansion of the track to a ⅝-mile oval
    6.00
    3 votes
    164
    Sha Tin Racecourse

    Sha Tin Racecourse

    Sha Tin Racecourse (Chinese: 沙田馬場) is one of the two racecourses for horse racing in Hong Kong. It is located in Sha Tin in the New Territories. It is managed by Hong Kong Jockey Club. Penfold Park is encircled by the track. It was built in 1978 (under the administration of Sir David Akers-Jones, the then-Secretary for the New Territories) on reclaimed land and is the larger of the two tracks in Hong Kong. The course has 474 races per season including: On September 9, 2007, Sha Tin race track opened for the season with record 1-day crowd of about 60,000. Chief Secretary Henry Tang stroke the ceremonial gong. The Hong Kong Jockey Club collected US$106 million in bets (highest since 2001). Children of horse owners were admitted amid protest of local anti-gambling groups. Sunny Power, booted by Howard Cheng got the trophy in the 1,200 metre dash. Michael Jackson was scheduled to perform two concerts here for his Dangerous Tour on August 15 & 16, 1993 but both were cancelled. Originally built with capacity for 35,000 and one grandstand, it now has capacity for 85,000 and two grandstands. It also has 20 stables for a capacity of 1,260 horses. Other features include: Track
    6.00
    3 votes
    165

    Turfway Park

    Turfway Park (Stylized as TURFWAY PARK) is an American horse racing track located just outside the city limits to the north of Florence, Kentucky, about 10 miles south of the Ohio River at Cincinnati. The track conducts live Thoroughbred horse racing during three meets each year—Fall, Holiday, and Winter/Spring—and offers year-round simulcast wagering from tracks across the continent. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top Ten, Turfway was ranked #10. Turfway Park opened in Florence, Kentucky, in 1959 as Latonia Race Course. The track is located about 10 miles south of the original Latonia in Covington, Kentucky, which hosted Thoroughbred racing from 1883 until it was torn down in 1939. The original Latonia was home to the important Latonia Derby, which rivaled the Kentucky Derby in prestige for many years and shared many of the same horses. The Florence track's name was changed to Turfway Park when Jerry Carroll and his partners purchased the facility in 1986. In 1999, Carroll sold the track in equal parts to lottery equipment manufacturer GTECH, gaming conglomerate Harrah's
    6.00
    3 votes
    166
    Agua Caliente Racetrack

    Agua Caliente Racetrack

    The Agua Caliente Racetrack is a greyhound racing and former horse racing track in Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico. It opened in December 1929 at a cost of $2.5 million. One year before, the Agua Caliente Casino and Hotel opened in June 1928. Like the resort, the racetrack was designed by Wayne McAllister and built by wealthy Americans Baron Long, a Los Angeles nightclub owner, Wirt Bowman, owner of the Tijuana gambling establishment, The Foreign Club, and James Croffroth, a member of the local Tijuana horseracing establishment. Some sources note the fourth partner was Abelardo L. Rodríguez, Military Commander and Governor of Baja California, and future President of Mexico. The lavish resort and racetrack on the Mexican border was popular among Americans, particularly Hollywood celebrities, because drinking, gambling and horse racing were still illegal in most of the neighboring U.S. states. Although President Lázaro Cárdenas outlawed gambling in 1935 and closed the resort and casino, the Agua Caliente Racetrack continued to operate for many years. It was the site of several industry firsts, including starting gates, safety helmets, and “pick six” wagering. Both Phar Lap and
    5.67
    3 votes
    167
    Cheltenham Park Racecourse

    Cheltenham Park Racecourse

    Cheltenham Park Racecourse was a horse racing track located in the suburb of Cheltenham in Adelaide, South Australia. It is situated north-west of the centre of the city and approximately five kilometres from Port Adelaide. The track is 2052 metres in circumference with a 325 metre straight. The Port Adelaide Racing Club began thoroughbred racing at the course and in 1921 the club bought the site on which the course stands for £25,000. The champion horse Tulloch became the first Australian horse to pass the £100,000 stakes mark when he won he S.J.Pullman Stakes at the track in 1961. Administration of the course was taken over by the South Australian Jockey Club in 1975. In November 2007, the SAJC sold the racecourse land for A$85 million for a new housing development. It was proposed that the money be used to help fund the Victoria Park Racecourse redevelopment. However, following the decision to abandon racing at this venue the money will be utilised for further development at the Morphettville Racecourse. On Saturday 21 February 2009 the last race meeting was held at the course before its official closure following the sale.
    5.67
    3 votes
    168
    Keeneland

    Keeneland

    Keeneland is a Thoroughbred horse racing facility and sales complex in Lexington, Kentucky, USA. Operated by the Keeneland Association, Inc., it is also known for its reference library on the sport, which contains more than 10,000 volumes, an extensive videocassette collection, and a substantial assemblage of photo negatives and newspaper clippings. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Keeneland was ranked #1 of the top ten tracks. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1986. Keeneland was founded in 1935 as a nonprofit racing–auction entity on 147 acres (0.59 km) of farmland west of Lexington, which had been owned by Jack Keene, a driving force behind the building of the facility. It has used proceeds from races and its auctions to further the thoroughbred industry as well as to contribute to the surrounding community. The racing side of Keeneland, Keeneland Race Course, has conducted live race meets in April and October since 1936. It added a grass course in 1985. The spring meet contains several preps for the Kentucky
    5.67
    3 votes
    169

    Ascot Racecourse, Western Australia

    Ascot Racecourse is the major racecourse in Perth, Western Australia, situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth central business district, with the headquarters of the Western Australian Turf Club(WATC) positioned directly opposite. It is regarded as the 'grand old lady' of Australian racecourses. Featuring a 2,000 metre track with modern, well drained turf, and a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia. The following is a list of Group races which are run at Ascot Racecourse.
    6.50
    2 votes
    170
    Auteuil Hippodrome

    Auteuil Hippodrome

    The Auteuil Hippodrome is a horse racing venue on Route des Lacs in Paris, France. The 33-hectare (82-acre) race course opened November 1, 1873. It is designed exclusively for steeplechase racing. Modernized a number of times, in 1971 access was improved when two pedestrian tunnels were built under the tracks that lead to the Porte d'Auteuil and the Porte de Passy. It hosted the equestrian events for the 1924 Summer Olympics. Operated by France Galop, important annual races held at the Auteuil Hippodrome include the Prix du Président de la République in April, the Grand Steeple-Chase de Paris in late May, the Grande Course de Haies in June, and the Prix La Haye Jousselin in early November.
    6.50
    2 votes
    171
    Clare Valley Racecourse

    Clare Valley Racecourse

    The Clare Valley Racecourse is racecourse near Stanley Flat, South Australia. In the early 1880s an annual New Year's Day race meeting took place on a number of local properties in the Clare Valley. Since then, the Clare Valley Racing Club has increased its race dates to three or four annually. Regular events include Clare Valley Easter Races, April Clare Cup, and races in November.
    6.50
    2 votes
    172

    Fontwell Park Racecourse

    Fontwell Park Racecourse is a horse racing course located in the village of Fontwell in West Sussex, England, owned by Northern Racing. It features a figure-of-eight chase course and an oval hurdles course. It was the course where Queen Elizabeth II, then Princess Elizabeth, had her first winner as an owner when Monaveen won the Chichester Handicap Chase there in October 1949. In 1984 John Francome rode his 1,036th career winner at Fontwell Park, passing Stan Mellor's record for a National Hunt jockey - Francome's record has subsequently been beaten. The course has been under the ownership of Northern Racing since 2002. The company owns or manages ten racecourses in the UK including Newcastle, Chepstow and Uttoxeter. The feature race of the season at Fontwell Park is the Grade Two National Spirit Hurdle run over a distance of two miles and four furlongs in February. It is a recognised Cheltenham Festival trial. My Way de Solzen, trained by Alan King, won the race in 2006 before winning the World Hurdle. Lough Derg, trained by David Pipe and owned by Bill Frewen, took the prize in 2008 and 2009. Trenchant (Alan King/Robert Thornton) took the prize in 2010 and Celestial Halo (Paul
    6.50
    2 votes
    173

    Haydock Park Racecourse

    Haydock Park Racecourse is a racecourse in Haydock, Merseyside, England. The track is a mostly flat left-handed oval of around 1 mile 5 furlongs with a slight rise on the run-in. There are courses for flat racing and National Hunt racing. The course can be entered from two different roads. Haydock Park Racecourse facilities includes a champagne bar. Flat Races: National Hunt Races:
    6.50
    2 votes
    174

    Kempton Park Racecourse

    Kempton Park Racecourse is a horse racing track in Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey, England, which is a western suburb of London 16 miles from the city centre. The site is set in 210 acres (85 ha) of land. The racecourse was the idea of 19th century businessman (and Conservative Party agent) S.H. Hyde, who was enjoying a carriage drive in the country when he came across Kempton Manor and Park for sale. Hyde leased the grounds in 1872 and six years later in July 1878 Kempton opened as a racecourse. Kempton Park stages both National Hunt racing and Flat racing, with the most famous race being the King George VI Chase held every Boxing Day. The site closed on 2 May 2005 and reopened on 25 March 2006, with a new all-weather Polytrack synthetic track and floodlighting to facilitate racing in all conditions and at all light levels. It was because flat racing was only to be on run the synthetic track that the historic Jubilee Course, a mile long spur which joined the main track by the home bend, was abandoned. It is now overgrown and some famous races, particularly the Jubilee Handicap which used to be as big a race as the Cambridgeshire and the Stewards' Cup, are no longer run. In addition to
    6.50
    2 votes
    175
    Aqueduct Racetrack

    Aqueduct Racetrack

    Aqueduct Racetrack (nicknamed the Big A) is a thoroughbred horse-racing facility and racino in South Ozone Park, Queens, New York. Its racing meets usually are from late October/early November through April. Operating near the site of a former conduit of the Brooklyn Water Works that brought water from Long Island to the Ridgewood Reservoir, Aqueduct Racetrack opened on September 27, 1894 by the Queens County Jockey Club. The facility was expanded and a new clubhouse was constructed before the 1941 summer meet. In 1955, the Greater New York Association took over Aqueduct along with Belmont Park, Saratoga Race Course, and Jamaica Racetrack, deciding to make major upgrades to Aqueduct, after which Jamaica Racetrack would be sold for redevelopment as a housing project. Aqueduct closed in 1956, reopening September 14, 1959 after $33 million of renovations designed by noted racetrack architect Arthur Froehlich of the firm Arthur Froehlich and Associates of Beverly Hills, California. The Equestris Restaurant in the clubhouse opened in 1981 and was the largest restaurant in New York City at the time. Additional renovations were made in 2001, 2006, and 2007. Before 1976, the Inner Dirt
    7.00
    1 votes
    176

    Fair Grounds Race Course

    Fair Grounds Race Course, often known as New Orleans Fair Grounds, is a thoroughbred racetrack and racino in New Orleans, Louisiana. It is operated by Churchill Downs Louisiana Horseracing Company, LLC. In 1852 Union Race Course, which today is the site of Fair Grounds, was laid out on Gentilly Road in New Orleans, thus making it the oldest site of racing in America still in operation. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top Fifteen, New Orleans Fair Grounds was ranked #12, behind Evangeline Downs in Opelousas, Louisiana, which was ranked #6. Sometimes referred to as the "New Orleans Fair Grounds", the track was initially opened as the "Union Race Course" in 1852. The track closed in 1857 due to competition from the Metairie Course. In 1859 the track was renamed the "Creole Race Course." In 1863, the name was changed again to the "Fair Grounds" and racing was conducted during the Civil War. The track then closed when the Metairie Course reopened after the war. In 1871, the younger members of the Metairie Jockey Club broke away to form the Louisiana Jockey Club and begin holding
    7.00
    1 votes
    177
    Hauptstadion

    Hauptstadion

    CHIO Hauptstadion is located in the Sport Park Soers in Aachen, Germany. It is used for equestrian and show jumping. It was built in 2006 and has a capacity of 40,000 spectators. It hosted the 2006 FEI World Equestrian Games.
    7.00
    1 votes
    178
    Uttoxeter racecourse

    Uttoxeter racecourse

    Uttoxeter Racecourse is a National Hunt racecourse in the town of Uttoxeter, in Staffordshire, England. Uttoxeter is a left-handed oval shaped course of one mile two and a half furlongs in circumference. The back ‘straight’ has a dog-leg to the right and is undulating as it rises over Clump Hill. The course continues with a downhill run around the far bend into the home straight. The home straight of four furlongs is flat and galloping ensuring fair and competitive finishes to most races including the signature staying chases. The nature of the track often enables front-running tactics to pay off. Dating back to the early 1900s Uttoxeter has raced through some of the most important historic events of the last Millennium.
    7.00
    1 votes
    179
    Morphettville Racecourse

    Morphettville Racecourse

    Morphettville Racecourse is the main horse racing track for South Australia. It is situated in the suburb of Morphettville in Adelaide, Australia, and is about 10 km from the centre of the city. It is home to the South Australian Jockey Club. The course proper at Morphettville is a long, flat course with a circumference of 2307 metres. The track is 32 m wide and features wide turns with a camber of 4% that provide every chance for strong finishers. The second track, known as "The Parks", was official opened in June 2009. The Morphettville Parks track has a circumference of 2100 metres, and the track is 25 m wide and 5% chamber on the turns. It provides a fair chance for all runners. A chute through the centre of the course that runs between the 850 m and 1550 m points provides for 1250, 1300 and 1400 metre starts. A retractable winning post with hydraulics enables the SAJC the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks especially with races taking place mid week and increased racing through the winter months. It was installed in 2009, and is a world first. The Morphettville Racecourse Wetland was an initiative of the Patawalonga Catchment Water
    5.33
    3 votes
    180
    Canterbury Park Racecourse

    Canterbury Park Racecourse

    Canterbury Park Racecourse is a racecourse for horse racing in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It is located 11 km (7 mi) from the Sydney Central Business District, in the suburb of Canterbury, adjacent to Canterbury railway station. The following is a list of thoroughbred group races which are run at Canterbury Park Racecourse.
    6.00
    2 votes
    181
    Fairyhouse racecourse

    Fairyhouse racecourse

    Fairyhouse Racecourse is one of Ireland's premier horse racing venues. Situated in the parish of Ratoath in County Meath, on the R155 regional road, 3 km off the N3. It is the home of the Irish Grand National. The first race meet was held in 1848. In 1870, the first Irish Grand National steeplechase was held there. The racetrack itself is a one mile and 6.5 furlong right-handed circuit, with a 2.5 furlong straight and a slight uphill finish. The main business of Fairyhouse racecourse is betting on the races known traditionally in parts of Ireland as turf accountancy. Admission to Fairyhouse race meetings is free to under-16s along with various other promotions such as concession rates for OAPs and seasonal festivals (i.e. Winter Festival, Easter Festival etc.) It also hosted the first three Witnness festivals from 2000 to 2002 inclusive. Fairyhouse is the premier horse race meeting hosting both the Irish Grand National and Irish Gold Cup but has always been a fine quality racecourse attracting international racing stars such as Desert Orchid, Prince Regent, and Persian War among others. The course was the training ground for l'Escargot, a winner of the Irish Grand National against
    6.00
    2 votes
    182

    Hawthorne Race Course

    Hawthorne Race Course is a race track for horse racing in Stickney/Cicero, Illinois, near Chicago. The oldest continually-run family-owned racetrack in North America, in 2009 the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top Ten, Hawthorne was ranked #8. In 1890, Edward Corrigan, a Chicago businessman who owned the 1890 Kentucky Derby winner, Riley (by Longfellow), bought 119 acres (0.48 km) of land in Cicero and started constructing a grandstand for a new racecourse. His track opened in 1891 with a five-race card including the featured Chicago Derby. In 1902, the grandstand burned to the ground, which moved all racing to the Harlem racetrack in Chicago. The re-opened track held a 12-day summer meet at its own facility later that year. In 1905, horse racing was banned in Chicago, leading to the closure of Hawthorne. The field was used briefly by pioneer aviators Victor and Allan Haines Loughead in 1910 to fly a powered Montgomery glider and a Curtiss pusher. In 1909, the track was sold to Thomas Carey who tried to reopen the track twice but was stopped by the sheriff's department and the local
    6.00
    2 votes
    183
    La Rinconada Hippodrome

    La Rinconada Hippodrome

    La Rinconada Hippodrome (Spanish: Hipódromo La Rinconada) is a race track for Thoroughbred horse racing that opened on July 5, 1959 in Coche, a neighborhood of south Caracas, Venezuela. Some of the important races held here annually include: On the race track grounds is also the Poliedro de Caracas as well as the Alejandro Otero Museum (Museo de Artes Visuales Alejandro Otero).
    6.00
    2 votes
    184

    Liberty Bell Park Racetrack

    Liberty Bell Park was an American race track that held harness racing and Thoroughbred horse racing located in Northeast Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from 1963 until 1986. The site, northeast of the intersection of Knights and Woodhaven Roads, was derived from several farms and smaller farmettes. Gordon's Mill Rd, a street off of Knights Road east to the bridge over the Poquessing Creek, was stricken and vacated from the Philadelphia city plan in 1962 to make way for the racing facility. Gravel Pike, now Byberry Road, extended east to the Poquessing Creek where a small bridge carried the road into Bucks County; now it is a closed bridge. Creek Edge Gardens is still located in the 4300 block of Byberry Road, one of the last vesitges of the pre 1962 style of homes and business in this once pristine area. The harness track was a .625 miles (1.006 km) track, but when thoroughbred racing was made legal in 1968, a 1 mile (1.6 km) track was built using the homestretch and front of the harness track until Keystone Race Track (now Parx Racing and Casino) was built in 1974. The Franklin Mills shopping center now stands on the site along with other stores such as Wal-Mart and Big Lots.
    6.00
    2 votes
    185

    Mountaineer Race Track

    Mountaineer Race Track is a thoroughbred racetrack and gaming resort in Chester, West Virginia. For more information see: Mountaineer Race Track & Gaming Resort
    6.00
    2 votes
    186

    Raceland

    Raceland was a horse racing track located in Chinnville, Kentucky, now known as Raceland, Kentucky. Founded by Jack O. Keene, who also created Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky, the race track operated from 1924 until 1928. Raceland made its debut on July 4, 1924 with a first class boxing match. Over 5,000 people were in attendance. The first race, titled the "Ashland Handicap," was held on July 10, in which there were 15,000 spectators present. During its heyday, Raceland was known as the "Million Dollar Oval" because of its ornate appearance. The 1.5 mile-long track was circled by a white fence of wood and iron, as well as rambling roses. The bridle paths and the front lawn were paved in red tapestry brick matching the club house, stewards' stand and judge's stand. The infield of the track contained a lake and several sunken gardens. Financial difficulties forced the closure of the Raceland track in 1928. The only notable structures still standing from the original complex is the clubhouse and two horse stables. On May 26, 2004, a historical marker was unveiled near the clubhouse to commemorate the location and historical significance of Raceland. The marker, designed
    6.00
    2 votes
    187

    Roosevelt Raceway

    Roosevelt Raceway was a ½-mile harness racing dirt then later synthetic (1957) track located in Westbury, New York, which operated from September 2, 1940 until July 15, 1988. It was the original home of the Messenger Stakes, part of the Triple Crown of Harness Racing for Pacers. The raceway hosted the event until it closed. It was also the first track to use the now universal "mobile starting gate" (Phillip's Mobile). The operation was sold in 1984 on the condition it was to remain an operating racetrack, but the facilities deteriorated, attendance dropped off and the plant was no longer profitable. Roosevelt Raceway's closure was (and still is) controversial. The site of Roosevelt Raceway is part of the Hempstead Plains, located in an unincorporated area of the Town of Hempstead, within the Westbury 11590 Zip Code. It is located near where the first English Governor of New York, Richard Nicolls, established the "Newmarket Course", the first horse racing track in North America (and indeed, the first organized sport of any kind) in the territory that would become the United States, in 1664. Before the modern raceway was created, the site was part of the Roosevelt Field Airfield. On
    6.00
    2 votes
    188
    Rosehill Gardens Racecourse

    Rosehill Gardens Racecourse

    The Rosehill Gardens Racecourse is located in the Western Sydney suburb of Rosehill, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It operated by the Australian Turf Club. Rosehill holds horse races for thoroughbred gallopers on a grass surface. It is one of the two premier racecourses in Sydney, the other one being Randwick Racecourse. One of the main events held at Rosehill is the Golden Slipper race for two year olds. The racecourse is served by trains on the Carlingford line stopping at Rosehill station. The following is a list of Group races which are run at Rosehill Racecourse.
    6.00
    2 votes
    189
    Sandown Park

    Sandown Park

    Sandown Park is a horse racing course and leisure venue in Esher, Surrey, England, in the outer suburbs of London. It hosts one Group 1 flat race, the Eclipse Stakes. It regularly has horse racing during afternoons, evenings and on weekends, and also hosts many non racing events such as trade shows, wedding fairs, toy fairs, car shows and auctions, property shows, and concerts. The venue have hosted bands such as UB40, Madness (band), Girls Aloud, Sugababes, Spandau Ballet, Westlife, Boyzone and Simply Red. Facilities include a wedding reception, Daytona Karting track, 18 hole golf course with driving range, gym with bar facility, dry ski slope (120m with button lift), snowboard and ski club. Sandown Park has spectacular views over Heathrow Airport and London landmarks such as Wembley Stadium, The Gherkin, Canary Wharf and the London Eye. The racecourse is very close to Esher railway station served by trains from London Waterloo. Sandown Park was one of the first courses to charge all for attending. It opened in 1875 and everyone had to pay at least half a crown. The first meeting was over three days, starting on Thursday 22nd April, and included the Grand National Hunt Chase, now
    6.00
    2 votes
    190

    Colonial Downs

    Colonial Downs is a racetrack for Thoroughbred flat racing and Standardbred harness racing located in New Kent County, Virginia adjacent to Interstate 64, halfway between Richmond, Virginia and Williamsburg, Virginia. The track opened on September 1, 1997. More than 13,000 attended the track on opening day. The track used several unconventional construction and business approaches. They constructed one of the largest tracks in size in the country but built a relatively small clubhouse. They also built OTB's prior to the opening of the track. The track also struck a deal with Maryland to stop Maryland racing during Colonial Downs thoroughbred meet, although this later ended. The tract of land on which the track is built was obtained through an eminent domain suit brought by the State of Virginia against an African American/Native American family(Tero Johnson) that had owned the majority of the land since 1863. Until 2005, the track was managed by the Maryland Jockey Club under a complicated agreement with Virginia and Maryland regulators and the Maryland-Virginia Racing Circuit. The track has been fairly successful and has offered good summertime turf racing in the traditionally
    5.00
    3 votes
    191
    Champ de Mars Racecourse

    Champ de Mars Racecourse

    The Champ de Mars Racecourse is a race track in Port Louis, Mauritius, for thoroughbred horse races located close to the center of the city, at the Mauritius Turf Club (M.T.C). The Mauritius Turf Club was founded in 1812, making it the oldest horse-racing club in the Southern Hemisphere, and one of the oldest in the world. On 25 June of the same year, the Champ de Mars racecourse was inaugurated and the first organized race meeting in the history of the island was held. The Champ de Mars track follows a very selective right hand oval path and is relatively small in size, with a circumference of 1,298 meters (4,258.5 ft) and width between 12 and 14 meters (39 and 46 feet). The home-straight extends uphill and is 225 meters (738 ft) long. Thoroughbred racing is the most popular sport on the island and the electrifying ambiance on race days, notably during the Maiden Cup.
    5.50
    2 votes
    192

    Hippodrome Wellington

    The Hippodrome Wellington (also Wellingtonrenbaan) was a horse racing track in Ostend in the Flemish Region of Belgium built in 1883 and named for the Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington. The facility hosted both harness and flat racing events. Notable among its flat races for Thoroughbred horses was the Grand Prix Prince Rose held annually in July on the Nationale feestdag. Formerly known as the Grand International d'Ostende, it was renamed to honor the great Belgian horse, Prince Rose. The venue hosted concerts by artists like Michael Jackson (1997), David Bowie (2002) and Bon Jovi (2003) and the 2001 IAAF World Cross Country Championships an In 2004 it was converted into a golf course named Wellington Golf Oostende.
    5.50
    2 votes
    193
    Hollywood Park

    Hollywood Park

    Hollywood Park is a thoroughbred race course and poker card room in Inglewood, California, about three miles (5 km) from Los Angeles International Airport and adjacent to the Forum. The track was opened in 1938 by the Hollywood Turf Club. The racetrack was designed by noted racetrack architect Arthur Froehlich. Its chairman was Harry Warner of Warner Brothers, and its 600 shareholders included many other Hollywood luminaries, including another Brother brand, Jack Warner. Harry Warner, Al Jolson and Raoul Walsh were members of the founding Board of Directors and Mervyn LeRoy was a director from 1941 until his death in 1987. Hollywood Park closed from 1942 to 1944 due to World War II, being used as a storage facility. In 1949, the grandstand and clubhouse were destroyed by a fire; the rebuilt facility reopened in 1950. In 1984, the race track was extended from 1-mile (1.6 km) around to 1 1/8 miles around prior to the first Breeders Cup race. In 1986, the turf course was similarly expanded from just over 7/8 of a mile around to 1 mile & 145 ft. (1.654 km) around. A card club casino was added to the complex in 1994. Churchill Downs, Inc. bought the facility for $140 million in 1999.
    5.50
    2 votes
    194
    Newbury Racecourse

    Newbury Racecourse

    Newbury Racecourse is a racecourse in the civil parish of Greenham, adjoining the town of Newbury in Berkshire, England. It has courses for flat races and over jumps. It hosts one of Great Britain's 31 Group 1 flat races, the Lockinge Stakes. The racecourse held its first race meeting on 26/27 September 1905 and moved to its current location, in the Greenham area on the south-east side of Newbury, in 1910. During the First World War Newbury Race Course was used as a prisoner-of-war camp for German prisoners. HRH The Queen spent her 86th birthday at Newbury Racecourse,. HRH The Queen enjoyed the races from the Royal Box although her two horses Sequence ridden by Ryan Moore and Momentary ridden by Hayley Turner did not win. The racecourse has a runway for light aircraft in the centre of the course and a dedicated railway station, which sees heavy traffic and additional trains on race days. It also acts as a venue for conferences, weddings and Hen and Stag parties. On 12 February 2011, two horses – Marching Song and Fenix Two – collapsed and died in the Paddock while parading for the first race of the day. Two others also appeared to have been affected, Kid Cassidy and The Merry
    5.50
    2 votes
    195

    Windsor Racecourse

    Windsor Racecourse, also known as Royal Windsor Racecourse, is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Windsor, Berkshire, England. It is one of only two figure-of-eight courses in the United Kingdom, the other being at Fontwell Park. It abandoned National Hunt jump racing in December 1998, switching entirely to Flat racing. However, the course has occasionally held National Hunt meetings since, such as when it took over some of nearby Ascot's jump meetings during its refurbishment in the mid-2000s. Windsor Racecourse is located on the banks of the River Thames and occupies a large island between the main channel of the River and the Clewer Mill Stream backwater. The local area has links to horse racing that date back to the time of Henry VIII, but the first race meeting at Royal Windsor did not take place until 1866. Windsor Racecourse was the location for scenes in the film Last Orders. For the 2012 Summer Olympics a temporary bridge linked the Racecourse with Dorney Lake, the rowing and canoeing venue. The Racecourse served as a pick-up and drop-off point for spectators travelling to and from Dorney Lake.
    5.50
    2 votes
    196

    Woodstock Raceway

    The Woodstock Raceway is located in Woodstock, Ontario, Canada. While primarily a racing venue for horse racing, the venue added slot machines in the 21st century to give the raceway a modern, contemporary feel with today's young adult gamblers.
    4.67
    3 votes
    197

    Downpatrick Racecourse

    Downpatrick Racecourse, located one mile from the town of Downpatrick in County Down, is one of the two horse racing courses in Northern Ireland, the other being Down Royal. The first race meeting at Downpatrick was held in 1685. Although Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom, horse racing is run on an All Ireland basis, so Downpatrick falls under the aegis of Horse Racing Ireland rather than the British Horseracing Authority.
    6.00
    1 votes
    198

    Fakenham Racecourse

    Fakenham Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Fakenham, Norfolk, England. The course is left-handed, almost square in shape, with a circumference of about a mile. The steeplechase course is situated to the outside of the hurdle course and consists of six fences per circuit, with the open ditch as the penultimate obstacle.
    6.00
    1 votes
    199

    Gowran Park

    Gowran Park is a horse race course in County Kilkenny, Ireland. It is located in the Annerly Estate near the village of Gowran.The first meeting was held in 1914. and the first ever racecourse commentary in Ireland took place here in 1952. Gowran Park hosts 16 race days throughout the year with both National Hunt and Flat meetings. The Thyestes Chase starts the year in January with a steeplechase, the Thyestes, which has been won by three time Cheltenham Gold Cup Winner Arkle (1964) and Aintree Grand National winners Hedgehunter (2005) and Numbersixvalverde (2006). Thyestes, named after a figure from Greek mythology, was by The Tetrarch (out of Tetratema) and was bred by Major Victor McCalmont of Mount Juliet and trained by Atty Persse at Stockbridge, Wiltshire. Thyestes was rated 3rd best two year old of 1930 as a result of his winning his only two races. The National Breeders Produce Stakes over 5 furlongs at Sandown Park and the Rous Memorial Stakes over 6 furlongs at Goodwood. Thyestes never ran again due to injury and was retired to stud in Yorkshire. The Thyestes trophy was presented to Kilkenny Show by Major Dermot McCalmont for a 5 year old likely to make a good hunter. The
    6.00
    1 votes
    200

    Gulfstream Park

    Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino is a racetrack and county-approved racino in Hallandale Beach, Florida, in the United States. During its annual meet, which spans December through April, it is one of the most important venues for horse racing in America. Gulfstream Park was opened on Wednesday February 1, 1939 conducting a four-day meeting. The initial meeting had a crowd of 18,000. In 1944, the track was reopened by James Donn, Sr. for a 20-day meeting in December. The Gulfstream Park Handicap was first run in 1946 and the Florida Derby began in 1952. In that year the clubhouse was built and the Grandstand seating was expanded. Gulfstream Park introduced turf racing for the first time in 1959. In 1952 the clubhouse was erected and a new addition was put on the grandstand. It also marked the first running of the Florida Derby. The following year, the Florida Derby became the first stakes in Florida with a $100,000 purse. The 1955 Kentucky Derby winner and Horse of the Year Swaps set a then world-record of 1:39 3/5 for a mile and 70 yards while carrying 130 pounds in the Broward Handicap. The following year was just as exciting at Gulfstream when Gen. Duke equaled the world record of
    6.00
    1 votes
    201
    Hipodromo Nacional de Maroñas

    Hipodromo Nacional de Maroñas

    Hipódromo Nacional de Maroñas is a horse racing track located in Ituzaingó neighbourhood, in Montevideo, Uruguay. It has a 2,065 metres main dirt track and a dirt 2,000 metres training track. It has a seating capacity of 2,426 people and can accommodate approximately 5,500 standing. It has a parking with room for approximately 697 cars. The racetrack was closed between 1997 and 2003, when it was re-opened by a private consortium, Maroñas Entertainment. Races take place all-year-round every weekend (mostly Saturdays and Sundays though sometimes only on Sundays) and also every January 6 (Three Kings Day), when its most important race, the Gran Premio José Pedro Ramírez is held.
    6.00
    1 votes
    202

    Nottingham Racecourse

    Nottingham Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England. It is situated at Colwick Park, close to the River Trent and about 3 km east of the city centre. The racecourse was in operation ante 1773 at Nottingham Forest before moving to Colwick Park. It is a left-handed course. It staged both forms of racing until the mid-1990s, when it abandoned National Hunt racing to become a flat-only course. The racecourse was served by its own station up until the late 1960s when the line was shut down. There are still remenents of the station wall on what is now Colwick loop road.
    4.33
    3 votes
    203
    Bowie Race Track

    Bowie Race Track

    The Bowie Race Track was a horse racing track located just outside the city limits of Bowie, Maryland. The one mile oval racetrack, known as Prince George's Park, was opened October 1, 1914 under the auspices of the Southern Maryland Agricultural Society. A major attraction in the area, easy access for racetrack patrons was available from the WB&A Railroad which ran trains every five minutes from the Liberty Street Station in Baltimore for which they charged 65¢ for a round-trip ticket. Admission to the grounds and grandstand was $1.00. The track was a natural addition to the area, home to the Belair Stud Farm, founded by Samuel Ogle and credited as the "Cradle of American thoroughbred racing." In the 1950s, Bowie Race Track was a pioneer of winter racing in the Northeastern United States. Some of the races inaugurated at the Bowie track include: Following America's involvement in World War II, the racetrack was closed from 1943 into 1945. On March 9, 1955, officials discovered a cabin cruiser floating on the track's infield lake . No one knew how it got there. During the night of January 31, 1966 a fire burned down five barns at the track that took the lives of at least 43
    5.00
    2 votes
    204

    Chester Racecourse

    Chester Racecourse, known as the Roodee, is according to official records the oldest racecourse still in use in England. Horse racing at Chester dates back to the early sixteenth century. It is also thought to be the smallest racecourse of significance in England at 1 mile and 1 furlong (1.8 km) long. The 65-acre (260,000 m) racecourse lies on the banks of the River Dee. The site was once a harbour during the Roman settlement of the city during the Dark Ages, but was closed as the river silted up thus making navigation impossible. Towards the centre of the in field is a raised mound which is decorated by a small cross known as a "rood". It is from this that the race course derives the name "Roodee"; Roodee is a corruption of "Rood Eye", meaning "The Island of the Cross". According to legend the cross marks the burial site of a statue of the Virgin Mary sentenced to hang after causing the death of Lady Trawst, the wife of the Governor of Hawarden. The legend states that she had gone to church to pray for rain but when her prayers were answered by a tremendous thunderstorm the statue was loosened and fell, killing her. As a holy object, hanging or burning the statue would be
    5.00
    2 votes
    205
    Salisbury Racecourse

    Salisbury Racecourse

    Salisbury Racecourse is a flat racecourse in the United Kingdom featuring thoroughbred horse racing. It is located four miles from Salisbury, Wiltshire, England. Fifteen races a year are held here between early May and mid-October. There has been racing at the course since the mid-16th century, and many equine greats have been successful here, including Gimcrack (1768), Eclipse (1769), Sun Chariot (1941), Mill Reef (1970) and Brigadier Gerard (1970). In recent years, Sir Percy (2006 Derby) and Look Here (2008 Oaks) both won at Salisbury the previous year. Steve Cauthen made his UK debut at Salisbury in 1979, while Lester Piggott rode in public for the very first time at Salisbury in 1948.
    5.00
    2 votes
    206
    Sudbury Downs

    Sudbury Downs

    Sudbury Downs is a harness racing track located in Greater Sudbury, Ontario, Canada, on Bonin Road between the communities of Azilda and Chelmsford. During the racing season, there are usually two race nights per week, on Wednesday and Saturday, with ten to fourteen races each race night. The facility also has a Slot Parlor (with full service Bar) containing a large number of slot machines, although it is not a full casino. The Main building also includes a snack bar, Deli style sandwich bar and a Fine Dining restaurant that is open each race night and special occasions. Sudbury Downs was built on the farm of Médéric Bonin, which was settled in the mid 19th century by the Bonin family. The track is located in Boninville, which has now been amalgamated with Greater Sudbury. The history of this location can still be seen in places around Sudbury Downs. The land and its surrounding was transformed from a dense, Northern Ontario hardwood forest into farmland for much of the 19th century.
    5.00
    2 votes
    207

    Yonkers Raceway

    Yonkers Raceway, founded in 1899 as the Empire City Race Track, is a one-half-mile standardbred harness racing dirt track and New York state-approved slots racino located at the intersection of Central Park Avenue and Yonkers Avenue (Exits 2 off the New York State Thruway) in Yonkers, New York near the New York City border. It is currently owned by the Rooney Family, the five sons of Art Rooney, the Pittsburgh Steelers football legend. Yonkers Raceway, considered a city landmark, was first opened in 1899 by William H. Clark's Empire City Trotting Club. Clark died in 1900 and, with much litigation by his heirs over its proposed sale, the track remained closed for most of the next seven years except for special events. One such event occurred in 1902 when Barney Oldfield set a one-mile (1.6 km) record in an automobile at Empire City Race Track. Driving the Ford '999', he covered the distance in 55.54 seconds. The facility was purchased by New York grocery store magnate James Butler who reopened it for Thoroughbred horse racing in 1907. Among the notable thoroughbreds who raced at Empire City, in 1936 Seabiscuit won the Scarsdale Handicap at Empire City. After the death of James
    5.00
    2 votes
    208
    Belmont Park

    Belmont Park

    Belmont Park is a major thoroughbred horse-racing facility located in Elmont in the Town of Hempstead in Nassau County, New York, on Long Island adjoining New York City. It first opened on May 4, 1905. It is typically open for racing throughout May, June and into late July, and again from late September through late October. It is world famous as the home of the Belmont Stakes, known as the "Test of the Champion", the third leg of the Triple Crown. Belmont is known as "The Championship Track" because almost every major champion in racing history since the early 20th century has competed on the racecourse — including each of the 11 Triple Crown winners. Along with Saratoga Race Course, Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Churchill Downs in Louisville, and Del Mar and Santa Anita racecourses in California, Belmont is considered one of the elite racetracks in the sport. The largest crowd was in 2004 when 120,139 witnessed the Belmont Stakes as Smarty Jones was seeking the Triple Crown but was upset by Birdstone. Belmont Park is operated by the non-profit New York Racing Association, as are Aqueduct and Saratoga Race Course. The group was formed in 1955 as the Greater New York
    4.50
    2 votes
    209

    Brighton Racecourse

    Brighton racecourse is an English horse racing course located a mile to the northeast of the centre of Brighton, Sussex owned by Northern Racing. It is situated on Whitehawk Hill, on the edge of the South Downs about four hundred feet above sea level and a mile from the coast. The track takes the form of a horseshoe one and a half miles in length. The finishing straight is about four furlongs in length, with a steep descent followed by a slightly less steep climb to the winning post. It is a left-handed course, used for flat racing only. There are references to races taking place before 1713, but the first official race meeting at Brighton was held in 1783. The Prince of Wales (later George IV) attended the next year, liked it, and returned with his entourage of high-living, big-betting aristocratic friends. They raced their own horses at Brighton and this helped the racecourse and the town to thrive. Legend has it that when galloping around on the downs on horseback they jumped some hurdles that were used for keeping sheep in pens and thereby invented the concept of hurdle races. Racing has been held on virtually the same ground on Whitehawk Hill ever since. The course used to
    4.50
    2 votes
    210
    Ellerslie Racecourse

    Ellerslie Racecourse

    Ellerslie Racecourse is the main racecourse in Ellerslie, Auckland, New Zealand for thoroughbred racehorses. It is an undulating, grass circuit of approximately 1,900 m. The first race meeting was held at Ellerslie on 25 May 1874. At this time the racecourse was a considerable distance outside the city and it took Aucklanders up to several hours to get to the course by carriage. Many took the trains, though with the demand created by the event, as late as in 1910 they often had to travel in open cattle trucks because there were not enough normal coaches available for the demand of the extra services. Ellerslie Racecourse was the location of the first automatic totalisator, designed by George Julius and installed in 1913. During the 20th century, Ellerslie Racecourse provided plants for Kingseat Hospital. Champion racehorses to have raced at Ellerslie include Kindergarten, Balmerino, Bonecrusher, Uncle Remus, Japan Cup winner Horlicks, Il Tempo, Mr Tiz, Sunline (who was buried at the racecourse in 2009) and Jimmy Choux. Ellerslie is home to two of New Zealand's major racing carnivals - the Summer Carnival and Auckland Cup Week. The Summer Carnival is run in the Christmas-New Year
    4.50
    2 votes
    211

    Hippodrome de Longchamp

    The Longchamp Racecourse (French: Hippodrome de Longchamp) is a 57 hectare horse-racing facility located on the Route des Tribunes in the Bois de Boulogne at Paris, France. Built on the banks of the Seine River, it is used for flat racing and is noted for its variety of interlaced tracks and a famous hill that provides a real challenge to competing thoroughbreds. It has several racetracks varying from 1,000 to 4,000 metres in length with 46 different starting posts. The course is home to more than half of the group one races held in France. The highlight of the calendar is the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe. Held on the first weekend in October, the prestigious event attracts the best horses from around the world. The first-ever race run at Longchamp was on Sunday, April 27, 1857 in front of a massive crowd. The Emperor Napoleon III and his wife Eugénie were present, having sailed down the Seine River on their private yacht to watch the third race. Until 1930, many Parisians came to the track down the river on steamboats and various other vessels, the trip taking around an hour to the Pont de Suresnes. The royal couple joined Prince Jérôme Bonaparte and his son Prince Napoleon in the
    4.50
    2 votes
    212
    Kincsem Park

    Kincsem Park

    Kincsem Park is a major horse racing venue in Budapest, Hungary. The 84-hectare park, named after the race horse Kincsem, can accommodate thoroughbred racing and harness racing, and it can also be configured as a concert venue. Although the track experienced a drop in attendance in recent years, it has enjoyed a new popularity among racing fans due to the success of Hungarian racehorse Overdose. In August 2009, Madonna performed in front of a sold out crowd of 41,000 Hungarian fans as a part of her Sticky & Sweet Tour. Thoroughbred races Harness races
    4.50
    2 votes
    213
    Latonia Race Track

    Latonia Race Track

    Latonia Race Track on Winston Avenue in Latonia (Covington) Kentucky, six miles south of Cincinnati, Ohio, was a Thoroughbred horse racing facility opened in 1883. The track hosted a spring-summer racing series and a second in late fall. It was once regarded as among the United States' top sites for racing, and drew more than 100,000 visitors annually. The 1924 Kentucky Derby winner Black Gold ran at Latonia Race Track, and jockey Eddie Arcaro got his start there. The track's main attraction was the annual 1½ mile Latonia Derby, initially run as the "Hindoo Stakes " in honor of the great Kentucky-bred champion Hindoo.It became so popular that in 1912 a motion picture was made by Independent Motion Picture Co. titled Winning the Latonia Derby that featured silent film star King Baggot. The inaugural 1883 Latonia Derby was won by Kentucky Derby winner Leonatus. Future Derby winners Kingman (1891), Halma (1895), Ben Brush (1896), Lieut. Gibson (1900), Elwood (1904), and Sir Huon (1906) also won the race and the 1918 edition was won by Harry Payne Whitney's Belmont Stakes winning colt, Johren. In November 1909, an airmeet was held at Latonia. The airmeet was a small affair, but
    4.50
    2 votes
    214

    Monmouth Park Racetrack

    Monmouth Park Racetrack is an American race track for thoroughbred horse racing in Oceanport, New Jersey. It is owned by the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority and is operated under a five-year lease as a partnership with Resorts Casino Hotel in Atlantic City. Monmouth Park's marquee event is the Resorts Casino & Hotel Haskell Invitational, named after Amory L. Haskell. The Haskell was first run in 1968 as a handicap, but was made into an Invitational Handicap in 1981. It is now a 1⅛-mile test for three-year-olds run in early August. Monmouth Park also now showcases the Jersey Derby originally run at Garden State Park until its closure in 2001. The original track was opened by the Monmouth Park Association on July 30, 1870 in Long Branch, New Jersey. It was later bought by David D. Withers, George L. Lorillard, James Gordon Bennett, Jr., and George P. Wetmore after which Withers ran the facility for more than a decade during which time he helped found racings Board of Control, a predecessor to The Jockey Club. From 1882 to 1890, the track increased in popularity, but legislation proposed in 1891 and enacted in 1894 barred parimutuel betting in New Jersey, and the track
    4.50
    2 votes
    215
    Taunton Racecourse

    Taunton Racecourse

    Taunton Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Orchard Portman, two miles south of Taunton, Somerset, England. Opened in 1927, Taunton is the youngest National Hunt course in England, and the last racecourse to be opened in Britain until Great Leighs in 2008. Horse racing has been taking place in the Taunton area since the 18th century, initially taking place in Broomhay, West Monkton, though these ceased in 1812 due in combination to the Napoleonic Wars and a lack of interest. Racing continued in Bridgwater, 11 miles (18 km) north, but recommenced in Taunton in 1825. The course was on the site now occupied by King's College, and was praised highly in the annual publication Sporting Magazine. The site was troubled by heavy rain in 1838, which washed out all the races, and two years later racing moved to Trull Moor, where they continued for a further 15 years. After this, the sport was once again confined to Bridgwater, and ceased even there at the outbreak of World War I. In 1927, at a meeting held in London, the Taunton Racecourse Company was founded, and agreed to create a new course on land granted for the purpose by Viscount Portman. The site had housed
    4.50
    2 votes
    216

    Aintree Racecourse

    Aintree Racecourse is a racecourse in Aintree, Merseyside, England. It was served by Aintree Racecourse railway station until the station closed in 1962. The racecourse is probably best known for annually holding the world-famous Grand National steeplechase. The course is home of the Grand National steeplechase, one of the most famous races in the world. Prior to the event being held at Aintree, the race was run in the nearby district of Maghull. Steeplechasing at Aintree was introduced in 1839, though flat racing had taken place there for many years prior to this. It is regarded as the most difficult of all courses to successfully complete, with 16 steeplechase fences including renowned obstacles The Chair, Foinavon, Valentine's Brook, Canal Turn and Becher's Brook. These are so infamous that even their names strike fear into the most professional of jockeys. All fences bar the water jump are covered with spruce unlike any other course in British National Hunt racing. Four other races take place over the National fences. These are the Topham Chase (formerly known as the John Hughes Trophy Chase) and the Fox Hunters' Chase at the Grand National meeting, and the Grand Sefton
    5.00
    1 votes
    217

    Club Hípico de Antofagasta

    Club Hipico de Antofagasta is a Thoroughbred race track in Antofagasta, Chile. It features a left-handed nine-furlong dirt oval. The track currently doesn't stage any major races, and its location is extremely remote (the nearest small race track is in Arequipa, Peru, more than 800 km away; the nearest Chilean track is Valparaiso Sporting Club, more than 1.000 km away).
    5.00
    1 votes
    218
    Good Time Park

    Good Time Park

    Good Time Park was a mile-long race track in Goshen, New York that hosted the Hambletonian harness race from 1930 to 1956. A largely unmaintained field for the first century of its existence, the area that would become Good Time Park was originally called Fiddler's Green. At the beginning of the 19th century it, was a common meeting place for local races, training, and breeding. Use died out around 1820, and it was largely forgotten until 1899, when it was refurbished to be used to train trotters. Sports promoter and horse owner William H. Cane bought the land in 1926, named the new track Good Time Park, and began to hold races there. By 1927, it had become a Grand Circuit track, with a large stables and a 2,224-seat grandstand. The first Hambletonian in Goshen was held on August 27, 1930, and was broadcast on the radio by the Columbia Broadcasting Company. The victory purse of $58,859.00 was won, after three heats, by Tom Berry driving Hanover's Bertha. The Hambletonian was held at Good Time Park for the next 26 years, with the exception of 1943, when wartime gas shortages caused it to be moved to Empire City Track in Yonkers. After Cane's death in 1956, conflicts over the
    5.00
    1 votes
    219
    Hipodromo Argentino de Palermo

    Hipodromo Argentino de Palermo

    Hipodromo Argentino de Palermo is located in Buenos Aires, Argentina. One of the most prominent horse racing venues in Argentina, its installations include a 2400 meter (1.5 mile) track suitable for races in all weather. The establishment was founded on May 7, 1876, as the first racecourse in Buenos Aires, and the first National Derby was held there in 1884. On its inauguration, the trains and streetcars of Buenos Aires were not enough to transport the large number of people who wanted to attend the event. However, close to 10,000 people witnessed the first race ever disputed at the Hipódromo, which was won by the horse "Resbaloso". A sales floor for racing thoroughbreds, Tattersall de Palermo, was opened in 1898. The original viewing stands were replaced by a Beaux Arts tribune designed by Louis Faure-Dujarric, in 1908. The Hipódromo introduced a technology named "Photochart" in 1947. Photochart was a photographic device that registered the precise moment when the horses crossed the end line, thus simplifying the selection of the winner in neck-and-neck outcomes. The Hipódromo de Palermo was renamed Hipódromo Argentino de Palermo in 1953. The addition, in 1971, of an electrical
    5.00
    1 votes
    220

    Hippodrome de Maisons-Laffitte

    The Hippodrome de Maisons-Laffitte at 1 avenue de la Pelouse in the northwestern Parisian suburb of Maisons-Laffitte in France is a turf horse racing facility and track for Thoroughbred flat racing. Opened in 1878 by Joseph Oller, inventor of the pari-mutuel machine, it sits on 92 hectares that belonged to the wealthy banker Jacques Laffitte. The nearby Château de Maisons-Laffitte is home to The Museum of the Racehorse. Open from early March throuigh to the end of November, currently the major annual Conditions races at Hippodrome de Maisons-Laffitte include the:
    5.00
    1 votes
    221

    Presque Isle Downs

    Presque Isle Downs and Casino is a casino and horse racing track complex located south of Erie, Pennsylvania. The owner, MTR Gaming Group, broke ground in October 2005 for its new facility, which opened on February 28, 2007. It contains 2,000 slot machines. The 1 mile (1.6 km) oval track opened on September 2, 2007. It is paved with the synthetic material Tapeta Footings (a mixture of sand, rubber, fiber with a wax coating). It's the first synthetic horse racetrack that is longer than 1 mile (2 km) in the Northeast and the first racetrack paved with Tapeta in the United States. Simulcasting was transferred from its former upper Peach Street location and became operational in August 2007. Some of the races at Presque Isle Downs include: Gaming revenue is split between the operator (45%) and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (55%), the latter of which will use the funds for property tax relief, economic development and tourism, and the horse racing industry. Revenue from table games goes to the state's general fund and the local government. The property is located on a 272 acres (110 ha) site off Exit 27 on Interstate 90 in Summit Township. Presque Isle Downs & Casino now operates
    5.00
    1 votes
    222

    River Downs

    River Downs is a horse racetrack located in Anderson Township, Hamilton County, Ohio, just outside the southeast limits of Cincinnati. River Downs opened in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1925. It was opened 15 years after the closing of a previous track in Cincinnati, Old Oakley Race Course. The race track sits right along the banks of the Ohio River. The track was originally named Coney Island and is adjacent to Coney Island Amusement Park. The famous horse Seabiscuit made two appearances at River Downs in 1936. His trainer “Silent Tom” Smith shipped the horse in from Detroit with jockey “Red” Pollard for two consecutive starts. On October 3, 1936, he ran third in the Western Hills Handicap and two weeks later he ran third in the Eastern Hills Handicap. The track managed to survive the disastrous Cincinnati flood of 1937 and re-opened under the name of "River Downs." Races were and still are held primarily in summer. The 7-furlong turf course was created in 1956, making River Downs the 13th track in America with a grass racing strip. The infield grass course has drawn rave reviews from horsemen across the country. Hall of Fame jockey Laffit Pincay, Jr. once quoted, "This is the best turf
    5.00
    1 votes
    223
    Great Yarmouth Racecourse

    Great Yarmouth Racecourse

    Great Yarmouth racecourse is a horse racing course located a mile north of Great Yarmouth, owned by Northern Racing. The track takes the form of a narrow oblong about a mile and three quarters round, with two long straights about five furlongs in length. It is a left-handed course, used for flat racing only. An extension to the finishing straight allows races of up to a mile to be run on the straight course. Racing was first recorded in 1715, when a lease was granted by the Yarmouth Corporation to a group of innkeepers for some land for them to stage race meetings. Racing may well have been taking place before that date. It was probably intermittent during the eighteenth century, and will often have coincided with the annual town fair. Diverse events such as donkey races and chasing a pig with a soaped tail were held. Not until 1810 did the official Racing Calendar begin to record meetings with thoroughbred races and sufficient prize money. This course, on the South Denes, soon became established. A two-day meeting was held in the late summer each year. Not until 1866 did the number of fixtures start to increase. Racing resumed after World War I but in 1920 the course was moved to
    4.00
    2 votes
    224

    Hippodrome de Marseille Borely

    Marseille Borely Racecourse (Hippodrome de Marseille Borely) is a horse racing facility for thoroughbred flat racing and standardbred harness racing located at 16, avenue de Bonneveine in Marseille, France. The race track was established in 1860. Its current grandstand and other amenities were built in 1999.
    4.00
    2 votes
    225

    Remington Park

    Remington Park is a horse racing track and casino located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Built in 1988 by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr., it was the first world-class pari-mutuel track in Oklahoma. Since 2010, Global Gaming RP has owned and operated the racing facility. The track features an American Quarter Horse, Paint and Appaloosa season March through June. The Thoroughbred season begins August through December. In addition, Remington Park annually hosts the richest race in Oklahoma, the $1,000,000 Heritage Place Futurity in May and the $400,000 Oklahoma Derby headlines the Thoroughbred season in the fall. The rest of the year the park is open for casino gaming and simulcast racing. Remington Park was built by the late Edward J. DeBartolo Sr., the shopping mall developer who also owned Thistledown in Cleveland, Ohio and Louisiana Downs in Bossier City, Louisiana. Remington Park officially opened on September 1, 1988. At the time, it was the only American track to use a synthetic surface for its main track called Equitrack, which utilized grains of sand coated with a wax polymer. The intent was to provide a safe all-weather racing surface that would provide a fast condition for all races.
    4.00
    2 votes
    226

    Bangor-on-Dee racecourse

    Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Bangor-on-Dee near Wrexham, Wales. It is a left-handed National Hunt racecourse, and doesn't have a Grandstand. Racing first took place at Bangor on Dee Racecourse on February 1859, and has since taken place regularly except during the wars. Since 2006 Bangor has also hosted amateur Point-to-Point races run by local hunts. The course for the Point-to-Point is on the inside of the main track and races are run right handed. In May 2012, all former Tote betting positions were replaced by the racecourse's own in-house bangorBET betting system.
    4.00
    1 votes
    227

    Charlottetown Driving Park

    The Charlottetown Driving Park (CDP), located in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada is a harness racing track for racing standardbred horses. The CDP opened on October 2, 1889, at a site along the west bank of the Hillsborough River in the rural community of Parkdale (amalgamated into Charlottetown in 1996). The facility soon established itself as one of the premiere race tracks in eastern Canada. The track is an oval dirt surface standardbred race course. Its original judge's stand built in 1889 still stands on the inner field, having been restored in 1999. The starting gate, dating to 1948 and the first of its kind in Canada, was also restored to operational use in 1999. During the third week of August, the CDP hosts "Old Home Week", Prince Edward Island's annual provincial agricultural exhibition running 15 racing programs over 9 days. A newer tradition since 1960, "Old Home Week" culminates in the running of the "Gold Cup and Saucer" finale at the end of the exhibition - a race which has drawn celebrities and royalty and locals alike. The CDP grandstand originally housed a restaurant and enclosed and open viewing areas for both winter and temperate season racing. In
    4.00
    1 votes
    228

    Club Hípico de Santiago

    Club Hípico de Santiago is a thoroughbred horse race track in Santiago, Chile. The Club Hípico de Santiago, opened in 1870, is Chile's oldest racetrack and home to South America's oldest stakes race, the Clásico El Ensayo. It is one of Chile's three main tracks, the others being Hipodromo Chile and Valparaiso Sporting Club. Club Hípico features a wide right-handed turf course, approximately 2400 m (12 furlongs) long, and is landscaped with gardens, fountains and ponds. Apart from the horse racing activity, the venue is also used for concerts, due to the large audience that can attend them and the fact that for some time it was the only venue in Santiago that could hold over 30,000 people for a concert (Estadio Nacional was closed for repair and reopened in September 2010). The Vive Latino festival was held in Chile for the first time on April 15, 2007, attracting over 30,000 people because of the diversity of artists that performed, as three stages were built up and being used at the same time. British band Keane finished the concert with 18,000 people still at the venue though their performance started at 11:30 p.m. La Cumbre Del Rock Chileno, which is an annual festival that
    4.00
    1 votes
    229
    Goodwood Racecourse

    Goodwood Racecourse

    Goodwood Racecourse is a horse-racing track five miles north of Chichester, West Sussex, in England controlled by the family of the Duke of Richmond, whose seat is nearby Goodwood House. It hosts the annual Glorious Goodwood meeting, which is one of the highlights of the British flat racing calendar, and is home to 2 of the UK's 31 Group One flat races, the Sussex Stakes and the Nassau Stakes. It is considered to enjoy a very attractive setting to the north of Trundle Iron Age hill fort, which is used as an informal grandstand with views of the whole course. One problem is that its proximity to the coast means that it can get very foggy. This is an unusual, complex racecourse with a straight six furlongs - the "Stewards' Cup Course" - which is uphill for the first furlong and mostly downhill thereafter. There is a tight right-handed loop at the far end of the straight on which there are starts for various longer distance courses. These include the 1 mile 2 furlongs "Craven Course", the 1m 4f "Gratwicke Course" and the 1m 6f "Bentinck Course". The start for the 2m 5f "Cup Course" is quite close to the winning post - horses travel outwards on the straight, around the loop and back.
    4.00
    1 votes
    230

    Harrah's Louisiana Downs

    Harrah's Louisiana Downs is a horse racing track and racino located in Bossier City, Louisiana. Louisiana Downs opened in 1974. It was built by shopping center developer Edward J. DeBartolo Sr., a longtime supporter of horse racing; it was third race track he developed, along with Thistledown and Remington Park. Harrah's Entertainment purchased the track in 2002. The track is home to the Grade II Super Derby, a race run each September since 1980 at the classic United States stakes distance of 1+⁄4 miles (2,000 m). The race often attracts winners and top finishers from the season's American Classic Races races. The Thoroughbred meet takes place from early May through October. A quarter horse meet is held from January through March. The casino features 1,300 slot machines.
    4.00
    1 votes
    231
    Historic Track

    Historic Track

    The Historic Track is a half-mile (900 m) harness racing track in Goshen, New York. It was opened in 1838 and has been in operation ever since, the oldest continuously operated horse racing track in North America. Informal horse races had been held along neighboring Main Street (now part of NY 207) since the 1750s. The current track site was first used in 1838 when a ⅓-mile (530 m) circle around a circus ground near the south end of the track was cleared and prepared for regular racing. Later it would be succeeded by an oval track perpendicular to the current one, then a long square track around the whole site, until the current track was built in 1873. Today the track operates a limited but intense season for one week every summer, between June 30 and July 4. It was designated as a National Historic Landmark in 1966 and was added to the National Register of Historic Places later in the same year, when the National Register was created. It is a contributing property to the Church Park Historic District. The Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame (run by a separate organization) is located nearby. The Goshen Central High School holds its annual graduation ceremony each June in front
    4.00
    1 votes
    232

    Huntingdon Racecourse

    Huntingdon Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Brampton near Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, England. Part of The Jockey Club, Huntingdon Racecourse is an intimate National Hunt racing venue with an atmosphere all of its own, it was voted Best Small Racecourse in the South Midlands and East Anglia by the Racegoers Club. The course is less than five minutes from the pretty market town of Huntingdon set in the heart of the Cambridgeshire countryside, and is home to 17 Jump race meetings, spanning 9 months of the year. Extensive hospitality, advertising and sponsorship opportunities make it a day to remember. Accompanied children aged 18 and under can come racing for free. The Racecourse is home to many outdoor events, from Horse and Car shows, to team building days, Family Fun Days and Conferencing and banqueting. Most Notable of the Race Meetings are the popular Boxing Day fixture every year attracting crowds of over 8,000. Peterborough Chase Day is also extremely prominent, it is a Grade 2 Feature race of the calendar year, featuring top class horses.
    4.00
    1 votes
    233
    Marquis Downs

    Marquis Downs

    Marquis Downs is a horse race track in the Exhibition subdivision of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. It features both thoroughbred and standardbred horse racing. Marquis Downs opened in 1969 with Thoroughbred racing. It is part of the Saskatoon Prairieland Park Corporation. Harness racing was discontinued after the 1987 season, but returned in 2005. The main track is a five-furlong oval with a seven furlong chute. The grandstand capacity is 3,500. The track is located in the southwest corner of the Prairieland Exhibition Grounds, with access via St. Henry Avenue to the west. Marquis Downs offers live thoroughbred racing every Friday and Saturday from late May to the first Saturday of September. Standardbred racing is conducted for the following four weeks, also every Friday and Saturday. A few stakes races are held at Marquis Downs, most notably the Saskatchewan Derby, Prairie Lily Sales Stake and Heritage Day which showcases the Saskatchewan breds. The minimum purse in 2007 was $3,000 and the Heritage races featured a $100,000 purse.
    4.00
    1 votes
    234

    Ripon Racecourse

    Ripon Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Ripon, North Yorkshire, England and is nicknamed the Garden Racecourse. The Ripon area is steeped in equine history and racing has taken place on several sites serving the region, with the first recorded meeting on Bondgate Green in 1664. An 1856 OS map shows a racecourse on the north side of the Ure beside the road to Thirsk and adjacent to the railway station. Racing on the present site on Boroughbridge Road began on August 6, 1900. The course is a right-handed oval of approximately 1m5f with a 5f finishing straight and a 6f chute. The racecourse competes with three other North Yorkshire racecourses, being Thirsk, Catterick and York. The West Yorkshire racecourses, Wetherby and Pontefract are also nearby.
    4.00
    1 votes
    235

    Assiniboia Downs

    Assiniboia Downs is a Canadian horse race track opened in June 1958 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The main track is a six-and-one-half furlong oval.
    0.00
    0 votes
    236

    Cartmel Racecourse

    Cartmel Racecourse is a small racecourse in the village of Cartmel, now in the Ceremonial County of Cumbria, historically in Lancashire. Meetings are held on the May and August Bank Holidays. Although the racecourse is small, it is noted as having a four furlong run-in, the longest in Britain. For a small racecourse Cartmel attracts relatively huge crowds of 20/25,000. The earliest written account of racing at Cartmel dates back to 1856. The course was supported by local landowners. Until World War II it was a very small course featuring primarily amateur jockeys, but in the second half of the 20th century the racing programme was expanded and professionalised. The course is situated on the Holker Estate, and in 1998 Lord Cavendish bought out the previous management team. Cartmel was the site of the Gay Future 'coup' in 1974 that involved switching horses before a race and relying on the lack of communications at the course. It is also known amongst racegoers for the track leading up to and away from the course.
    0.00
    0 votes
    237

    Eagle Farm Racecourse

    Eagle Farm Racecourse is a horse racing venue in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. It is located in the suburb of Ascot, 7 km from the Brisbane central business district. The turf track is 28 metres wide, with a circumference of 2,027 metres and a home straight of 434 metres. Races are run in a clockwise direction. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb. The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and it is now the premier racecourse in Brisbane. In 1941 the racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as Camp Ascot. Ascot railway station has direct access to the racecourse and is located on the Doomben railway line. The racecourse can also be accessed by bus and, from Bretts Wharf, by CityCat. The following is a list of Group races which are run at Eagle Farm Racecourse: Media related to Eagle Farm Racecourse at Wikimedia Commons
    0.00
    0 votes
    238
    Ellis Park Race Course

    Ellis Park Race Course

    Ellis Park is a thoroughbred racetrack in Henderson, Kentucky, just south of Evansville, Indiana. While the track is located north of the Ohio River that forms the border between Kentucky and Indiana, which would put it within Indiana, the border is based on the course of the river at the time Kentucky became a state in 1792. Ellis Park was built by the Green River Jockey Club in 1922. It initially held a harness meeting on the Grand Circuit for the total of $32,000 in purses for a five day race meeting. On November 10, 1922 a 10-day thoroughbred meet with purses of $62,000 was held. The meet was a stop on the train route south to New Orleans for winter racing at Fair Grounds Race Course. These short meets didn't meet the needs of the track and in 1925, after three years of operation, the Green River Jockey Club went bankrupt. In 1925 James C. Ellis, a Rockport businessman, purchased the track, then called Dade Park. He brought about many changes at the track including adding a totalisator wagering system and a terrace grandstand. The facility was renamed Ellis Park in 1954. James Ellis died in 1956. The track management was then led by Ellis's nephew, Lester E. Yeager. Under
    0.00
    0 votes
    239

    Folkestone Racecourse

    Folkestone Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue in southeast England. It is located in Westenhanger, by junction 11 of the M20 motorway and about two miles west of Folkestone. The history of the Westenhanger estate dates back to 1035 when it was owned by King Canute. The 14th century Westenhanger Castle can still be seen next to the main grandstand. The course was established in 1898, and is a right-handed undulating oval with a run in of 3f and a 7f straight chute. The centre of the course is farmed, and has a reservoir fed by a pumping station on the west side of the oval. The East Stour river runs along the western edge of the oval and under the straight course. In July 2012, Arena Leisure and Northern Racing, the lessees of the racecourse announced the closure of the racecourse as a temporary measure. Outdated facilities and the delay of a project to build houses on part of the site were given as the reasons for the closure. A final decision will be made in 2013. The racecourse was first used by aviation when a flying meeting was held in September 1910, three aircraft were present watched by a large crowd. Between 1940 and 1941 the racecourse was used as a decoy
    0.00
    0 votes
    240
    Forbury Park Raceway

    Forbury Park Raceway

    Forbury Park Raceway is a horseracing venue in the New Zealand city of Dunedin. It is located close to the Pacific Ocean coast in the suburb of Saint Kilda. The raceway was initially developed in 1870 on an area of reclaimed swamp, with a one mile track leased to the Dunedin Jockey Club. The site was used for both galloping and saddle trotting events until 1898, at which time the Dunedin Jockey Club moved to a new venue at Wingatui, near Mosgiel. Light harness racing began at Forbury in 1909, at about which time the track was reduced to approximately 1100 yards (1000 metres). The installation of floodlights in 1960 saw the advent of night trotting. The venue is currently used for both harness racing and greyhound racing, as well as for other large-scale outdoor events. It is one of the country's main trotting venues.
    0.00
    0 votes
    241

    Guindy Race Course

    The Guindy Race Course is a horse racing course set up in 1777 in Chennai, India. It is the oldest race course in India. It hosts events in the winter season. In 1777, 81 cawnies of land were granted by the government to conduct races, which is mentioned in a letter written by the then Collector of Chingleput dated 22 June 1825. The land was taken from the Adyar villages of Venkatapuram and Velachery. Soon after racing had begun in the 1770s, it became irregular and almost stopped due to the invasion of Hyder Ali, who came within striking distance of Madras. A few years later, 35 cawnies were added and two race courses came up—a smaller one to train horses and the other with a stand to watch the races. The Madras Race Club was officially constituted in 1837. The club functioned till 1875, when the Prince of Wales Edward VII visited Madras. Racing again went through a tough phase owing to financial reasons. Finally, in 1887, the club was revived. A balance of 11 rupees, 13 annas and 12 paise was carried forward to a new club called Madras Race Club with 50 members in January 1896. In 1887, a public meeting was called by Lt. Col. G. M. Moore, one of the stewards and it was presided
    0.00
    0 votes
    242

    Kentucky Downs

    Kentucky Downs is a Thoroughbred horse racing track located on the border between Kentucky and Tennessee, near the city of Franklin and just off Interstate 65. It is unique among American tracks in that it is a European-style course — its surface is all turf (grass) instead of dirt, and it is not oval in shape. In 2009, the Horseplayers Association of North America introduced a rating system for 65 Thoroughbred racetracks in North America. Of the top Ten, Kentucky Downs was ranked #2. The track began life in 1990 as Dueling Grounds Race Course. The name came from the history of the Sandford Duncan farm, on whose property the track was located. The farm, which was located in a slight corner of what is otherwise a perfectly-straight Kentucky-Tennessee border, was the site of numerous duels in the 1800s, because dueling was illegal in Tennessee but not in Kentucky. Sam Houston took part in a duel on the site. Dueling ended in 1827. The track conducted only steeplechase races in its first year, but removed the fences and switched to flat racing in 1992. The first meet featured the Dueling Grounds International, whose $750,000 purse remains the richest in American steeplechase history.
    0.00
    0 votes
    243
    Kyoto Racecourse

    Kyoto Racecourse

    Kyoto Racecourse (京都競馬場, Kyōto-keibajō) is located in Fushimi-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Japan. It is used for horse racing. It has a capacity of 120,000. It was built in 1999. It has 28,000 seats. Kyoto Race Course has two turf courses, a dirt course, and a jump course. The turf's outer oval (外回り, sotomawari) measures 1894m (1 1/8 miles + 274 feet), and the inner oval (内回り, uchimawari) measures 1783m (1 1/16 miles + 240 feet). A chute permits races to be run on either oval at distances between 1400m and 1800m. Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), the "B Course" setting (rail out 4 meters), the "C Course" setting (rail out 7 meters) or the "D Course" setting (rail out 10 meters). The dirt course measures 1608 meters (4 feet less than 1 mile), with a 1400m chute. Source: JAIR, Kyoto Racecourse, http://www.japanracing.jp/course/j03.html, retrieved 2007-02-26
    0.00
    0 votes
    244
    Lingfield Park

    Lingfield Park

    Lingfield Park Racecourse (commonly referred to as Lingfield) is a horse racing course at Lingfield in Surrey, United Kingdom. It is owned by Arena Leisure Plc. Lingfield is best known as a winter all-weather flat-racing course; the track is Polytrack based, rather than the usual turf found in the UK. There are only four other all weather courses in the UK, the others being at Southwell, Kempton, Wolverhampton and Great Leighs. Lingfield stages flat racing on turf in the summer and National Hunt races are also run on turf. Lingfield railway station adjoins the course, served by trains from London to East Grinstead via Oxted. The racecourse is located in a 450-acre (1.8 km) estate and was opened in 1890 by the Prince of Wales (later Edward VII), who also agreed to let Lingfield incorporate the Prince of Wales feathers into its official heading. The course initially held jumps racing only, but in 1894 the Jockey Club granted permission for flat racing to be held. Racing has been held continuously ever since, with the only exception being during World War II when the War Office requisitioned the course. Ladbrokes sold the course in 1982 and the new owners installed flood defences on
    0.00
    0 votes
    245
    Niigata Racecourse

    Niigata Racecourse

    Niigata Racecourse (新潟競馬場, Niigata keibajō) is located in Kita-ku Niigata, Niigata. It is used for horse racing. It was built in 1965. Niigata Race Course has three turf courses, a dirt course, and a jump course. The turf's outer oval (外回り, sotomawari) measures 2248m (1 1/4 miles + 144 feet), the inner oval (内回り, uchimawari) measures 1648m (1 + 42 feet) and the straight (直線, choksen) measures 1000m (1/2 miles + 639 feet). The dirt course measures 1,472 meters (7/8 miles + 207 feet).
    0.00
    0 votes
    246

    Perak Turf Club

    Perak Turf Club is the major Thoroughbred horse racing facility in Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia. The Club is a part of the Malayan Racing Association. The Club's major annual races are:
    0.00
    0 votes
    247

    Rockingham Park

    Rockingham Park is a 1-mile (1.6 km) horse racing establishment in Salem, New Hampshire, in the United States. First built in 1906, it was used as an area for many to gamble on the weekends. Seabiscuit raced there in 1935 and 1936, and Mom's Command ran in her first race and gained her first victory there in 1984. Rockingham Park now only hosts standardbred races. Rockingham Park was the first place to receive car gates for starting races in 1998. The New Hampshire Sweepstakes (now New Hampshire Lottery) was originated in 1964 and raced here from 1964 to 1967. The race was brought back in 1984 (though not connected with sweepstakes tickets) and has since been the feature event of the summer racing meet. In 1991, the Mall at Rockingham Park, currently the largest mall in northern New England, was constructed adjacent to the racetrack, and has Sears, jcpenney, Macy's (originally Filene's), and Lord & Taylor (originally Jordan Marsh) for anchors. The mall is owned and managed by Simon Property Group and is not affiliated with the racetrack. On June 28, 1906, a tiny outpost near the Salem train depot began a 21-day tenure as host to a Thoroughbred meet. Over 10,000 people from as far
    0.00
    0 votes
    248

    Sunland Park Racetrack & Casino

    Sunland Park Racetrack & Casino is a racino located in Sunland Park, New Mexico, a suburb of El Paso, Texas. Opened in 1959 as a thoroughbred racing track, Sunland Park was the only legalized gambling venue in the region for many years. In 1999, at a time when horse racing was experiencing a decline as casinos and lotteries became commonplace, New Mexico legislators allowed slot machines at the track. Now with 700 machines in play, racing at Sunland has benefited greatly, with purses increasing from a $35,000 daily average in the early 1990s to nearly a quarter million per day today. Sunland Park was the track where jockeys Jerry Bailey, Pat Valenzuela, and Cash Asmussen got their start. Bill Shoemaker, who hails from the area, also rode at Sunland. The casino does not offer table games and, unlike most stand-alone casinos, is not open 24 hours a day by state regulation. The racing meet, which features both thorughbreds and quarter horses, runs from December through late April. Live racing is traditionally offered four days each week on Tuesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, though the track occasionally races on Wednesdays instead of Tuesdays. Simulcast wagering is offered on
    0.00
    0 votes
    249
    Tokyo Racecourse

    Tokyo Racecourse

    Tokyo Racecourse (東京競馬場, Tōkyō Keiba-jō) is located in Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan. Built in 1933 for horse racing, it is considered the "racecourse of racecourses" in Japanese horseracing. It has 13,750 seats, with a capacity of 223,000. Tokyo Racecourse hosts numerous G1 (Grade 1) races, including the Japan Cup, Tokyo Yushun (the Japanese Derby) and the Yasuda Kinen, a part of the Asian Mile Challenge. Tokyo Race Course's grass course measures 2083m (1¼ miles + 234 feet) with two chutes (1800m and 2000m). Races can be run on the "A Course" rail setting (on the hedge), the "B Course" setting (rail out 3 meters), the "C Course" setting (rail out 6 meters), the "D Course" setting (rail out 9 meters) or the "E Course" setting (rail out 12 meters). The dirt course measures 1899 meters (1⅛ mile + 290 feet), with a 1600m chute. The jump course measures 1675 meters (1 mile + 215 feet). There was a chute for 3200m races (used for the Tenno Sho Autumn races), but when the race was shortened to 2000m, the 3200m chute was useless and is not in use as of today. The course was renovated in 2007 (started in 2000), adding the world's largest video screen and upgrading a grandstand, named the "Fuji View
    0.00
    0 votes
    250

    Turf Paradise

    Turf Paradise is a thoroughbred and quarter horse racetrack in the North Mountain section of Phoenix, Arizona in the United States. In 1954 businessman Walter Cluer, a successful millwork founder and manufacturer from Phoenix, purchased 1,400 acres (5.7 km) of barren desert at what is now Bell Road and 19th Avenue. Cluer, who was also a horse owner, dreamt of building a first-class race track in Phoenix. Many locals thought Cluer's ambitious project was ill-timed and destined to fail, given that the property was 25 miles (40 km) from the hustle and bustle of the burgeoning metropolis of downtown Phoenix, and that the only way to get there was via a few badly maintained dirt roads, but he forged ahead and on January 7, 1956, Turf Paradise opened its doors to great success. Cluer remained as head of the track for nearly 25 years. In 1980, Herb Owens took over and Turf Paradise entered into a phase of renovation. A seven-furlong infield turf course with a one mile (1.6 km) and one-eighth chute was added. The Clubhouse was enlarged and a Turf Club with penthouse-style Directors’ Suite and outdoor patio was also added. Turf Paradise’s third owner, Robert Walker of Scottsdale, Arizona
    0.00
    0 votes
    Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:

    Discuss Best Horse racing venue of All Time

    Top List Voters